We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brass Key Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Surfside Hotel & Suites(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Hotel Provincetown(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Colony Inn(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaglass Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Masthead Resort(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$239
Crowne Pointe Hist
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awol(Provincetown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
253
58
10
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
58
10
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubshipwreck loungemy partnerstraight couplesguest housep townwine and cheeseother guestscommercial streetpool areafreshly baked cookiescrackersmemorable stayking roomthe location is perfectbeautiful propertybagels
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Brass Key Guesthouse is as charming as its' owner! We arrived in Provincetown without a reservation in the early evening and chose this lovely guesthouse on a whim. What a good choice! The host was warm and welcoming and immediately took great care of us. The property itself is quite unique....several different buildings, all sharing a common courtyard with pools and hot tubs interspersed throughout. The room we had was a king room just across the courtyard from the main building. It had one of the most comfortable beds and pillows I have ever slept on! The decor was really lovely and had a fireplace. We couldn't have liked it more. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. A very nice display was waiting for us in the morning in the bright and comfortable breakfast room.
It's just a short walk to restaurants and shops on the strip.
Would definitely recommend this lovely guesthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welovetravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on this site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Not only beautiful view but the staff was very friendly! The pool and jacuzzi was a added benefit-having a poolside drink after a long day of walking the strip was fabulous! Although not cheap the accomodations were luxurious. We were very close to the strip but far enough to relax especially on the rooftop!!
The room we stood in was very comfortable and we loved the bed--we didnt want to get up in the morning!!
We had a great big shower and tub with big glass doors-very spacious!!

We will go back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Recently stayed in penthouse suite.

Wasn't cheap, but the view was stupendous. Worth the extra price. Literally a wall of windows overlooking unobstructed harbor views. Views from every single room, plus a private deck with the same views.

Half the weekend I just sat, drink in hand, watching the sunset or sunrise or activity on the water.

I will try to post a couple photos.

The suite itself was fine. Beautiful bath. The gas fireplace was a nice touch.

The only downside was the carpet. Old and worn out. For these rates I'd think new carpet would be more than justified.

Also there's a variety of heating and cooling sources in the room. Worth your while to make sure when they show you to your room that they explain this to you.

In particular, there are a ton of baseboard heaters that can act as backup to the wall-mounted heat systems. It took us forever to figure out that the one in the dining room was still on and that was causing us to get really hot.

I'd also suggest replacing the old dorm-style fridge. It ran constantly, which can be annoying if you are trying to nap or sleep on the couch. Otherwise the kitchen was about perfect for what you need for a short stay.

But overall, really, this one is about the view.

Service was terrific. Staff was friendly and professional. Kept running into one particularly friendly staff guy. Think his name was Ken. Very helpful.

The grounds really were terrific. Great pool, great hot tub. And the onsite bar is really a perfect spot to have a nice civilized drink. Seems to be a hangout for locals, which is always a good sign. And they aren't stingy with a drink pour...

Checkout was a breeze, which isn't always the case in places like this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thanks for the review and feedback! We have already made some of your suggestions come true!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This is a perfect place to stay while in Provincetown. The hotel is beautiful, our room was immaculate, breakfast was fabulous. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of all the action on Commercial street. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was great. We can't wait to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whomeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Brass Key is a mixed bag.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Brass Key this week. We had a Groupon. It took several tries to get through to someone to make a reservation. We also purchased a package for two massages and a dinner. When we arrived, we were given vouchers for $25 against a massage and $30 towards dinner. After getting a surprise charge for dinner (we got the $30 discount, not the full dinner we'd purchased), we brought this to the attention of the staff. Evidently they had not recorded our purchase of the package. However, they did get it set up after that, and we did get our massages and dinner.

The room was rather small, but the enormous deck made up for it. The king size bed was terrific, as was the big whirlpool tub. The heat/air conditioning system was somewhat non-straightforward, but we figured it out eventually.

Wallpaper was coming off the wall in one corner and there was a broken slat in the blinds in the bathroom that had been repaired with packing tape.

Service was... desultory. The staff were polite, but attention to detail and a customer-focused attitude were lacking.

In all, the experience was good, but not great. The great is distinguished by those sorts of details. Unfortunately, at the Brass Key, you pay for great, but you only get good. I think for what we paid for the Groupon, it was worth it, but if I'd been paying full price, it wouldn't have.

Room Tip: Look at their website and the pictures. Ask for a specific room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

What this guest is upset about is that they purchased a Groupon package which is 225 and includes a $30 meal credit and a $25 Spa credit. She called and emailed in advance to have the two credits deducted from her room bill and not as credits in other areas of the business. Making her total for the two nights $170 - including breakfast and wine and cheese dails. The rooms are heavily discounted on the Groupon in the hopes that the guests might spend money in other areas. The credits cannot be applied agains room charges. That upset her before she even arrived and there was no recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews