We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful, quirky Inn.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Cove Hill
Ranked #21 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We had a wonderfully warm reception from Betsy who was toiling in the garden. Our room was quirky and interesting, which characterized the age of the establishment, with a sparklingly clean en-suite shower. Period furniture throughout the Inn added to the charm of this quaint B&B on a hillside within easy walking of the very interesting and diverse town centre. The Inn is wonderfully situated, with views overlooking the harbour and surrounding area. Betsy and Frank are very special people who enjoy having guests and this greatly added to our thorough enjoyment throughout the whole of our stay. Their personal service was top rate in every aspect. This is a very special place run by very special people and somewhere we would willingly return to time and time again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo-anne1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

Rockport is a quaint town. You will enjoy the historical buildings and artistic flavor of this area. I would recommend researching many of the other Inns in the area for your vacation. The Inn is very historical but we felt that the accomodations were below average and the owners seem stressed and edgey. On one of the last nights we were there we were relaxing and enjoying the wonderful breeze from the open windows. Two couples were talking in front of one of the couple's car saying goodnight. It was apparent that one of the couples was from out of state. We were enjoying listening to their light hearted conversation. To our astonishment the Inn keeper went out and was extremely rude to them. Shouting something about people were trying to sleep. They expressed their apologies yet he continued to be rude to them. It was disturbing and unnecessary since it was not late and certainly not an hour that police would have responded to a disturbance of the peace. There are to many places to stay in the area. Part of being on vacation is to relax and also have fun.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHADOWPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Have stayed at The Inn on Cove Hill for years and we're going back again this October (2008). Betsey is wonderful. Cove Hill is close to everything, but quiet at night and even has harbor views. The Inn is meticulously maintained and breakfast is lovely. The rooms are charming and the house is from a century past. What more can I say other than it's worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on Cove Hill at the end of our New York, Boston & New England holiday in June 2007. The Inn is full of character with different rooms to meet individual needs. We were in Lucy's Room on the top floor and it was spacious with a separate lounge adjacent to the bedroom. The shower is a bit small but, how long do you spend in the shower!!
Betsy, the Innkeeper, is up very early to make fresh muffins, which are the best I've ever tasted.
Betsy is a real character and makes you feel very welcome and "at home". Don't think of smoking within the property boundaries - it is a very old wooden house and Betsty would sort you out double quick time.
The Inn is very close to the key areas of Rockport, the Harbour, Bearskin Neck and the excellent fish restaurant (The Greenery) in Dock Square. The view of the Harbour from the top floor rear deck is breathtaking. A pleasant early morning walk along Atlantic Avenue to The Headlands is only a minute or so from the Inn.
My wife and I never go to the same place twice BUT we enjoyed our stay (and Rockport) so much we are going back in 2008 for even longer.
Philip (Kilmacolm, Scotland)

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Covehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2005

Like everyone else whose posted a review, I loved the Inn on Cove Hill. Not only is it a beautifully restored house in a gorgeous town on the coast, everyone was right in saying that Betsy was a great host. One of the best I've come across and that's many! We stayed in the room on the side of the house with the separate entrance and porch. It was cozy and comfortable. We had a little trouble with the tub but nothing much to fret over. Her muffins were great and she sat down with us during breakfast and told us about her experiences in restoring the house. It was Halloween when we stayed and, when we left, she sent us off with a pumpkin pail with leftover goodies, muffins and bananas for our long ride. The Inn on Cove Hill is an all-round great experience. But, on behalf of my husband, I must warn anyone staying there that it's a "dry" town - no alcohol for miles! I thought it was funny...my husband, not so much!

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2005

The Inn on Cove Hill is certainly a winner. From its amazingly convenient location, spectacular views, great atmosphere, and Betsy's top notch hospitality, I cannot imagine a better experience in Rockport, or any seaside town.

Our stay in Charles Room on the 3rd floor was terrific; amazingly clean and well maintained, we enjoyed very comfortable canopy bed and attractive bathroom. There was a nice sized TV with cable, but it was completely unnecessary. Our view of the harbor was great, and only improved upon when we stepped outside onto the back deck.

Betsy considers you a guest in her own house, and as such, makes a wonderful hostess. Breakfast consisted of her fresh baked muffins (pumpkin one day and banana the next), as well as a generous spread of fresh fruits and other breakfast fare. The dining room certainly makes you feel at home, with fine china to boot.

Restaurants, the center of town, and the ever popular Bearskin Neck are but a stone's throw away, so once you park at the Inn, you have no need to drive for the remainder of the stay. Betsy knows the INNs and outs of everything you need to know, and is very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pets99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
boston, ma
12
Reviewed 13 November 2004

This is a very old and beautifull house with a wondefrul owner Becky who keeps the place very clean and nice, every morning she bakes muffins for breakfast and serves it in a beautiful dining room on a gorgeous china. This place is very personal, it is like a home. It has 3 floors and pretty small but clean and nice rooms, we stayed on the 3rd floor in Charles' room which has a view of a harbor, queen size bed and a shower.
I would definetely recomend this place to everybody!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockport hotels
1.2 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
552 reviews
1.3 km away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 24 in Rockport
223 reviews
2.6 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.5 km away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#6 of 6 in Rockport
182 reviews
0.3 km away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#6 of 24 in Rockport
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Cove Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Cove Hill

Address: 37 Mount Pleasant St, Rockport, MA 01966-1727
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: $50 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing