We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year in a row at the Eagle House! We will be back again and again!”
Review of Eagle House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle House Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Second year in a row at the Eagle House! We will be back again and again!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend at The Eagle House. I love this place, so clean, so quaint! So close to everything! We cant wait until next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haalni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    66
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
60
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We arrived to find that the reservations we made with rooms next to each other were already occupied and we were given rooms far away from each other. As promised, there were NO coffee makers nor wet barn nor ice buckets in two of the rooms. The BIGGEST problem we incurred was the Hotel turns their lights OFF at 11:00 PM which created a very dangerous situation for those of us that enjoy the night life (One of our party fell on the dark deck and sprained her ankle. When we approached management they assured me the lights were on all night, the next night they changed the timer and the lights stayed on until a reasonable hour - Thank God!!! This is a NO fuss Hotel, towels were layed on the bed and used towels left in bathroom, the only thing they did was empty the trash..... The window sill was rotting away from the windows with mold :( Once visited, there would be NO reason to return to this particular Hotel..

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3cfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglehouse01966, Owner at Eagle House Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
This comment was written by someone who did not stay at the Eagle House Motel. It sounds like thay may have stayed at the Eagle House Beachside, which I also own. The Eagle House Beachside (formally the Motel Peg Leg) was purchased in 2010 and has undergone significant renovations over the last year, such as new beds, amenities station (minifridge/microwave/coffee makers/no wet bar), AC, new bamboo floors in most rooms and new landscaping (new patios/ new lighting/new planting beds). There are still significant improvements that are planned such as new windows and an outside second floor deck overlooking the beach/ ocean. Most return guests are amazed at what has been accomplished in 1 year. It sound like this guest was looking more for a place to party than a place to relax and enjoy the magnificent surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at the Eagle House Motel for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip to Massachusetts. The Motel is very central - we could walk barefoot to the beach, and everything in Rockport was walkable (for Brits at least). It is an attractive, white timbered building with ample parking. The owner Gary could not have been more friendly or helpful - he gave us plenty of his time, and had lots of suggestions for places to see and things to do. We had a very nice room room on the upper floor, with views over Rockport, and nicely decorated with floral wallpaper, and with air-conditioning for the heat - fridge and coffee-making came in handy too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TheNoseyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We loved the location of the motel and were allowed to access our room early which was helpful. Gary was welcoming but obviously very busy, and slightly harrassed, so there was little time to discuss the additional facilities the motel offered (eg coffee served each morning, beach chairs for loan) so we accidentally discovered things - in some cases too late to enjoy them (beach chairs!). This was our final stop in a 3 week tour of New England, during which we stayed in several other motels, all of which were at least 35 dollars per night cheaper (one was almost half the price) and had rooms that were better appointed. We understand the premium paid for the location, however the "tiredness" of the room ( though I noticed glancing into two other rooms being cleaned that they were much nicer) and lack of such items as an iron, table in room, hairdryer and information booklet about the moteal and area, along with a non functioning remote control and yellow sheets (which we hated!) did not warrant a 125 dollar per night price tag. The stay was not unpleasant but nor was it the highlight at the end of the holiday that we had anticipated from cold old England as we booked it! We actually felt that as tourists from abroad, unlikely to return, we may have been given a less desirable room. We hope we are wrong in thinking that!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentleshawgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at the Eagle House Beachside during our vacation and we were dissapointed.
I asked when I made reservations if it was directly on the beach and was told yes. When we got there it was across the road. The view was nice but it wasn't what we were told.
Also I asked if there was WIFI and was told yes. There was WIFI but not in our room. We had to go out and sit by the office to get it. Our TV also acted up during our stay.
The beds did sleep very well. It wasn't a terrible stay- just not what we were told.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Beautiful well kept motel just footsteps from the ocean, Very helpful and courteous staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BREED5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We just got back from a wonderful weekend in Rockport. It was our first time. Our friends recommended The Eagle House Motel. This place is absolutely adorable. It is very clean and quaint. The beds were very comfortable. It is within walking distance of all of the little shops in Rockport. We had a fridge and microwave in our room, and they came in handy. Gary (the owner) is so friendly, and gave us several recommendations for the Rockport/Gloucester area. If you are looking for a quaint/clean motel while visiting the Cape Ann area, I highly recommend The Eagle House!! They do a great job!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haalni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.0 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
0.6 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
2.5 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
5.6 km away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
6.5 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Motel

Property: Eagle House Motel
Address: 8 Cleaves St, Rockport, MA 01966-1530
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a locally-owned and operated motel in beautiful Rockport, MA. We have 14 rooms and a guesthouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. All of our rooms have a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable, including WiFi, air conditioning, Direct TV, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and balconies. We are conveniently located just steps from Main Street, a beautiful sandy beach, art galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, and the Rockport train station! Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a relaxing and quiet place. Relax on the patio in our garden, or by your room and enjoy the peace and quiet. A combination of our fantastic downtown location, affordable rates, comfortable rooms, and helpful innkeepers makes Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse a good choice for a variety of guests! Experience the charm of Rockport from our premium location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eagle House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Rockport
Eagle Hotel Rockport
Eagle Motel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing