We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beachcombing

Right across the street from where I stayed. Great to walk and beach comb for sea glass and watch... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
cherylcassidy05
,
Springfield, Massachusetts
So beautiful

It’s so beautiful and clean. My only complaint is the water was cold. It was breezy also but very... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2018
Patteycakes
,
Orlando, Florida
via mobile
Read all 124 reviews
  
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
55
50
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
50
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small beach sea glass across the street lovely beach bath house high tide clean beach street parking nice bath water shoes smooth sand downtown rockport every morning public restrooms bathing suits close to town beach area
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

As beaches go its reasonable. There are a lot worse in the region. Depends I guess if you are a swimmer or a sitter.

Thank confusedAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Right across the street from where I stayed. Great to walk and beach comb for sea glass and watch the birds.

Thank cherylcassidy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

It’s so beautiful and clean. My only complaint is the water was cold. It was breezy also but very enjoyable and the sand was so fine.

Thank Patteycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I've been coming to Rockport for the past 9 years. I always stay at the Captains Bounty, which is on Front Beach. It is a beautiful beach. It's not very big, but big enough. They have a floating dock that you can swim out to. Kids love it!

Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Front Beach is handicap friendly, with a lifeguard on duty most of the time. The seaweed was in abundance due to a bad storm. After the town cleaned it up, bugs were at a minimum.

Thank smickey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

This is a nice clean beach. The tide was out, which made it excellent. Otherwise, it’s an extremely small beach. There was an on-site bath house, and the bathrooms were clean. Nice little area to escape to. Very family oriented.

Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

View was great, has several accommodations overlooking the beach, but definitely somewhat limited. We went with two kids aged 7 and 9 for two days and they had a good time. There are tide pools at low tide which they loved, sea glass hunting, and a surprisingly clear view into the ocean with plenty of sea life. We went on Sunday and Monday and it wasn't too packed, but the beach is very small and high tide. The kids saw tons of fish a few feet into the water, along with several type of crabs, and the little girl next to us claimed to find a few shark teeth near the tideline, but i can't verify that. The view is great, there is an older lighthouse (I think) that can be seen next door, but looks like it's on someone's property. Shops and food are close by, and there is a really cool old burying ground from 1700 & 1800's across the street.

The beach was more rocks and pebbles than sand, but not so much you couldn't walk, although id definitely wear water shoes next time. There was a lifeguard chair but no guard when we went. The waves were smaller but the water is incredibly cold. The kids are pretty easy going And had a great time checking out the sea life and cemtary, but pickier kids may not enjoy it so much. Dogs and smoking are not allowed on the beach

Thank jillianfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Well maintained beach with a lifeguard, large public facility, and cute snack bar nearby. Wonderful on a beautiful day!

Thank MsCasualTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Maybe I'm predudist living in Rhode Island with beautiful sandy beaches, but I found this beach no comparison. Except for the view which is beautiful. We saw the beach at low tide and it was covered with people. Later in the early evening the tide was in and fewer people were there. Less dowdy sand was visible and the distant shore was gleaming, making it very romantic.

Parking is $35. There are public rest rooms adjacent to beach. We didn't use them so I'm not sure if there is a charge or how clean they may be.

Across the street is a takeout place, Nate's , for soft drinks and fried foods or burgers.

Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

lovely small town beach. Swim in the cool water or search for sea glass, shells, crabs and snails. Very picturesque - surrounded by old, quaint buildings and beautiful homes.

Thank 890howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews