We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice inn near the center of town”
Review of Addison Choate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addison Choate Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice inn near the center of town”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed there for two nights in October. Room was nice and clean. Very local to downtown as well. I do wish the rooms has TV's....although it was okay to watch tv in the den. We'd stay there again on our next trip back, however the Inn keepers have a cat...

Room Tip: any rooms seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daninchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a delightful B&B. It has character and charm and is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The lounge is delightful and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent a lovely two nights in this small inn in pretty Rockport. The room was comfortable and spotless, and also very pretty. Breakfast was a highlight - absolutely delicious. It was also lovely to return late in the afternoon to find a jug of iced tea and cookies waiting for us. The inn is located close to the centre of town, so it is easy to walk down to the many restaurants and lovely views at the centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagotoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The owner and hostess of this Inn is Jan, a very friendly and informative innkeeper. Her attention to detail is spot on, from the cloth napkins to different cut-up fruit and hot entree every morning. Several selections were even organic. Loved that, Jan!

We were lucky enough to stay in two rooms and i say that, because each were different, but so nice. Lucy's room had a very comfortable bed, spacious bedroom and comfortable bath with long counter for toiletries. Wonderful window to let in morning sun, wood floors, crisp sheets, fluffly towels, refrigerator, and clean, so clean. Margot's room was the same, except for more windows, a little larger bedroom, a TV, a little smaller bathroom and again, so clean. Loved both rooms.

In the morning, we could get up at any time to get coffee on the Keurig machine which delivered delicious hot coffee. Plenty of room in the Inn to walk around and also a TV in the den for morning news.

We stayed 5 nights and never had the same breakfast twice, even tho, I wouldn't have minded . Every morning the breakfast was as tasty as the next.
Jan also had great suggestions for restaurants. She was correct about all of them. We especially liked when she sent us to East Gloucester to The Rudder. She let us know that we should go early to drive around the area to see the great achitecture and shore line and it was beautiful.

All in all, Jan made our 5 days in Cape Ann perfect. Her Inn is roomy, homey, comfortable and in a great location to walk downtown. All this and historic, to boot. Thanks, Jan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in the Crow's Nest and had friends staying in two other rooms at the Inn. Rockport was fun and we had a great time, but the highlight was definitely the Inn itself. The special attention to details -- fluffy white robes in the rooms for you to use, complimentary cookies in the afternoon and port in the evenings -- as well as the excellent breakfasts provided and the beauty and comfort of the rooms themselves made this weekend a much needed romantic and stress relieving get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnodead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, ma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Our expectations were truly exceeded! We chose Addison Choate based on their website information and Trip Advisor reviews. Frankly, the photos don't do the Inn justice, and while it's prior Trip Advisor reviews are certainly excellent, our experience was both wonderful and memorable.

Our room was well appointed with plush linens and period-furnishings, and our bed was extremely comfortable. All the rooms have private baths and AC - which we used as it ended up being quite hot and humid. Our closet had plush bathrobes, and the bath linens were pristine, soft and fluffy.

The Innkeeper, Jan, was friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. She offered excellent suggestions for places for dinner and things to see, and as well, gave us a tour of the common areas (TV room, fireplace and piano area), and suggested we enjoy them, including a complementary port.

We were quite comfortable during our stay in that we had the perfect amount of interraction vs alone-time. Inns are typically larger with private baths and more privacy/less personal interaction, and B & Bs tend to be smaller often with shared baths and more personalized service/less privacy. Jan was super helpful, had great suggestions, and provided multiple methods of contacting her at whatever time, if we had questions or needed anything. At the same time it was our anniversary and we had all the privacy we wanted/needed. I guess you could say the Addison Choate provide the best of both the B & B vs Inn worlds in one package.

Breakfast consisted of a hand-made, yummy hot entree (one was a particularly delicious frittata-esque egg dish with spinach and guerre), plus an assortment of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, and breads for toasting. Keurig coffee service was provided as well as hot water for tea, and fresh juice selections. We ate outdoors at one of the little wicker tables on the porch, which is bordered by well-tended flower beds and boxes. The grounds are quite beautiful, and eating outdoors is a great way to start the day.

Our stay at the Addison Choate Inn in Rockport was over Memorial Day weekend, and parking was at a premium. The Inn has it's own small parking area on-site, and is located within a short 1/4 mile walk to the downtown/Bearskin Neck area with its shops and restaurants.

We'll definitely stat at Addison Choate the next time we need a Rockport fix, which hopefully won't be too far in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My friend and I had a great stay at Nancy's. She went out of her way to be a great host - she gave us lots of time and lots of info, a warm welcome, on tap refreshments and excellent US breakfasts ! This is everything a US inn should be !
It was real fun too as the large breakfast table makes for a house party type atmosphere over breakfast and we had great fun with Nancy and the other guests.
The comfortable lounge and separate TV room are an asset. Beds are super comfy and bedrooms are charming.
If I am ever in Rockport again, this is, without a doubt, where I'll stay !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.7 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
2.7 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
334 reviews
5.5 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
214 reviews
1.9 km away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
203 reviews
0.3 km away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#6 of 24 in Rockport
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addison Choate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addison Choate Inn

Property: Addison Choate Inn
Address: 49 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Addison Choate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addison Choate Inn provides the perfect retreat from the hectic pace of everyday life. We are located just a block and a half from the center of Rockport's historic seaside village, which is a reminder of times gone by with its quaint shops, lovely beaches, art galleries, eclectic restaurants, and seaside band concerts. Also, the Shalin Liu Performance Center is only steps alway from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Addison Choate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing