We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Ferry House on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ferry House on the beach
Garden/Beach/Kite Surfing Private Indoor Heated Pool by the beach/sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Ferry House on the beach
Garden/Beach/Kite Surfing
Private Indoor Heated Pool by the beach/sea
Open Plan Living Area
Living Room Sea View
Passing Traffic
Master Bedroom SuperKingsize bed
Master bedroom view
Master bedroom side view
Bedroom 2
Downstairs Shower room
Ferry House with other owner properties
West Cornwall Golf Club behind Ferry House
Snow on the Beach
Downstairs Triple Bunk Room
Conservatory with table football and BBQ
Stairs
Window seat in hall
Upstairs Triple Bunk Room
Bathroom has a sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lelant, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MikeRedfi...
Redfield, AR
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Last summer we had the opportunity to spend a week in The Ferry House and Fisherman's Rest.(There were 13 of us!). It was a beautiful experience. We were surprised to arrive after midnight and find that we would have to walk down a long hill on a pathway, (which turned out to be a path across a golf course) it was raining and very dark which made for some exciting slipping and sliding, but once we arrived we were able to build a fire in one of the wood stoves and after warming up with a stiff drink we drifted off to slumber to awaken to a beautiful blue sky and a literal garden of lovely flowers and plants overlooking a perfect ocean view. I loved it, and while the walk in and out proved a challenge for some our party I found it refreshing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you. We appreciate such a lovely review especially from folks based in California used to amazing beaches. Your welcome back whenever you like!
We do recommend the alternative way in along the beach which is typically light enough to do without a torch as the moon is usually sufficient. You did well getting in at midnight. We usually recommend a daytime arrival but realise it's not always possible. Our other house is Ferryman's Rest just in case any body is looking it up. We also own the two bedroom Beach House at the location as well.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubbas_Bl...
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The location of the Ferry House is nothing short of stunning! The sea comes up to garden wall at high tide and at low tide there is a vast expanse of beautiful white sand beach. From the Living Room we saw seals, cormorants, King Fisher, Falcons and much more. It is a short walk to the house but we parked on Dynamite Quay (arranged by the excellent owner, Nicola) and it added an extra element to the holiday...first time we've walked along a beach to get to a house!

The house itself is tucked away with a private, large enough garden that would be the perfect place to sit and watch people/wildlife/sunsets/sunrises/views/big sky's, etc. and enjoy a drink in Summer, though we did that over a balmy (17c) Christmas! We are a family group of 4 and the house was an ideal size for us, I would imagine that in the summer with the patio doors pulled back that allow direct access from the Lounge to the front garden, there would be plenty of space for a large group. The upstairs is perfect, looks like it's fairly newly refurbed, with really comfortable beds (the main bedroom has the biggest bed i've ever seen!), huge amount of space and glorious views. The downstairs is practical and a little more 'lived in' but is clean and well provisioned. One reviewer mentioned this and all I can say is that this is a Beach House, it's by the beach so you will get sand on the slate floor and it must be difficult to maintain, but the Cleaners and Owners do a superb job. The location (did I mention it is stunning?) more than makes up for a bit of sand and the furniture, etc. is in keeping with the beach house feel.

The Pool is really good, much better than expected and used throughout our stay, as was the Hot Tub...and it was well maintained during our week. We didn't get to use the newly installed Wood Burner as it was too warm, but that would be fantastic on a cold winters' eve. The house has super fast Wifi (boys were happy!) and overall is fantastic value for money...yes it's dearer in August but if you've a young (or old) family and you want a beautiful, huge beach then it's literally on your doorstep...throw in the pool and hot tub and happy days!

Last thing, I left my watch (an expensive Tag) at the house and didn't realise until I got home and the Cleaner and Owner went well out of their way to reunite me with it. Again, I mention this as it's just another example of Nicola's commitment to providing the very best experience, I never actually met her face to face but her communication was excellent from initial booking, to accommodating a last minute date change and dealing with the lost watch!

If you want to visit a very special place and have a 'proper' holiday, then book!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Hot Tub, View, Location.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful review. We really do appreciate hearing that our guests have a superb time at The Ferry House (not forgetting our other beach houses too!) The team work hard to ensure that our guests get the holiday that they deserve and need, we all know how rushed and hectic life can be. Holidays are special times for good memories and we know that being at The Ferry House can provide for a truly exceptional holiday experience. Many guests tell us this and many guests are back for their 4th or 5th stay! We have guests who say that they have lots of day trip planned but in the end find that there is enough to do just sitting and looking out from the Ferry House to the beach and the bay. There is always something good going on, (even in the depths of winter wildlife abounds), don't forget the passing traffic, (gig rowers and lobster/crab boats).
Some families say that their children put down their electrical devices and happily revert to kids play on the beach, unwinding prior to stressful exams. We ourselves know and appreciate the location as we have lived there ourselves and are happy to share the rejuvenation that it so often provides. As with all things special there is always the slightly unorthodox walk in but our guests enjoy being able to walk along a beach to get to their beach retreat. Logistics also mean that a magazine show home is not easily achieved at that location. We are therefore practical in what we provide as we have a younger family and know that the last thing we want to do is worry that either the children will create damage or that they might hurt themselves on hard highly polished surfaces or glass tables. We therefore aim for the practical, comfortable and most of all relaxation rather than the superficial fashionable magazine look. Most of our guests appreciate and enjoy the Ferry House because of this. Once again thank you for a fab review. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“View is amazing”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic property even in November! There were only two of us, though, there are four bedrooms. From our bedroom window it almost looked tropical.
Also, there was a heated pool and hot tub which were fab even in the cold weather! The only passing traffic was boats... The beach is so close it's almost an extension of the garden.
The Ferry House was very warm and cosy (with a real fire!) even though we got the tail end of a hurricane at one point!!
Our bed was massive and so comfortable. All in all we had a great time and got quite fit with the brilliant walks round about. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Will also return. Thankyou Nicola

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and secluded.
Liked least: Bit of a trek to the car. But it does get one fit!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Fab! We really appreciate having happy guests who get the most out of being at The Ferry House. We too love being on the beach during autumn and winter when it feels you have it all to yourself. Do return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotlady7...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented this house recently and have to say the location is as stunning as it looks in the photographs, it is well worth the walk from car to get to! In terms of the house, the upstairs was fine and views from master bedroom were outstanding. Having the pool and hot tub undercover was great - our kids were in both every day! My only gripe was downstairs was a little tired looking and outdoor areas in need of some TLC especially for cost during summer. Though didn't detract from fabulous location and views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wifetagsa...
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Far better than photos could show.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a truly wonderful setting. A few steps down to a beautiful beach with constantly changing scenery out of the large picture windows. None of the photographs can do the view or the house justice. We found the house well equipped and the owner extremely helpful. Everywhere was beautifully clean, comfy beds and great showers! The pool and hot tub are a real bonus and were a hit with the family. But the real gem is the setting, just exquisite. We had to tear ourselves away to visit anywhere else. The walk back up the hill was a bit of a struggle for me as an very unfit 60 year old but worth every minute to stay here. I just made sure I had a stout walking stick and started off a few minutes before everyone else, enjoying the gorgeous views on the way up as I caught my breath. When we could make ourselves leave the beach we enjoyed great food at the Halsetown Inn and The Seafood Café on Fore Street in St Ives. You must take the train into St Ives, it is a beautiful route. However, bypass Lelant Saltings as the train only occasionally stops there. Catch it from Lelant station, the next one down the line in the village. There is a park and ride there and it is certainly the best way into St Ives, again, a hilly place but nice to visit. This may very well be the nicest property we have ever rented, we will be back. A word of advice, just bring your groceries in as and when needed to avoid a lot of trips up and down the hill on the first day, and the bbq is gas so don't bother with charcoal. Oh, and the Wi-Fi is superb as is phone reception and tv but you won't be wanting any of that when you are there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the hill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for a wonderful review. We try hard to ensure our guests have a special holiday and really relax and enjoy themselves. We greatly appreciate and love hearing when they do!

We very much look forward to your return. Many of our guests find it hard not to come back and we make sure we look after those that do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex39
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect! ”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this property is breathtaking. We stayed over New Year enjoying long walks along the coast and train rides between Lelant Saltings (20min walk from property )and St Ives. We also walked to Carbis Bay and enjoyed a drink and lunch at the new beach restaurant there. St Ives is busy but nice shops and restaurant/pubs. A walk around the Estuary to Hayle also a good walk although a bit on the road at times but Phelps Pasties are good when you get to the other side and a stop in Scarlets on the way back is a treat .

The property has been refurbished the bathrooms and bedrooms all lovely. The kitchen although well equipped is in need of a little attention but has everything you need. The log burner is lovely once mastered and my advice to anyone staying at winter is although you get a few logs to start you off, take with you some kindling and newspaper to get the burner really going and then add the logs as and when. (Logs from just up the road turn right by badger inn £3 a sack were the best we found )
The children loved the pool and the jacuzzi which is a real treat to have . There were plenty of towels etc for use in the property but again my only small recommendation would be for the property to have an Airer or dryer as we had guests for 2/3 days and 8/9 people all showering etc . Drying towels was a constant job of rotation on the heated towel rails in the bathroom.(especially when you have swimming towels etc on top of that) .
The Badger Inn, Scarlets both nice as recommended by the owner.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie G
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely to be so close to the sea with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Adults loved the view and peace and quiet, only downside no drying facilities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$203
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing