We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pretty, so charming”
Review of The Chanticleer

The Chanticleer
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Siasconset
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This old timer has been serving up terrific meals for many, many decades. The food, especially the locally caught fish and island grown vegetables is traditional and delicious. Eating under the pergolas is magical - an age old tradition of flowers, friendly service, reliably fresh and tasty foods - isn't that what summer on the island is all about?

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2017

Have been dining here for many years, my last meal was excellent and the service as always is great. My big complaint is the noise, There were 3 people at my table and the noise from the other tables was so bad that we had trouble trying to carry on a conversation. Sorry to say I'm not sure I would return.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We love this gorgeous setting to have dinner or lunch. We often went for both meals each day. The only negative is that the menu doesn't ever change, so if you don't like what's on there, you're stuck. Excellent service and so professional. They really know what they are doing.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Beluga4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

The entrance & gardens set you for a great experience A+. The service started off very slow taking 30 minutes after drinks arrived to place order. I ordered the "fresh catch" which was halibut over risotto, great presentation, but for $40+ I expect more than a 4 ounce piece of fish. The other two had lamb pasta dishes that were a nice plating and well portioned. We did have to ask for bread after ordering starters and again I had the short straw by local oysters that were great but the kitchen did not cut away the oyster before topping them and created a sloppy mess. This was highly recommended and maybe it was just an off night for our 7PM reservation.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donovana264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stopped here for lunch on a beautiful August day based on the recommendation of a friend. Had a beautiful meal in their peaceful courtyard. I had the ahi poke, and my husband had a wonderful lamb bolognese. Nice wine selection. Really glad we stopped in here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mark_in_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chanticleer also viewed

 
 

Been to The Chanticleer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing