We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the bread were better, it would be perfect”

Amsterdam Falafel Shop
Ranked #4 of 8 Quick Bites in Somerville
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: This is a new store of the original in Washington, DC
Restaurant details
Description: This is a new store of the original in Washington, DC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

There are 4 very large, wonderfully prepared falafel balls in each sandwich and a fabulous fixings bar to load up on. The onion relish, humus, and sauces were great. You can even go back to get a little more of this and that when your supply gets low. The pita bread wasn't as good or as fresh as I'd like, which is very odd for a sandwich shop. It fell apart at first bite, and did not have the soft, chewy consistency of other pita breads I have enjoyed. The French fries were the crisp, double fried Belgium style, and although ketchup was available, they also had Dutch mayo to make it authentic. All in all, it was a very good lunch at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2016

For the past several years, I've been hitting Amsterdam Falafel just about every time I head to Boston. It's fantastic. The falafel itself is really good, and then they have a bar of toppings you can choose for yourself. There's good variety and you really can't go wrong with what's on offer. They also sell large quantities of fries, if you're into that.

Definitely go eat here.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 516adamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I actually come here all the time and just realized I've never reviewed. So toppings bar, where you can dress your falafel the way you want it, makes this the best falafel in Boston. The falafels themselves are big, cruncy, well seasoned, and usually hot write out of the fryer. I love topping mine with roasted egg plant and the endless tahini dispenser. The falafels at this Somerville location are better seasoned than the Kenmore square one!! Now they just added sweet potatoe fries, simply amazing! For someone who usually eats a steak for dinner, the fact that they get me to want to have a all vegetarian meal tells you how good it is. Amsterdam Falafel makes that bland, soggy, imitation nonsense that they serve you at Clover look like crap!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hauntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

I hadden't been here for 8 mos and suddenely got the urge. And it was closing time BUT the quality and service was still excellent! The food is so good, good portions and great quality and taste. I really love it here!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlanT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Love this place. The falafals are yummy and fresh. You can either get a bowl or a pocket (not gf obviously), then there is an amazing buffet of deliciousness. Fries are cooked fresh so don't burn your mouth.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank StacyRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdam Falafel Shop also viewed

 

Been to Amsterdam Falafel Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing