We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot.”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Overall we had a great experience at the resort. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. We were traveling with our nine month old baby and felt very comfortable the entire time. They even brought in a crib for us. The pools and beach were very nice. Perfect spot for families with young kids.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank September221976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to write a pleasant review, We hope that you make Red Jacket Beach a family tradition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    194
    96
    46
    20
See reviews for
327
115
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were expecting great things based on the reviews. Unfortunately we were very disappointed.

ROOMS:

We went to our rooms first. They were very dated - old carpet, old furnishings, very dank. Not very inviting. The bathroom was also tiny (so small the sink was in the hallway OUTSIDE the bathroom). The room that the children stayed in (off the main room) did not even have a window - it was like a cave. We found ourselves extending our nights at the mini-golf course (down the road from the hotel) and ping-pong table (at the indoor pool) just so that we would not have to face the gloom of our rooms.

POOLS:

The indoor pool very spacious. Usually this was less crowded than the outdoor pool.
The outdoor pool was much smaller and was always crammed to the gills.
Our youngest went in a couple of times and said he saw floating band-aids in the water which grossed him out. Because of this and the beach situation (see below), any time spent in the water was at the indoor pool.

BEACH:

We tried to go to the beach, but found this beach to be more for "beach sitters" than "beach swimmers". Nice sand towards the hotel, but the waters edge was dominated by seaweed as was the water (which is probably why the outdoor pool was so crowded). We never really saw anyone in the ocean.

We also took a walk along the beach. There was alot of seaweed and horse-shoe crab shells - not a few - ALOT. This made the children want to go in the water even less.

FOOD AND SPA:

We did not eat at the restaurant or utilize the spa facilities so I cannot comment as to those.

SERVICE:

Everyone was very nice from the front desk to the people handing out towels. Even if they were to gut renovate I do not think I would return as the inability to swim in the ocean makes the resort a less desirable location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Mid Cape south side beaches located on Nantucket Sound do attract a bit more natural seaweed etc. We rake and groom our beach our beach almost daily. As you stated most people utilize our 1,000 foot beach for spacious uncluttered, sunning or other activity. Our family friendly heated pools do offer an alternative especially for children.
Choices are available for a variety of "family rooms" in the hotel, which have value in their ability to offer a seperate sleeping area frequently appropriate for larger families, particuarly if the standard size hotel room would not be enough. In speaking with our reservation service associates we can usually identify which spaces work best for each families needs and expectations, some offer larger quiet rooms with seperate AC along with 2 twin beds for a private sleeping area, while other "family rooms" offer alcove style bunk beds along with their own slider and deck depending on location in the hotel.
As always if any guest is disapointed with their experience here at Red Jacket Beach we encourage a conversation, usually resolving any issues that arise while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in a waterfront room. Great views. Our room had a sliding glass door that opened up to the beach. Loved rolling out of bed in the morning right onto the beach. Loved even more waking up in the middle of the night and looking at the water. Fridge and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Seriously, if you're going to stay here, get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarsdaleYobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are one of the few oceanfront hotels on Cape Cod and as you stated their is nothing like opening your slider and being right on the beach. All of our direct oceanfront rooms have an upgraded decor along with flatscreen TV and other amenities. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Red jacket was simply a perfect spot for our family vacation. I have 3 small children ( 7, 4 & 2 ) and they loved it. The outdoor heated kids pool was great (zero entry for the little ones) and there was a magic show at 4:30 that was a big hit. The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean and well supplied. All of the staff was friendly and accommodating and the concierge gave great reccommendations for local kid friendly activities. Breakfast each morning in the hotel was perfect, the kids buffet made things so easy. Add in the private beach and indoor pool in case the weather doesn't cooperate and there is nothing not to love about the Red Jacket ! We will be back next year for sure !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCasillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We appreciate the remarks about your recent stay here at Jacket Beach Resort. This year we hosted the 1st Yarmouth Magic festival which proved to be a wonderfull family oriented group of events that helped add value to the final week of summer. These events were in addition to the variety of activities available to families during summer season, of course as you know you and the kids can just utilize one of the 3 heated pools or relax on the beach under an umbrella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I recently stayed at this resort and had a very pleasant experience. The staff was very helpful. It is ideally located, and there are great views from the rooms. The pools were very nice and they have access to a private beach. It's a bit pricier than the other hotels around, but in my opinion, it is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbrad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We appreciate your kind response regarding your recent visit to Red Jacket Beach Resort. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked a spur of the moment family long weekend. The staff was fantastic and the room and facilities were very clean. A clean private beach was just a few steps away, and towels, beach umbrellas and beach chairs were available. There were a lot of family activities to occupy children, but they weren't so "in your face" that they bothered adults or those not interested. I took advantage of yoga on the beach, which was a great way to start the day. We didn't eat at the on site restaurant, so I can't speak to it, but the breakfasts could be very crowded during peak times. Walls are thin - so bring a noise machine in case you have noisy kids next store.

Room Tip: Speak to the front desk when you check in - they were very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apl050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed the Red Jacket Beach experience. We look forward to your return, and as you noted in your response let us know you are here so that we can help in pointing your family in the right direction. There are so many opportunities available here at Red Jacket Beach and Cape Cod and we are always here to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have stayed in many resorts and one must be careful of how the word resort is used...or over used. This one was a HUGE.... stretch. One nights stay cost $400. The rooms were old (late 60's 70"s) decor. The pictures on the wall reminded me of something you would find in a yard sale, all faded and not sellable for $2. The beds were hard and old, pillows thick and hard too. For $400 I want soft modern accomodations. The pool was cloudy and sandy, the inside pool was just gross, the locker room was 1 shower, toilet and smelled of dead fish or diapers left.
We thought the Kids Club would help Mom and Dad get some pool time alone but it was for the very young amd seemed unintresting for even a 9 year old.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goonie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager501, General Manager at Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
We are sorry that you seem disapointed with what I assume was your recent stay. We encourage all prospective guests to view our extensive website which is very descriptive of our product, services and programs. In addition to our Kids Club (which is actually activity based) we offer a multitude of daily events that are geared to family style involvement. Along with our private 1,000 foot sandy beach, we have 3 heated pools which are maintained and tested for chemical balence and clarity 4 times daily and always fall into acceptable parameters. We are an original classic style oceanfront facility rated by AAA and others at 3 stars, we feel that gives most folks some guidance as what to expect in the guest rooms. Our service goal is 4 stars and we strive to accomplish that. As always if guest expectations are not met and that is commmunicated to us during the stay we always endeavor to do what we can to create a relationship and ultimatly a satisfied guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.6 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
370 reviews
20.6 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
1.8 km away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
22.9 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 150 guest rooms and 14 three or four-bedroom villas, the Red Jacket Beach Resort enjoys a fabulous location on 1,000 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound. Recently updated guest rooms are equipped with two queen beds or a king along with porch deck with most offering spectacular views of the ocean. The resort features large indoor and outdoor heated pools, as well as a zero-entry children's pool and Jacuzzi spa. The Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. In addition, the Red Jacket offers on-site fishing, tennis, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard, with docking facilities available for small boats on Parker's River, which borders the resort. Parasailing and kayaking are available during summer season. Two dozen championship golf courses are situated within a half hour's drive, including our own Blue Rock course, located four miles from the resort. The Red Jacket's dining room serves signature New England cuisine. Guests can pamper themselves in the resort's full service spa. The Red Jacket Beach is also the perfect setting for corporate retreats, reunions, and tour groups, as well as for weddings and special celebrations, and boasts 6,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. Open from early April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Beach Resort And Spa
Red Jacket Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Hotel Red Jacket Beach
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing