We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Boston MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great summer resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Riviera Beach is a great summertime family resort. It is right on the beach and they provide chairs, umbrellas and towels. They have a grill that has basics, burgers, hotdogs or you can use the grill next door at the Blue Water which has a lot more choices. The beach is always clean and there is a really nice pool. The rooms are adequate. We usually get a pool view which has a nice little porch area with chairs. They have activities for the kids at various times. Its a great location, close to everything, mini golf, restaurants shopping. I would highly recommend for a summertime vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort on Cape Cod. The resort is situated in a perfect spot on our own private white sandy beach. The proximity to many other great Cape Cod attractions is second to none. The staff and management do everything in our power to keep the place sparkling and extremely user friendly. We cater to families with many activities scheduled daily to keep our guests entertained. We hope to see you return next season and when you are skiing this winter please visit our two resorts in North Conway NH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    106
    47
    31
    13
See reviews for
179
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Riviera Beach Resort (South Yarmouth, MA on Cape Cod)
327 South Shore Dr.
South Yarmouth, MA 02664

Wow! It's everything the Trip Advisor reviewers said it would be and, if your goal is to have an oceanfront family vacation at a 500 foot private, sandy ocean beach with an option of being able to use both an indoor and outdoor pool, this resort does not disappoint! It's a family vacation resort and not a spa environment; therefore, be sure to carefully read the reviews to make sure it is the type of vacation environment you want. We found the rooms, resort area, and the beach to be clean and comfortable.

Our family stayed in two separate rooms for 3 days with 4 adults and two children, ages three and one. The three year old loved the kite flying experience! Yes, it’s an older facility but not rundown by any means, and when going to an established beach resort one should not expect to have the most up-to-date facilities. This is the type of environment where convenience, customer service, and price reign. It was our first time on Cape Cod and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riviera Beach Resort! Mother Nature threw in quite the memory with an earthquake during our stay there (on Tuesday, 8/23) but we didn’t feel a thing as we basked on the beach!

It's a smoke free facility and notes that they can accommodate pets; however, there is "a strict town rule that prohibits pets from being on the beach."

Each room had two queen beds, A/C, a table and two chairs, an upholstered chair, a refrigerator, an iron and ironing board, a hair dryer, a bathroom night light, a separate sink from the bathroom (it's on a small, possibly 3-foot vanity), a nice size dresser, a TV on a swivel stand (the TV is the large back type, but, hey, who is going to stay in the room anyway!). In addition, our first floor porch entry area had two chairs and a table. When making a reservation, it is a good idea to ask if the room being assigned has these amenities or additional ones.

You might want to bring a flashlight if you want to walk the beach at night. Also bring beach shoes as the parking lot is a chip asphalt and quite painful to walk on in bare feet, especially for small children.

Quick, friendly check-in. The front desk people are an absolute joy to speak with and are quick to provide suggestions and print out directions to other local businesses when needed. TIP: Be sure and leave a daily tip for housekeeping. They’ve worked hard to get the room ready for guests and to keep them in good shape daily. It’s a nice gesture to let them know they are noticed and appreciated. We leave a note that we’ve marked “housekeeping” and a written “thank you” along with a smiley face with our tip so housekeeping knows it is earmarked for them.

No complimentary breakfast but there is a restaurant on site. The prices here are a bit higher because of the convenient location and, therefore, we went off site for our meals. One improvement that would make a huge difference in staying here is for this motel to offer an optional but substantial complimentary breakfast to all guests even if it comes with an additional but reasonable charge. I believe we would have paid a reasonable extra fee to have the convenience of a good complimentary breakfast. I understand it is offered in some packages but we were not aware of this until after our stay ended.

Wrist Bands are given to each guest to wear for identification so that guests can easily move among the several Red Jacket properties and to easily identify resort guests as the "Resort is private for guests only." At the beach entrance is a Patio Station where drinks and food are sold.

The towels provided are very large beach towels in length and width which was a nice surprise. At check-in, a towel card is issued to each room. The policy states: "Exchange towels to the beach attendant at the towel bin and receive your towel card in return. Towels may be exchanged at the front desk in the event the towel shed is closed. All non-returned towel cards at check-out will be considered towel purchases. We will apply a $25.00 fee PER towel charge to the room account.” It’s a fair enough policy considering the size of the beach towel and to help guests remember to leave these towels at the motel when departing.

Each day the resort sets up and takes down a good number of beach umbrellas and chairs on the beach. At the request of the guest, the beach attendant will place chairs and umbrellas at the guest’s chosen spot on the beach.

Pool Hours are from 9AM - 9PM. The outside pool is heated and an absolute joy for children, even very small ones as the one end of the pool is set up specifically for the smaller child who wants to get wet but not go into any deep water. The inside pool is heated and is located right next to the front desk. There are a significant amount of convenient lounge chairs surrounding each pool.

It would be extremely helpful if the Red Jacket resorts posted a diagram of each facility's layout online. Based on the diagram of this facility given at check-in there are adjacent rooms available, including what appears to be one adjacent family suite located near the Office. Rooms designated with a K are King bed rooms. Following is a description of the layout (I’ll try to post a copy of the layout card).

The entire facility can be described as being laid out like a large W with the open ends of the W facing the ocean. The far left of the W is where the rooms are designated as Court Side. There are first floor and second floor rooms (throughout the facility there are stairs only for the second floor rooms). The street portion of this far left portion of the W is where the restaurant and lounge are located. The first floor of the Court Side rooms from the street going towards ocean number as K100 PREF to 116 PREF. The second floor of the Court Side rooms number from the street going towards ocean as 200 PREF to 216 PREF. The Courtside rooms end where the first floor and second floor of the 8 Ocean View rooms begin that are numbered (left to right) on the first floor as K117 OCFI, 118 OCFI, 119 OCFI, K120 OCFI. The second floor of the Ocean View rooms are numbered K217 OCFI, 218 OCFI, and K220 OCFI. These rooms are fairly private as only guests in these ocean rooms would pass by, with the exception of the first floor end unit which can have guests lingering at the foot washing station.

The rooms on the Poolside would be the middle portion of the W. The street portion of this middle section is where the Office is located. Right at or above the office the resort map designates two rooms which are apparently premium suites numbered 221 SUTE (appears to be located on the second floor) and 222 SUTE (appears to be located on the first floor). From here, the Poolside's first floor rooms from the street portion going towards the ocean number as 122 PRFM, 123 PRFM, and then 124 POOL to 135 POOL, and then 136 POCV to 138 POCV. The Poolside's second floor rooms from the street portion going towards the ocean number as 223 POOL to 235 POOL, and then 236 POCV to 238 POCV. The Poolside rooms end where the first floor and second floor of 4 Ocean View rooms begin that are numbered (left to right) as 140 OCFE and 139 OCFE. The second floor of the Ocean View rooms are numbered (left to right) as 240 OCFE and 239 OCFE. The Outdoor pool begins near rooms 131 POOL, 231 POOL, and ends near rooms 138 POCV, 238 POCV. These first floor ocean view rooms are the least private as everyone passes through this area.

The street portion of the far right side of the W is where the Indoor Pool is located (directly to the right of the Office). Then there is a block of rooms that are noted as Grande rooms that are separated from and somewhat behind the Indoor Pool area. These first and second floor rooms are similar to being placed as back-to-back rooms but are separated by an interior corridor/hallway. If standing in front of the entire motel complex, this Grande building is designed to run from east to west (while all other rooms in this resort run from south (street) towards the ocean (north). The first floor rooms directly facing the Indoor Pool and the street are numbered (left to right) 141 PREF, 143 PREF, 145 PREF, 147 PREF, 149 PREF. Second floor rooms directly facing the Indoor Pool and the street are numbered 241 PREF, 243 PREF, 245 PREF, 247 PREF, 249 PREF. The first floor rooms facing the Outdoor Pool are numbered 142 OCVW, 144 OCVW, K146 OCVW, K148 OCVW, K150 OCVW. Second floor rooms facing the Outdoor Pool are numbered 242 OCVW, 244 OCVW, 246 OCVW, 250 OCVW.

If you are not confused yet, then, right next to the Outdoor Pool, completing the right side of the W are another separate set of Grande rooms. The first floor rooms are numbered 151 OCVW to 158 OCVW. The second floor rooms are numbered 251 OCVW to 258 OCVW. This set of Grande rooms end where the first floor and second floor of the 10 Ocean View Grande rooms begin that are numbered on the first floor (left to right) as 159 OCF1 to 162 OCF1 and K163 OCF1. The second floor (left to right) Ocean View rooms 259 OCF1 to 262 OCF1 and K263 OCF1. The first and second floor Grande rooms all face the Outdoor Pool. Only Ocean View rooms numbered 159 OCF1, 160 OCF1, 259 OCF1, and 260 OCF1 appear to also have direct exits facing the Outdoor Pool. These ocean view rooms are the most private based on location and guest activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is either ocean front or
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Our entire staff and management team thank you for your recent stay and for writing a very comprehensive review of our property. The Resort has been set up to focus on the gorgeous manicured grounds , the pools and the fabulous private beach. It is everyones job to keep the place sparkling and to strive to exceed our guest expectations at every turn. Our marketing team provides excellent activities during our season including the six day a week Kids Klub program. We look forward to your next visit and again we thank you very much for being so descriptive in your recent review . Please visit our sister properties in NH when you are in The White Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

i just returned from a long weekend at the Riviera Beach Motel and it was the worst. For starters the rooms are old, dirty and just plain gross.. The grounds were run down,and unkept . The beach side grill served 3 items a burger a hotdog and a sausage 8.95 each and do not ask for lettuce tomatoes or onions because it was not available , old bread and mustard only. The "resort fee " of 15.00 dollars a day they charge is a add on charge if there ever was one because all activities are next door at their other property and the heated pool they advertise was nowhere to be found. The carpet in my room was filthy and the bedding not much better [ blankets had burn holes] patio furniture was broken and hasn't been cleaned since Clinton left office. A motel 6 is cleaner and in better shape than this place, it was Labor Day weekend and i think this place had called it quits for the season already . In closing worst place i have stayed in since i was 20 years old and drunk, the nicest thing about this place was the location and seeing it in my rear view mirror as i drove away. YIKES THIS PLACE IS DIRTY

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank CucharaGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
The review you have sent in unforunately does not resemble our property , guest service or grounds. We ask that you contact John Verity our General Manager to discuss what seems to be a mistake in identity. The resort and staff has always been regarded as a very established Hotel with a very loyal following. We hope to hear from you soon so we may discuss this review further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our family, Grandma, three sons, four grandchildren aged 9 - 19 spent five days and had a great time. The beach is beautiful and easily accessible with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The pools are great for the kids but not good of you actually want to swim.
We were not given the accommodations that we originally arranged for. The suite we were told held 6 people with a BR with two Queen beds and a queen pull out. in LR. BR had one queen and one single so One teen-ager ended up sleeping on the floor. Front desk was less than understanding of this situation. Offered a cot which would have left no room to move around . I believe we should have been offered some kind of compensation for our inconvenience..
Housekeeping did an outstanding job. The rooms were somewhat dated but very well kept.
The prices quoted are deceiving. Our deluxe standard had $47.33 added taxes and fees and the suite had $69.36 added taxes and fees per day.. Be sure to get the bottom line price per day. I do not believe we got a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Riviera Beach Resort. We also as a team thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your experiences while here on the property. With regards to your room/suite configuration our normal procedure is and has always been to permit up to seven guests in our family suite. We understand your requirements were a bit different for your six guests and we apoloize for not having a better solution. I will contact you regarding your request for compensation as it relates to the inconvienence, and I certainly wish I could have done more for your family while you were here. It is our policy to provide evertything we can to insure your comfort, unfortunately we are extremely limited when we are at capacity for large parties of six or more. Thank you for comments regarding our cleanliness and ocean front location. I will contact you in the next few days to discuss your stay further. We appreciate your business and again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited this resort for a 5 day stay. We had some problems with our initial room and the staff worked to move us during a very busy time, they were completely accommodating and understanding.

The beach was wonderful and well maintained, as was the outside property. A fitness room would have been a nice addition, particularly as this is marketed as a resort, but the weather was great and allowed us to run outside where there is a nice wide sidewalk.

We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This beach is by far the best beach on the Cape!.The rooms have been updated,we stayed in an ocean view. The pool area had all new lounge chairs that were great and plenty of them. The outside grill and bar was also good,particularly the mudslides! The outside staff was attentive and friendly, The beach staff also great. The front desk still could use improvement... not very welcoming or flexible,especially the woman who has been there ten years...when asking for an early check in (which I'd requested 4 mos.earlier, she snapped and said there is no such thing!) Overall a good choice for a family retreat.New bedding for year,I hope!

Room Tip: Call early for an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your stay and also for taking time to review the encounters you had while you were here. The issue at the desk I will look into and rectify with all front desk staff. We ,on occassion,are able to get you in to your room before 300pm, although in peak time, July and August it is a challenge. The comments about our location, exterior furniture and staff are very well recieved and we pass along all reviews to our department heads and staff members.Hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I took our kids to the Cape during the season for years when our two daughters were younger. Once the kids were older my wife and I continued to take trips to the Cape off season and have stayed at the Red Jacket Riviera or the Blue Rock for golf. This year we decided to take our two grandchildren for a summer trip August 15th to 18th. At first a little lerry until we arrived at the Riviera, what a place for kids in the summer (and adults). The resort has both indoor and outdoor pools suited for kids. Daily activities for the kids from kite building and flying, face painting, beach games, etc. You were supplied with beach chairs and umbrellas at the beach when needed. There were also plenty of local activities in the area. A walk down the beach to a fishing pier with my Grandson. My wife and I had a blast with our grandchildren. The staff was very friendly and accomidating, the rooms comfortable and clean. Don't get me wrong, my wife and I will still enjoy our off season trips, the only thing missing will be what seemed like hundreds of kids ranging from 2 to 12, something we expected.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seemed like the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at The Riviera Beach Resort and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how everything was while you were here. The location, the pools, the restaurants and the staff are all areas we take seriously and I am glad your experience with them were all very good. The resort works diligently on a daily basis to exceed our guest expectations. We welcome you back in our shoulder seasons and thank you very much for your continued patronage.The management and staff rely on our guest feedback to constantly improve our overall service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.2 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.7 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.7 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
18.9 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#8 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing