We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Quaint Cape Cod Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Sign You Have Arrived
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Sign You Have Arrived
The old lookout from the kitchen of the Crows Nest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Our Sign You Have Arrived
The old lookout from the kitchen of the Crows Nest
Weber Gas Grill
Enclosed Yard
Patio
Back Yard
Earle Street Beach Less than 3 minute walk even with kids.
Life Guard from 10 to 4 every day
Just Add water At Earle Street Beach.  You can even get a permit for a evening cookout
Yes The Ice Cream truck comes to the beach every day more than once
View one of nature's wonders up close by visiting  Herring Run, In Brewster Just a short drive away.
Over recent years, the seal population has increased ten-fold off the shores of the Lower Cape.
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Harwich, Harwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dream8098...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Quaint Cape Cod Vacation”
Reviewed September 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third time staying at the Crows Nest 2 bedroom rental at Captain Alexander’s. It works out perfect for our active family. We like to spend our time on the Cape traveling around to different beaches, and areas of the Cape. When we are there we like to spend a few days at the beach that is just a short walk from Captain Alexander’s (Earle Rd Beach) Then we usually drive to P-town and Race Point Beach for a day and we like to spend one day driving over to Mayflower beach in the Dennis area. Since our idea of the ideal Cape Vacation includes multiple long beach days The Crows Nest is perfect for us The outside shower is on of our favorite things for showering when you get back from the beach can get all the stubborn sand and sea weed off. We usually cook and eat breakfast in the compact kitchen, then pack ourselves lunch in a cooler and head out for the day. In the evening we tend to eat out at the multiple restaurants that are just a short drive away. And one or two nights we used the gas grill down on the back deck to grill ourselves dinner and eat outside at the outdoor table and chairs. I brought my own sheets and towels which is no big deal, you can also request that they provide these things for a small fee if you don’t want to bring your own. There are other tenants in this multiple rental home but other then seeing their cars I hardly noticed that they were there. We had ample parking space for our one large vehicle(Ford Flex). This is a nice rental at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2018
Dear Vacationer,
The Crew at Captain Alexander’s appreciate the time you took to write your review of the Crows Nest in West Harwich Massachusetts. Earle Road Beach just a short walk away has been one of the favorite Beaches to visit when staying in the Crows Nest. Our Webber Gas Gril on the back deck has also been a favorite with our guest who have use it mutable times during their stay. Once again thanks for writing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Very relaxing vacation!””
Reviewed September 5, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I love staying here, I came here last year too. The crows nest has a very Cape Cod feel to it. Very clean inside. Has a patio and grill outside, all to myself. The beach is only a short walk away and there are many great restaurants near by. I always leave here happy and relaxed. Very relaxing vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
Dear Joel,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property, we’re glad that you found the Crows Nest, to be a very relaxing place. One of the ways that we make people‘s vacation special is to be able to have check in and check out anytime during the week plus a location close to the beach and lots of restaurants make it an ideal place to spend your time on old Cape Cod. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again next year. The crew at Captain Alexander’s.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L
1 review
“False rental advertisement and unprofessional accusing owners”
Reviewed September 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Review

Very disappointed with the owners of the property and the property itself. As you come in you have a strong smell of meldew. Flying from a different state we asked for 2 extra pillows and sheets and after we were told they those will be provided with no problem we we asked to buy our own, accused of being demanding and resulted in negative review on my profile. After we checked out with leaving place in clean condition, washing dishes and towels used, I received a nasty email accusing me of stealing a blanket from the property. However, when the blanket was located by the owners, I never received an apology for accusation. It was never mentioned that the first floor will be occupied by the owners’ son, dogs and girlfriend, and having terrible parking experience due to multiple vehicles on a driveway all the time. In addition, this property distribution included use of outside grill, deck, table and chairs, which we were not able to use due to occupancy of the first floor. Only once we got there it was disclosed to us that the first floor was occupied and we were stuck on the second floor with kids not being able to play outside and experience the reason why we came to cape cod. After I was given an opportunity to write a review about this place, I kept my bitter experience to myself not to spoil their overall review on air bnb. Now I really regret doing so. If you don’t want your vacation ruined and you don’t want to receive a review of being too demanding I would not recommend anybody renting from these people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2018
Dear Julia,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are not sure you have all your fax together. For example we never accused you of taking a blanket this is what I sent you on Airbnb and they have a copy of it. “Dear Julia the scenic blanket that was on the back of the sofa is missing
Do you know where it got put? Thanks for your help in this item.
The Crew at Captain Alexander’s”. And this was your response. “All the blankets should be there. We used one of the blankets in the bedroom and it was left on the bed. Do you have a picture of it so I know which one you are referring to?”. And then my respond to you. “We did find it. It was the one on the sofa with the water front scene. Thanks.” We don’t see any accusations in this conversation. Also our listing saids it is an upstairs unit and our managers We’re a conference Thursday Friday Saturday and Sunday during your stay. Have no ideal about your not using the yard which is completely separate from the first floor home. Also Ben texted you about the pillows and sheets for the 2 extra kids being in the closet of the master bedroom and you texted him back thank you. We have a lot of messages back and forth from you to Ben. Ben had told me you were going to be upset because you thought it was a single family home. And he was right. Anyway we tryed to make your stay enjoyable and even made room for the 2 extra kids. By the way I personal went out a brought 2 new pillows.
Yours Truly
Captain Edwards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
“Ms.”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nice, clean apartment but very dirty, neglected backyard. The all patio and backyard looks as if the house had been abandoned for years. Truly disgusting outdoor space which negatively impacted our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Ruth and I are happy you found our home clean as we try to have one of the cleanest homes for rent on Cape Cod. As we Ourselves vacation in many places around the world and appreciate a clean rental.
We are not sure what you were referring to about the yard. The yard has a trex composite decking which takes up most of the yard. We put that in because the yard in totally in the shade of the trees. And only the large rhododendron grows in the conor. You might have been disappointed as my manager made mention that you check in you wanted to know were the hot tub was. You were told that that haven't been there for about 3 years and that you must have been reading old reviews.
We hope that you found The Crows Nest convient to Earle Road Beach which is 3 tenths of a mile from the home as well as the near by Trampolins Bumper-Boats and Go-Carts for your children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howieb
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven on the Cape”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found the two bedroom apartment to be FULLY furnished with everything one could ask for. The caretaker (Ben) and his wife were so very helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. Thaks for all your concern and help. Would recommend the property to ANYONE.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review of the Crows Nest at Captain Alexander's in West Harwich. We do not get many vacation travelers after October or before May. Our property management team is always accomdating to our guests. Ruth and I have vacationed in Europe, Central and South America, Asia, and Australia. North America. Iceland and Greenland. We have used TripAdvisor on many occasions, so we know what should be in a vacation rental including good cookwear, confortable living room and large beds.
We glad you enjoyed your time at our place.

Ruth and Jerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradee201...
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in the off season. We were spending Christmas with our daughter and the Crows Nest was perfect. We cooked Christmas dinner in the fully equipped kitchen. The property manager was very helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Ruth and I are glad that you found the Crows Nest at Captain Alexander's a great place. Ben and Stacey have been with us for about 4 years and Ben seems to always make our guest's stay enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmp35
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing stay close to beach”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here very much. Family of 4 with 2 teenage daughters. Perfect for our needs - good amount of space, a nice walk to the beach, in a quiet neighborhood with a short drive to area restaurants and shopping. We really liked the Earle Street beach - not too big and not too crowded. The outdoor shower and patio area were great for washing off sand after a day at the beach. Everything was just as we expected from pictures and description. Bedrooms were comfortable, air conditioning easily controlled to our liking. We also liked having the washer and dryer to use. The owners were a pleasure to correspond with in making our arrangements and offered great suggestions for our stay. The onsite property manager gave us peace of mind and was very accessible to address any questions or needs. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Dear Sharon,
Ruth and I are glad you and your family enjoyed Captain Alexander's and your time at Earle Road Beach. We have had many comments about the nice homes in the area. There are many find restaurants within an easy drive of captain Alexanders and although we know that the kitchen in the rental is small most people find the living room and bedrooms have adequate space. One of the many ways that we try hard for you to enjoy your vacation is to be flexible with the check in and check out dates. Thanks for submitting your review and we hope you have a nice fall back at home.
Yours Ruth and Jerry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing