We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunters Green Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
tiverton, rhode island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

frst the pictures are not accurate at all. the pool is so small it's not even funny.the rooms are what you would expect to be rented by the hour. we were horrified we didnt even check in. we are an easy to please family so it had to be really bad for us not to stay...stay away

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlouise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    42
    12
    17
See reviews for
61
58
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have been staying at Hunters Green for nearly the last 10 yrs.and have had little problems.The price is very reasonable for Aug.and i have found management and staff very helpful.As long as you have a clean room and the rates are reasonable what more can you ask.No place is perfect.Will be back next year god willing to the beautiful Cape.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, and it was cheap. We expected it to be an economy establishment, but did expect it to have been cleaned. At the top of the stairs in front of our room's window was a black bag of garbage, which stayed there for the entire first day of our stay.

The furnishings and decor were depressingly outdated, and the beds were rock hard. There was a mini fridge in the room with rusty shelving, and a small old tv set.

Before laying down on the beds soon after arrival, we discovered that the pillowcases had other people's hairs on them. We called the office and the man who answered snapped "That's impossible!" when I told him our pillowcases seemingly hadn't been changed from the last guest. He then sent a teenage boy up to our room with some crumpled up, wrinkled pillowcases to replace the dirty ones.

There were smelly, damp used bath towels hanging on the back of the bathroom door.

It was cheap, but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMandMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Let me start by stating that my ratings are based totally on my expectations from the Hunters Green Motel. My expectations were for a clean, basic room to get some sleep for one night after attending a concert at the Cape Cod Melody tent. For that purpose, the Hunters Green was more than adequate. The room is very basic and sparsely appointed, but very clean as well. The sheets and towels were fine and the bed was comfortable. The room also includes a mini-fridge which is a nice touch. The night we were there it was very quiet, but as some other reviewers pointed out, that is totally dependent on the other guests just like at any hotel.

If I were staying here for a week’s vacation and expected to hang out at the property for extended time, then I would likely stay at another hotel with more amenities. But if you are just looking for a clean, comfortable room for a night or two, this is a great place for that. And you certainly can’t beat the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Rooms are very clean, bed is nice and large. Tv is about a 19" which is the only negative thing I could say. Pool was very clean. The staff was also very nice! I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amylee1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have stayed here four times over the last three years. It is inexpensive, clean, and quiet. Of course, quietness depends on who the other guests are! They have a hot tub and an indoor/outdoor pool which a lot of the guests like to use. There is a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Keep in mind while reading this review that I rate motels based on my expectations for a given price range. The price range of this hotel is very low. Hunters Green exceeded almost all my expectations. I will start with the two negatives that may be deal breakers for some. First, when I opened the door to my room, the stench of bleach was overwhelming. Fortunately, the front windows open and have screens. The bathroom in the back has a small window that you can leave open all the time, weather permitting, because no human could fit through it. My advice if you encounter this smell would be to open your room when you arrive, then go do something for a couple of hours (beach a couple of miles away) without unpacking your car. The smell went away in a couple of hours. It was not as bad the second day; none the third.
The second problem is a 19”-inch TV. If you need to watch a game, head west about a mile to Giardino’s, which includes a sports bar.
Now for the good stuff: very friendly and professional reception, a good-sized, very clean room with good floor space, a nice bathroom where the sink and shower/toilet separate by a door. The sink is blocked from the windows by a partition, a very nice feature. There is a small fridge (run at “max” during the day and “min” at night to reduce the noise), but no microwave and no free breakfast. The beds are very firm, but not the problem for me that they were for the previous reviewer. I enjoyed it after a long day of biking. Also, at night, this is the darkest motel room I have ever stayed in, which is great for sleeping.
The motel is located on Rte. 28 across from where West Yarmouth Rd. dead ends. The road is narrow, heavily commercialized, and very busy, but the rooms are set back far enough so you won’t hear the traffic. You have a huge variety of restaurants within a mile either way. My room was very quiet at night, but that may depend on the neighbors (very old clientele in the off season). I recommend this motel to anyone staying in W. Yarmouth and looking at price over frills.
Scooper47’s top tips: (1) Go west for lunch, east for dinner (Seafood Sam’s 1.7 miles east: seafood chowder!). The reason? You’ll never be able to turn left onto Rte. 28 at the dinner hour in season.
(2) Ask for a room on the second floor to avoid the noise of someone walking above you. If you have to stay on the first floor, don’t accept rooms 12 or 14; they are four feet from the ice maker.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scooper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.0 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.5 km away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 km away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.5 km away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#14 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Green Motel

Property: Hunters Green Motel
Address: 553 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4999
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunters Green Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Green Motel has been a family owned and operated facility for 45+ Years. We take pride in our friendly and attentive staff that make you feel right at home while you are enjoying Cape Cod. Our 74+ Guest rooms with a combination of King Bed or 2 Double Beds are designed to meet every family's needs. Our one of a kind pool is a must see where you can swim indoors as well as outdoors at the same time. Our in ground 10 Person Jacuzzi with massaging heads will help you unwind after your long day around Cape Cod. Hunters Green is located centrally in West Yarmouth on route 28 less than 2 miles from Seagull Beach, Englewood Beach and Bass River. Plenty of Bars, Restaurants, shopping are available in walking distance. Plenty of activities to keep kids entertained are also in walking distance including the Inflatable water park 0.2 miles away, Pirates cove Mini Golf, Ryan's bowling center and Arcade, Bumper Cars, Batting cages and plenty more. Hunters Green is centrally located to all your needs from children to adults. Call Hunters Green to plan your getaway to the beautiful Cape Cod. *Minimum check in age is 21. *Children over the age of 12 are considered adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hunters Green Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Green Hotel West Yarmouth
Hunters Green Motel West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing