We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local favourite.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheng-Du Restaurant

Cheng-Du Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Westborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: None
Description: For over 30 years Cheng Du Restaurant has been a staple in the Westborough community offering our customers the highest quality homemade Asian cuisine using the freshest ingredients. Today Cheng Du is offering something unlike any other Chinese restaurant, three restaurants under one roof: 157 Bin, our new cosmopolitan wine bar and lounge; Akamon, a Kushiyaki Grill with Japanese cuisine; and Cheng Du for a traditional Chinese dining experience. From our refined and sophisticated atmosphere, to our innovative and diverse cuisine, there's something for everyone at Cheng Du.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“A local favourite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

When we were living in the metro-west area of Massachusetts, the Cheng-du stood out as a favourite place for lunch or dinner. It's good American-style Chinese food, full menu, well-stocked buffet, pleasant surroundings, and priced right.
Whether it's just one or two of you, or a group of ten, they will take care of you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Good seating and interiors but the menu and preparation was not too impressive, We never repeated this place despite crossing it almost every day of our stay in the area

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank monalisa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
469 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you're in the Boston Metro-West area, and like Chinese food, try Cheng-Du.

They have all the typical Chinese dishes, which some different choices ... all expertly prepared with interesting flavors and spices.

For the main course, we shared the Sesame Chicken (excellent), the tender Orange Flavor Beef, and the Vegetable Fried Rice. But, if you go, don't miss the Scallion Pancakes appetizer ... like freshly backed flatbread with scallions and spices!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham. MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First visit in 5 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Appears to be under new management/ownership(?).
We had Sushi and absolutely loved it. Wonderful and diverse menu. Loved the tea service.
Service was friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. Sushi presentation (obviously an important aspect of this cuisine) was very appealing and well done.
We can't wait to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark-Janet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Three restaurants in one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Although we didn't go to the wine bar nor the sushi, we did go twice to the main dining room and were very impressed. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was first rate. I'm not a huge fan of Chinese food, but this place is a rare exception. The decor is beautiful and you could see the manager was proud to show off the recent renovations.
I did notice that our waiter tried to up sell us at every turn, but that did not bother me; in fact it made me feel that he was well trained!
We plan to make this place a regular stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheng-Du Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cheng-Du Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing