We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
107
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my daughter like coming home family photos stay there again high school reunion player piano outdoor pool two nights fresh fruit pleasant stay dick nancy hosts victorian zimmer accommodations labs
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 119 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The hosts made us feel so welcome! They cook a beautiful breakfast each morning. The rooms are large and beautiful, with very comfortable beds, and large updated bathrooms. We loved that the Inn was out in the country but just a 10 minute drive to Northampton with great restaurants and shopping, and close to the 5 colleges. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel and we would rate the Penrose right up with the best of our experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBradandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a brilliant find, we loved it. We received a great welcome from Dick and Nancy, nothing was too much trouble for them and we loved being immersed in the whole Victorian ambiance. Being from the UK we are very used to visiting Victorian houses, but we can usually only look and not touch. At the Penrose, we were a part of it. Our only regret - we only had one night there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2011

If you need a place to stay in the Amherst/Northampton area this is the place. The hosts are very accommodating and the bed is so comfortable (bridal suite) you will never want to leave. Definitely give this place a try if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnelsonSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2011

It was one of the best bed and breakfasts that we have stayed at. The food was tasty and custom tailored to each guest (e.g. what other ingredients you want in an omelet). Most all was homemade. Breakfast was within a two hour range and they would check with you the night before when you would want it and cook it fresh when you came to the breakfast room.The hospitality was very inviting, yet not intrusive. Dick and Nancy were very knowledgable of the area. They went above and beyond helping us when we found out that we needed to get our son some furniture items for the house he was renting. We were definitely stay there again. The place is extremely clean and well kept. The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgcantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

They have achieved a family-welcoming atmosphere in the environment of a quaint and lovely Victorian home. The hosts along with their furry friends, player piano, and Victorian furnishings make this an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews