We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
106
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy daughterlike coming homeold friendshigh school reunionthe painted ladyrooms are beautifulplayer pianooutdoor pooltwo nightscomfortable bedsfresh fruitpleasant stayhomemade strawberry jamdicknancyhostsvictorian
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 118 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Dick and Nancy were fabulous hosts and took very good care of us on our one-night birthday stay. The accomodations were comfortable and the decor very Victorian and romantic! We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return, hopefully for two nights!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenM924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed for for the second time at the Penrose. This time we were in the Painted Lady Room. There were lots of nice touches like plenty of light to read by and plenty of hangers for my clothes. The bathroom was enormous. The bed was extremely comfortable. The entire Inn is decorated beautifully with a mixture of antiques, collectibles, and original art.
Dick and Nancy love what they do, and it shows.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Penrose is a lovely home in every way. We had a bright sunny spacious room in beautiful surroundings (The Eleanor Purrington room) with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and our innkeepers were extremely gracious then and during the entire stay. Northhampton was an easy 10 minutes away with many great restaurants and unique places to visit and shop. Staying at the Penrose was a great decision.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi2Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The hosts made us feel so welcome! They cook a beautiful breakfast each morning. The rooms are large and beautiful, with very comfortable beds, and large updated bathrooms. We loved that the Inn was out in the country but just a 10 minute drive to Northampton with great restaurants and shopping, and close to the 5 colleges. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel and we would rate the Penrose right up with the best of our experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBradandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a brilliant find, we loved it. We received a great welcome from Dick and Nancy, nothing was too much trouble for them and we loved being immersed in the whole Victorian ambiance. Being from the UK we are very used to visiting Victorian houses, but we can usually only look and not touch. At the Penrose, we were a part of it. Our only regret - we only had one night there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews