We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
107
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast my daughter like coming home b b's northampton area great hosts stained glass table settings beautiful antiques family photos guest rooms each morning stay there again juice and coffee high school reunion player piano wonderful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 120 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you want a bed and breakfast that has delightful innkeepers, tasty breakfast, clean and large bedrooms and beautiful plants as well as whimsical knickknacks then this is your place.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I were booked last-minute to Penrose (because of a slip-up at another area B&B) and the owners were wonderfully accommodating. They told us all about area attractions, cooked us a fine breakfast, and had a charming collection of old instruments, including a pump organ and a melodion (which they let me play). The only possible downside for some people might be that, in our room, the Purrington, one had to cross the hall to use the bathroom. But the owners told us about this in advance, and it wasn't a big deal to take some clothes with you in the morning. A well-run, charming, and slightly eccentric (in a good way) establishment -- we would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Penrose Inn on our way to visit our children in the Boston area. We were familiar with the Northampton area and decided to break up our trip with an overnight stay. I was unfamiliar with B&B's in the area and found The Penrose Inn through Trip Advisor.
We had a delightful stay. Dick and Nancy were the perfect hosts- providing a gracious and personal welcome. They provided us with evening dinner recommendations as well as other "things to do" in the area. We booked the Brides Room and it was terrific. It was large and well decorated, although some might be less enamored with the Victorian style decorating with an emphasis on delightful clutter and many nicknacks. The bed was very comfortable-a "deal breaker" for us and the bathroom was actually another adjoining room with its own electric fireplace to add a bit of warmth and whimsy. It was immaculate-another "deal breaker"- and beautifully furnished. It had a large glass enclosed shower with great water pressure.

Our breakfast the next morning was custom made as we were the only people staying that night. We had custom omlettes, toast, fresh fruit and juice. I asked for hot chocolate and it was prepared and ready with no fuss. Dick and Nancy joined us at the table and we had an wonderful discussion of travel and grandchildren. It was pleasant and non-intrusive.

All in all, a most delightful and relaxing place to stay. It is close to good restaurants and the many shops and attractions of Northampton and Amherst and yet nicely tucked away in the little village of Haydenville along Route 9. We paid $145.00 for the night which included all taxes; not necessarily a bargain given the time of year and it was a Thursday night, but certainly good value.

We would definitely recommend the Penrose and would stay there again on another trip.

Room tip: All three rooms are great-spacious and charming
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorianlace, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful and thorough review on your stay at Penrose Victorian Inn. We hope your review will be most helpful to your fellow travelers who may want to stay at Penrose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We arrived at Penrose Inn for an overnight in the Northampton area. We were greeted by Dick and taken to our room. The Inn itself seemed a little overdecorated, as was our room. I'm not someone who likes a lot of stuff everywhere. After that we were left to ourselves until breakfast. It was an unseasonably warm weekend and both the porch and pool were not open. I can imagine it would be pleasant when both of these were available to the people staying there. Had there been a place to sit outside and have a cup of tea or glass of wine, we would have stayed and relax. Instead we went out for the afternoon. Most of the bed and breakfasts we have stayed in have offered coffee or tea and/or refreshments either in the afternoon or on a self service all the time to all guests. This was a disappointment as was the fact that only soap was offered in the rooms. Again, most places offer shampoo, lotion, etc. The room, Painted Lady, itself was large and spacious, as was the bathroom, but again over decorated. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean. Breakfast was good and Nancy and Dick were attentive to their guests. I was surprised that they sat down with us (and the other 2 couples), but it was pleasant. We left shortly after breakfast.

Because I felt it was missing some of the nice touches (coffee, tea, afternoon wine, refreshments and limited bathroom niceties) that most other bed and breakfasts we have stayed in have, and the fact that I felt a little overwhelmed by all the furnishings, i.e., baby carriage with old dolls and stuffed animals in the room, Christmas tree in the living room in April to name a few, we wouldn't stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maineartist609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorianlace, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

We are sorry that several things did not meet your expectations.
We certainly would have offered coffee, tea and refreshments any time if requested. Most of our guests are gone for the day with activities and often return late.
Over time we have found our guests like and bring their own shampoos and lotions, and even their own soaps on occasion. If asked, shampoos and lotions are available.
The weather was unseasonably warm. Our porch in mid-April is generally too cold to enjoy. We would have gladly provided cushions to sit and relax upon request.
Most Victorians are noted for their antiques, furnishing and decorations. We fully decorate for Christmas however leave one decorated tree in the parlor alcove as Victorians especially loved Christmas. Our guests generally enjoy the Victorian experience as it is uniquely different than their own homes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving weekend at the Penrose Inn while visiting our daughters in their college state. They joined us at the Inn and we had a blast. I particularly enjoyed our breakfast gatherings. It was such a pleasant experience. Dick and Nancy really love what they do and it shows. The Inn was decorated for Christmas and it put us in a festive mood. Their recommendations for the area were spot on. It was our first Thanksgiving away from home and I can't think of a better way to have spent our time. Thank you Nancy and Dick for making it such a pleasant stay. We may make this our Thanksgiving tradition for years to come.

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews