We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
106
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my daughter like coming home old friends high school reunion the painted lady rooms are beautiful player piano outdoor pool two nights comfortable beds fresh fruit pleasant stay homemade strawberry jam dick nancy hosts victorian
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 118 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2016

My wife and I recently spent an evening at the Penrose Victorian Inn near Northampton, MA. Our hosts, Nancy and Dick Zimmer, were busy decorating for Christmas and the house was enchanting. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. We recommend Penrose very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thanks for a wonderful review. We enjoyed having you both stay with us. Would love to have you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

A beautiful home filled with fascinating knick-knacks and incredible stories. It was a pleasure to spend some time there and enjoy conversations with Dick and Nancy, and their generous, delicious breakfast. Make sure to ask for a player piano demonstration!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexeweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thanks Lindsay and Alex. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We also enjoyed the link you sent us with your composition. It took a while for Dick and I to watch it together. You are welcome at Penrose anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Staying at this "Painted Lady" in Haydenville, Massachusetts was a wonderful experience. Nancy and Dick Zimmer are excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for their guests. The home is enchanting as are the hosts! I spent 5 nights there and enjoyed every moment. Visited Western Massachusetts in early June and the weather was perfect--a delicious, different breakfast was served on their spacious porch each morning--so comfortable! The room accommodations were spacious and very comfortable with a queen bed. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower. The Zimmer's are VERY knowledgeable about the area, places to visit and the surrounding towns. Penrose Victorian Inn is filled with lovely antiques and family photos, as well as treasures from some of Nancy and Dick's own travel adventures. Displayed in the music room is an old organ from Mahomet, Illinois. In the parlor is a pianola (player piano) that we enjoyed listening to! Another treasure in their music room is a beautiful doll house that Nancy's father built for her when she was a young girl!! Yes, this was a memorable visit that I will never forget!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights with Dick and Nancy at their beautiful Victorian "Painted Lady" in Haydenville. We didn't know what a painted lady was but as our room was the Painted Lady room, we were curious and our hosts told us that is the name given to these style of 19th century houses.
Really it was more like staying in a museum. The house is full of Victorians; old photographs and paintings, old artefacts, jewellery, ornaments, clocks and musical instruments. There is even a pianola and there is one room that is permanently decorated for Christmas, complete with tree and presents.
If it sounds quirky, it is, but quirky good.
Dick and Nancy are great hosts. Nancy cooks a fine breakfast (different each day) and both of them join their guests to chat, in between cooking and serving. On our second morning there were two other guests in the hotel and breakfast ended up in a very interesting conversation with subjects as eclectic as our surroundings. That's the way Dick and Nancy seem to like it.
There was a pool out back, too, but we didn't have time to try it and, in any case, Nancy was busy painting it to get it ready for the summer.
If you want something different, this is the B&B you might be looking for.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AWK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. We do truly enjoy our guests. We always hope they leave as friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

A lovely inn, chock full of Victorian pieces and bric-a-brac, with gracious and helpful hosts, spacious rooms, well-appointed bathrooms and an excellent breakfast. To be even better, they could update the mattress in the Purrington room, increase the heating temperature a few degrees, and offer cold cereal for those who don't want the hot breakfast entree for the day.

Note: In case it matters to some people, the owners have dogs.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Brides Room, which has a connected bath with a shower. (Not all bathrooms are connected or have showers.)
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Thanks for the review and we thank you for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews