We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Old-Fashioned Eloquence at the Penrose Victorian Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penrose Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I received a gift certificate to the Penrose Victorian Inn for my birthday. My husband and I recently spent an April night there and it was a totally uplifting experience. We loved the warmth and kindness of the innkeepers, Nancy and Dick Zimmer. The decor of this B&B, for lovers of Victorian ambiance, is breathtaking. From the gorgeous dining room table setting with ribbons cascading down from the chandelier, and music from a "player piano," to Edna May, (the parrot), and hundreds of gorgeous antiques, lamps, etc., this establishment is top-notch. We stepped back in time at the Penrose and it was more than delightful. The breakfast omelette, fresh fruit plate, and toast with Nancy's homemade strawberry jam were yummy as was coffee and juice. The Zimmers made us feel welcome and as comfortable as old friends. They are very well traveled, too, and have brought home treasures for the B&B. They have lots of stories and will tell all about the Penrose and their experiences as innkeepers for the past 21 years. If you love anything Victorian and enjoy a respite from day-to-day living, stay at the enchanting Penrose Victorian Inn. You'll make very precious memories!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very lovely but not suited for young children. Definitely a more adult oriented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank writingstraightf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed talking to you both over breakfast. We also enjoyed the pictures and blog you wrote, Susan. It is people like you who make having a bed and breakfast so much fun. Come back and enjoy the porch in Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Our two days with Dick and Nancy were absolutely delightful. We stayed in the Painted Lady (bathroom pictured) and were blown away by the true Victorian experience. Our hosts soon became our friends. We had the run of the first floor, enjoyed the ambiance, and our breakfasts were exquisite. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. Dick, Nancy, you are warned....we will be back.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. You and Wendy are a delight to host. We do not need any warning - We would love to have you back any time. You are the kind of guests any bed and breakfast would love to have. Stop by when you are in the area even if you are not staying with us. We can catch up while sitting on our porch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Thanks for a gift certificate and also the timing staying at this Bed &Breakfast ( owners leaving on vacation next week ), we were pleasantly and very happy with our stay. Nancy and Dick Zimmer met us with open arms, made us feel at home, helped us with restaurants, knowledgeable with their area. They were down to earth people, funny, great sense of humor, easy to talk with, respectful, gave us the choice of bathroom ( only ones staying that night with bath robes), beautiful spacious room & comfortable queen bed, and a very delicious breakfast. Their whole place was decorated beautifully with Christmas decorations. We definitely will stay there again and highly recommend their place. Very glad we didn't stay at a motel/hotel that night, because wouldn't have this kind of service.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 656charlesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thanks for a wonderful review. We rally enjoyed having you stay with us. You are GREAT people. Love to have you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

My wife and I recently spent an evening at the Penrose Victorian Inn near Northampton, MA. Our hosts, Nancy and Dick Zimmer, were busy decorating for Christmas and the house was enchanting. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. We recommend Penrose very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Thanks for a wonderful review. We enjoyed having you both stay with us. Would love to have you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A beautiful home filled with fascinating knick-knacks and incredible stories. It was a pleasure to spend some time there and enjoy conversations with Dick and Nancy, and their generous, delicious breakfast. Make sure to ask for a player piano demonstration!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexeweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thanks Lindsay and Alex. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We also enjoyed the link you sent us with your composition. It took a while for Dick and I to watch it together. You are welcome at Penrose anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Staying at this "Painted Lady" in Haydenville, Massachusetts was a wonderful experience. Nancy and Dick Zimmer are excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for their guests. The home is enchanting as are the hosts! I spent 5 nights there and enjoyed every moment. Visited Western Massachusetts in early June and the weather was perfect--a delicious, different breakfast was served on their spacious porch each morning--so comfortable! The room accommodations were spacious and very comfortable with a queen bed. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower. The Zimmer's are VERY knowledgeable about the area, places to visit and the surrounding towns. Penrose Victorian Inn is filled with lovely antiques and family photos, as well as treasures from some of Nancy and Dick's own travel adventures. Displayed in the music room is an old organ from Mahomet, Illinois. In the parlor is a pianola (player piano) that we enjoyed listening to! Another treasure in their music room is a beautiful doll house that Nancy's father built for her when she was a young girl!! Yes, this was a memorable visit that I will never forget!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights with Dick and Nancy at their beautiful Victorian "Painted Lady" in Haydenville. We didn't know what a painted lady was but as our room was the Painted Lady room, we were curious and our hosts told us that is the name given to these style of 19th century houses.
Really it was more like staying in a museum. The house is full of Victorians; old photographs and paintings, old artefacts, jewellery, ornaments, clocks and musical instruments. There is even a pianola and there is one room that is permanently decorated for Christmas, complete with tree and presents.
If it sounds quirky, it is, but quirky good.
Dick and Nancy are great hosts. Nancy cooks a fine breakfast (different each day) and both of them join their guests to chat, in between cooking and serving. On our second morning there were two other guests in the hotel and breakfast ended up in a very interesting conversation with subjects as eclectic as our surroundings. That's the way Dick and Nancy seem to like it.
There was a pool out back, too, but we didn't have time to try it and, in any case, Nancy was busy painting it to get it ready for the summer.
If you want something different, this is the B&B you might be looking for.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AWK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. We do truly enjoy our guests. We always hope they leave as friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Penrose Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Victorian Inn

Address: 133 Main St, Williamsburg, MA 01039-9713
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $156 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrose Victoran Inn is located near Smith College, University of Massachusetts, Amherst College, Hampshire College, Deerfield Academy and Williston Northampton Academy. Penrose Victorian Inn takes one back to the by-gone Victorian era with antiques, chandeliers and seven fire places. Choose from three uniquely decorated spacious guest rooms, all with large private baths - The Painted Lady, The Bride's Room and The Eleanor Purrington Room. The stately front porch, perennial gardens, fountain and in-ground swimming pool add to the Inn's ambiance. Our guests enjoy a gourmet candle-lit breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing