We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
107
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my daughter like coming home family photos stay there again high school reunion player piano outdoor pool two nights fresh fruit pleasant stay dick nancy hosts victorian zimmer accommodations labs
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 119 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Our two days with Dick and Nancy were absolutely delightful. We stayed in the Painted Lady (bathroom pictured) and were blown away by the true Victorian experience. Our hosts soon became our friends. We had the run of the first floor, enjoyed the ambiance, and our breakfasts were exquisite. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. Dick, Nancy, you are warned....we will be back.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. You and Wendy are a delight to host. We do not need any warning - We would love to have you back any time. You are the kind of guests any bed and breakfast would love to have. Stop by when you are in the area even if you are not staying with us. We can catch up while sitting on our porch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Thanks for a gift certificate and also the timing staying at this Bed &Breakfast ( owners leaving on vacation next week ), we were pleasantly and very happy with our stay. Nancy and Dick Zimmer met us with open arms, made us feel at home, helped us with restaurants, knowledgeable with their area. They were down to earth people, funny, great sense of humor, easy to talk with, respectful, gave us the choice of bathroom ( only ones staying that night with bath robes), beautiful spacious room & comfortable queen bed, and a very delicious breakfast. Their whole place was decorated beautifully with Christmas decorations. We definitely will stay there again and highly recommend their place. Very glad we didn't stay at a motel/hotel that night, because wouldn't have this kind of service.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 656charlesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

Thanks for a wonderful review. We rally enjoyed having you stay with us. You are GREAT people. Love to have you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2016

My wife and I recently spent an evening at the Penrose Victorian Inn near Northampton, MA. Our hosts, Nancy and Dick Zimmer, were busy decorating for Christmas and the house was enchanting. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. We recommend Penrose very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thanks for a wonderful review. We enjoyed having you both stay with us. Would love to have you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

A beautiful home filled with fascinating knick-knacks and incredible stories. It was a pleasure to spend some time there and enjoy conversations with Dick and Nancy, and their generous, delicious breakfast. Make sure to ask for a player piano demonstration!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alexeweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenroseVictorianInn, Owner at Penrose Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thanks Lindsay and Alex. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We also enjoyed the link you sent us with your composition. It took a while for Dick and I to watch it together. You are welcome at Penrose anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Staying at this "Painted Lady" in Haydenville, Massachusetts was a wonderful experience. Nancy and Dick Zimmer are excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for their guests. The home is enchanting as are the hosts! I spent 5 nights there and enjoyed every moment. Visited Western Massachusetts in early June and the weather was perfect--a delicious, different breakfast was served on their spacious porch each morning--so comfortable! The room accommodations were spacious and very comfortable with a queen bed. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower. The Zimmer's are VERY knowledgeable about the area, places to visit and the surrounding towns. Penrose Victorian Inn is filled with lovely antiques and family photos, as well as treasures from some of Nancy and Dick's own travel adventures. Displayed in the music room is an old organ from Mahomet, Illinois. In the parlor is a pianola (player piano) that we enjoyed listening to! Another treasure in their music room is a beautiful doll house that Nancy's father built for her when she was a young girl!! Yes, this was a memorable visit that I will never forget!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews