We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Proctor Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wrentham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here on Sept. 14, 2016. Nice room, great bathroom and very quiet. The home had a great deal of authenticity to it. Very convenient to Gillette Stadium (~10 mins) where we attended the Springsteen concert. Inn keepers (Derry ?? & Martha) were most friendly and very accommodating, We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProctorMansionInn, Manager at Proctor Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thank you Jeff for the great review! We love it when guests write to inform others about their satisfying stay at Proctor Mansion Inn. We definitely enjoyed meeting and serving you both, and hope you will return to visit us in the future.

Sincerely,
Deri Hearn & all your friends at Proctor Mansion Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016

Where do I begin? From the first phone call, we were made to feel special. We are gluten free, which causes trouble sometimes. Deri, the property manager, told us that they would try to accommodate us. Well, they went above and beyond, even to making us GF cookies for our room. The food every morning was delicious. The Inn itself is breath takingly beautiful. All of the old charm has been beautifully restored. The ceilings are original hand painted masterpieces. Our room was lovely with a big bathroom.
The bed was so comfy that I asked them what kind it was so I can purchase one.
It was my birthday so Deri bought me a balloon and had it in our room when we got back in the evening. The whole staff was friendly and welcoming.
We will go back to Boston some day, just to stay here again. When we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends. Since being at home, we have received an email and a card to thank us for our stay. I could go on and on.
Stay here, you will be blessed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the peach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProctorMansionInn, Manager at Proctor Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thank you Gwen, for the beautiful review! We are very thankful for folks like you who let others know about the historic, charming & warm place Proctor Mansion Inn is. We definitely enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return trip! It was a joy to meet and serve you both! Yes, you are definitely family now. :-)

Sincerely,
Deri Hearn & all your friends at Proctor Mansion Inn


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We attended a speaker presentation at the Proctor Mansion Inn. It was held in the ballroom, and delicious tea, scones, and chocolate-covered strawberries were served. This historic inn was warm and inviting, the service impressive, and the ambiance was unsurpassed. Much has been done to carefully and lovingly restore--not renovate, restore--this unique structure, some of which is ongoing. During the tour that followed the presentation, the owner, Brian, gave us an informative and very interesting tour of the inn. He is very knowledgeable and passionate, and this tour was one of the best (if not the best) I have ever been given. I truly felt the significance and importance of this delightful inn. Thank you, Brian and staff, for a memorable visit!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I cannot say enough great things about our experience with the Proctor Mansion Inn. I spent the night before the wedding with my daughters and my besties and our wedding day was spectacular! The mansion is so clean. The staff is accommodating, the owners are gracious and welcoming and Michelle the event coordinator is fantastic. Our family and friends are still gushing about the wedding!! Thank you for our magical day! :)

Room Tip: Rooms at front of mansion have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProctorMansionInn, Owner at Proctor Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Dear Wendy,
Thank you so much for your kind words! You, Rick and your guests were a pleasure to have here at Proctor Mansion Inn. Our staff wishes your family a lifetime of happiness & we were truly blessed to be part of your special day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Our experience at the Proctor Mansion Inn was memorable in a very positive way, not only for the house and it's beauty, character and history, but also for the people. Deri, the innkeeper was friendly, informative and helpful. She gave us a warm welcome upon arrival. There were chef-made chocolate chip cookies and mini cinnamon buns waiting for us in our room. Brian Fitzgerald, the Inn's owner, is passionate about restoring the Proctor Mansion Inn (built in 1861) and spent an hour and a half with us touring the house and sharing information about its former residents and unique history. The house is filled with period pieces of furniture and artwork. The inn was a safe house for slaves traveling the Underground Railroad as evidenced by its red signal window and hidden safe room. If you are history buffs like we are, you will most assuredly appreciate the house tour and living amongst the many historical items in the house. It is true that the renovation is not yet complete but the amount that has already been thoughtfully done is truly impressive. Our stay was very comfortable with fine amenities including warm pastries, delicious home-cooked breakfasts and wifi. The Inn is almost entirely original in most every respect. They have added electricity, bathrooms and a sprinkler system but it has been done in a way that does not take away at all from the ambiance of the home. It is really neat Victorian mansion that was neglected for almost seventy years and brought back to life by caring and thoughtful people. They have had several movies filmed there so we aren't the only ones who think it is a special place. Brian and Deri recommended two enjoyable restaurants to us, both of which are located a short drive from the inn and and take reservations on Friday and Saturday evenings. We had delicious Italian food with prompt and friendly service at Cafe Assisi where the asparagus wraps and cannelloni fruitti di mare were particularly tasty. We enjoyed dinner in the very casual Eagle Brook Saloon where the prime rib and the fried clams were delicious. Our daughter will be attending college in the area and we plan to be frequent guests at the Proctor Mansion Inn over the next few years.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I have to say that I feel a little duped by this place. I was looking for something like the Morrill Mansion in Portland and was given to expect that from the video on the website. However, despite the fact that the owners have clearly spent a deal of money on the renovations to date, there is a long way to go and the video does not portray that. When you combine this with an expensive bill, it doesn't demonstrate great value. Deri the innkeeper is a lovely lady and tries hard but it doesn't feel like a $250 experience.
French toast for breakfast was not the best and we were offered waffles as an alternative, so it might be good to have those instead.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProctorMansionInn, Owner at Proctor Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We are very sorry that this guest feels this way about the Proctor Mansion Inn. His comments about how the Mansion looks like the “Addams Family” are simply not true and are not fair to the unique historic elegance of the Proctor Mansion Inn. On the trip Advisor page you will find beautiful and accurate photos of the property provided by both other guests and the owners that depict the Inn in its’ true light. The Proctor Mansion Inn is a very historic property in New England and there are still some public spaces that are being restored especially on the upper floor. It was clearly a mistake for my innkeeper to give him a “behind the scenes tour” as he did not appreciate the nature of ongoing and careful historical restorative efforts. My Innkeeper reports “As they were standing at the bottom of the master staircase this guest commented that the house sort of reminded him of the TV show ‘The Addams Family’. The other three guests did not understand what he was saying and seemed embarrassed by his statements.”

The Morrill Mansion mentioned by this guest, although beautiful, has nowhere near the architectural detail of the Proctor Mansion Inn which includes original hand painted ceilings, ornate carved woodwork, frescoed walls, arching doorways, stained glass windows and original servant’s bells still hanging. If this guest had stated that he was not happy at the Proctor Mansion Inn we would have happily referred him to the more modern looking hotel in the near-by town.

Our Bedrooms are beautifully decorated, clean and have all the modern amenities. In addition the bedrooms and the entire house are decorated with interesting Victorian antiques.

The room rate at the Proctor Mansion Inn varies a little due to seasons and special events, but was not $250 as he has described in his comments. Our published room rates for a King room ranges from $199 on most days to $219 on weekends with special events. Queen room rates are lower.

Our staff serves fresh, beautifully prepared, hot breakfasts each morning. Upon check-in he and his companions were offered a choice of five breakfast items. Each chose cinnamon French toast. Shortly after it was served in the morning, our innkeeper asked how everything was. Three guests gave positive feedback; the fourth verbalized nothing but nodded in agreement to the other's comments. That guest happened to be the same one who said that the house reminded him of "The Addams Family". Had he been unhappy with his breakfast, for any reason, he could have verbalized that to our innkeeper, and a different breakfast would have then been immediately served.

It is the policy of Proctor Mansion Inn to make sure our guests are completely satisfied in every way, and we will continue to work very hard to do so, and are truly sorry this guest was not satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I took my wife to the porter mansion for tea on valentine's day. The service, food, music and company was fantastic. We got a tour and history of the mansion from the owner. We highly recommend going to an event or staying overnight. The hospitality was first class. The house has original decor throughout but has had electricity, plumbing and sprinklers added to meet today's code. I will be staying over with my wife for a romantic overnight get away.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrentham
8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Foxboro
125 reviews
5.6 km away
Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 3 in Franklin
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area
Show Prices

Been to Proctor Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor Mansion Inn

Address: 36 Common St, Wrentham, MA 02093-1467
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Wrentham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wrentham
Price Range: $274 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Proctor Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to step back in time to experience a taste of yesterday at The Proctor Mansion Inn. Built in 1861, The Proctor Mansion Inn is a striking example of Second Empire French Victorian architecture. Amazingly preserved and lovingly restored, it provides a glimpse of grandeur from days gone by.The Proctor Mansion Inn is set within a picturesque new England town midway between Boston and Providence. Each room in the Proctor Mansion Inn is different with original frescos, wood work and architectural features.  All of the rooms are uniquely decorated including period antiques and local original artwork. The Proctor Mansion Inn is extremely ornate and is one of only 7 in the United States of this Victorian style with the original interior intact. Enjoy the sweeping stair case, 14’ painted ceilings and the original servants bells still hanging! We are an Eco-Friendly Inn. It is our pleasure to server Organic, local and natural foods in our Signature Extended Continental Breakfast included in with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Proctor Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing