We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch Spot for Special Occasions”

Real Seafood Company - Bay City
Reserve with OpenTable
Real Seafood Company - Bay City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 194 Restaurants in Bay City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: We are a contemporary seafood restaurant that offers the freshest fish and premium seafood from the waters of the Atlantic, the Pacific, the Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy fresh oysters, lobster, shrimp, and the authentic flavors of seasonal and local produce. Everything is made fresh to order.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a contemporary seafood restaurant that offers the freshest fish and premium seafood from the waters of the Atlantic, the Pacific, the Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy fresh oysters, lobster, shrimp, and the authentic flavors of seasonal and local produce. Everything is made fresh to order.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here for lunch twice and both times was impressed with the quality of food. A little pricey for everyday lunch visits, but good for lunches from time to time. Fresh seafood dishes, great salads, and baskets of warm melt in your mouth bread. I love this place when I feel like splurging for lunch. I’d like to try this place for dinner soon. The summer season also allows you to dine out on their patio on the river and enjoy a cool refreshing beverage.

Thank BigWig724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Real Seafood Company - Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Real Seafood Company. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lisa Hunt
Guest Services Head Supervisor
Mainstreet Ventures Inc.
lisa@msventures.net
(888)456-3463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2018

The view is the sell here, and it's pretty nice, right on the water. If I wanted to watch an event this is the place to go.

For food, not so much. they were out of two of the dishes we wanted so we wound up settling. They forgot to bring our wine and were pretty slow with the service.

This isn't a bad place, but it's just average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Real Seafood Company - Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lisa Hunt
Guest Services Head Supervisor
Mainstreet Ventures Inc.
lisa@msventures.net
(888)456-3463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Passing through we decided to stop for the night in Bay City and made reservations here. What a wonderful restaurant right on the water. Sun was setting. We asked for outdoor seating. After we received our appetizers we realized that we couldn’t continue sitting outside because it was windy and hilly especially as the sun went down. Our waitress and the rest of the staff were very accommodating and quickly found us a booth inside for our family of five. We enjoyed the calamari and the crab stuffed avocado. Wonderful! So fresh! Our entrees included the tuna tartare, fish tacos, scallops and seafood linguini. It was all so tasty and fresh and we so enjoyed the meal! The staff were all so polite and professional! Our waitress was Ally and she was pleasant and very accommodating and attentive to our many needs and did everything possible to give us a great dining experience. It was a bit pricey but we expected that and were ready to splurge for our one and only very special dining experience on this vacation... the rest of the week we’ll be cooking our meals over a campfire. So thank you and we would definitely return if given the chance and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great seafood meal!

Thank goldenrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Real Seafood Company - Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Real Seafood Company. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Lisa Hunt
Guest Services Head Supervisor
Mainstreet Ventures Inc.
lisa@msventures.net
(888)456-3463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

This was our first time visit there. It was around noon, but it was Sunday, so no lunch menu. We had high expectations given the prices and some word of mouth.

It started out very well as we were seated near a window with a nice view of waterfront. Then, our waiter came and my wife immediately recognized him from a restaurant he had worked at earlier. He was an EXCELLENT waiter during our visit...probably the highlight of our visit.

We ordered the crab cakes and deep fried calamari as appetizers. The crab cakes were excellent and I thought the calamari was very good. Perhaps slightly over-sauced, but very good.

My wife had hoped to be able to order a whole fish, perhaps stuffed, as her entree, but nothing like that is offered. Not even trout. This is very disappointing in a seafood restaurant. Darn close to unacceptable.

So, my wife suggested we try the paella, which is offered in minimum 2-person sizes. So, we both had that. We have had Paella in Spain and I make it sometimes at home, so we know what paella is supposed to taste like, if it's good.

The Paella came and the first thing my wife did was check for the socarrat layer that is the highlight of a properly prepared Paella dish. For those that do not know, socarrat is the toasted/crunchy layer of rice formed at the final, high heat, part of the Paella preparation process.

Not only was there no socarrat layer, the rice was sitting in a puddle of water. Completely unacceptable. The (excellent) waiter was present when my wife discovered this and he was embarrassed for the kitchen. He asked if we would like to send the rise back to the kitchen for a re-heating. We agreed (probably should just have sent the whole thing back and ordered something else). He transferred the chicken, mussels, clams, and lobster to another plate and took the rise back to the kitchen.

We started dining on the removed paella "toppings" and found that the chicken breast was over-cooked and dry (they should have used dark meat chicken, anyway), the mussels were a little over-cooked, the clams had sand, and the lobster was over-cooked/rubbery.

The rice came back (no socarrat) with the water puddle removed. Our waiter offered us creme brulee as desert to make up for the paella, but it was under-whelming (mushy and without a proper glaze layer), but edible.

The moral of the story is that this place's kitchen can serve good food, but it can also butcher a dish that it is unfamiliar with making. Stick to the standards and you will likely be OK. Not acceptable at this price point, but it is what it is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nopcbs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Real Seafood Company - Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at Real Seafood Company. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Ryan McHenry, and we would really like to speak with you personally. If possible, please contact Ryan at (989) 778-1500. If you prefer to provide your contact information I would be happy to pass it along to him. We truly hope to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Lisa Hunt
Guest Services Head Supervisor
Mainstreet Ventures Inc.
lisa@msventures.net
(888)456-3463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018

This restaurant wants to be great, but sadly, it is not. Where to begin:
The tables are all too close. I felt like I was in the center of a freeway full of other patrons and waitstaff. It's really loud inside as well.
The seafood is OK. Nothing spectacular. Our table ordered the spicy calamari and shrimp appetizers along with the lump crab cakes. These were ok. Our main courses were the Chilean sea bass, swordfish, spicy tuna and yellow tale tuna. Again, nothing to write home to mom about.
The service was what I've come to expect in this area (Bay City/Saginaw): friendly but not proactive. You would imagine when spending the kind of money this restaurant charges, that the wait staff would be very well-trained and knowledgeable. This is not what we experienced
In the end, the Real Seafood Co.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSVRestaurants, Guest Relations Manager at Real Seafood Company - Bay City, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Hello,
Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your poor experience at Real Seafood Company. I have forwarded your review to our General Manager, Ryan McHenry, and we would really like to speak with you personally. If possible, please contact Ryan at (989) 778-1500. If you prefer to provide your contact information I would be happy to pass it along to him. We truly hope to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Lisa Hunt
Guest Services Head Supervisor
Mainstreet Ventures Inc.
lisa@msventures.net
(888)456-3463

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Seafood Company - Bay City also viewed

 

Been to Real Seafood Company - Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing