We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKAY HOTEL FOR THE PRICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Benton Harbor/St Joseph are in Michigan. We though we were getting a room with two queen beds, I asked at the reception desk if that's what our room had in it. I was told yes but when we got into our room it was obvious that the beds were only a Full size. I called the front desk to ask to be moved and they told me all of their rooms have queen beds. It definitely was NOT a queen bed. We did stay the two nights we had booked and made the best of it. Each room came with a microwave, mini fridge and TV. The shower pressure was really nice and relaxing after a long day of touring around St Joseph/Michigan City. We spent a day at Silver beach in Michigan city and it was awesome. beautiful white sandy beach.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room away from the Highway, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgowgal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello. I want to apologize for getting off to a bad start about the sizing of the beds. I went over this with my staff so next time this will not occur. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had some good sites to see. Hopefully we will see you again when you visit Benton Harbor. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I come here often. Prices are affordable and the staff is more than amazing! Shawnti is always one step ahead with her hospitality! We appreciate everything she does for us and even more her smile! I would recommend this place to all my friends and family!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angelica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad to see everything was great and Shawnti gave you superb service! See you next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Hubby and I took a MI road trip for wine tasting, overnight sleep, and an early morning fishing charter. We only needed a clean place to rest for the night ...
I had made our reservation thru hotels.com, and paid for our stay upon checking in.
The room was ground floor (as requested), smoke free. It was cozy - not what I would call cramped, but only one person could move around at a time. The king bed was comfortable, with ample pillows and covers. Located off the highway, the room was quiet. The fridge/freezer held our food overnight. There was also a microwave and flat-screen tv. The sink/vanity was separate from the toilet and tub/shower.
The a/c worked well, which is when we noticed - ugh - peeling paint on the wall.
Otherwise, this hotel was as expected. Reasonably priced, and convenient location.
When we woke in the morning, we wanted coffee, but none had been made. Disappointing, 'specially at 7am ...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SmokieBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello. So happy to hear your get-a-way from home was great. Sounds like you and your husband had a great time. We would love to have you back next time to enjoy the same experiences. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We have two dogs that we usually only travel with to go camping or to a friend's home. This time we were traveling from St. Louis to northern Michigan and needed a place about half way. This Red Roof got so-so reviews, but when we found out they recently remodeled AND they don't charge extra for pets we decided to give it a try. It was perfect for us. Staff is extremely friendly, room cost low, WiFi is free, hotel literally right off the highway (although the traffic sounds were not very noticeable). They put us in a ground floor room with a grassy area for the dogs right outside the door. We liked it so well we immediately made reservations for our return trip a week later. We got the same room and price. Although there isn't a hair dryer in the room, there was a mini fridge and microwave. No breakfast, but there is a McDonalds right next door. All in all, if you have to travel with pets, we highly recommend Red Roof Inn. All of their hotels have the same pet policy.

Room Tip: If you have pets, ask for a ground floor room near the grassy areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank we2nluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your nice experience. We try to make it as comfortable as we can for our guest and our fury pet visitors. Cant wait to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel itself is fine and the staff here is nice. The internet is very spotty and there is highway noise. I should have brought a loud fan. The real problem is this hotel apparently allows an unlimited number of pets to stay here but still charges you to sleep. So some lady comes here with like 7 small dogs, no joke. She leaves the dogs in a van with a door open both for about an hour after arrival and again at like 6am for another hour or so. I talk to the front desk, at this time thinking it is only one dog in a van. The lady ended up leaving about 5 minutes after. She comes back and I have been trying to get back to sleep. it is 9am and now this crazy lady has set up gates outside and has 7 dogs out there barking, waking up the remainder of the people she did not wake up the first time. If this property seriously thinks this is ok, it is not. The second woman at the front desk just said yes the lady could have tried to keep the dogs quiet, but that there is no pet limit. You can't keep 7 dogs quiet all the time, not yappy little dogs. It is just common sense. You should be allowed 1 or 2 and if you cannot keep then quiet you need to leave. My issue is not with this specific hotel, but the fact that corporate allows this. So now I paid for a room that I did not really get to sleep in. I now have to try to function on now sleep all day so what am I paying for?? I talked to the desk twice and nothing was really done. I will be sending a message to corporate and will be sure not to stay here again. I expect some of my money back. It is a Sunday so I find it hard to believe they couldn't have put this person with pets way off in their own corner somewhere instead of right next to everyone else. Also, don't allow 7 dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessi9260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience the dogs had on your stay. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Overpriced for the quality. The people that work here are extremely nice and attentive which is why they get 3 stars. But this place is very run down and in major need of repair and updating. Toilet was loose, outdoor rails were rusty, falling apart. Could see light through the outside door.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your response. I'm glad you did enjoy the hospitality. We will definitely address the issues you brought to our attention. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to Benton Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Front desk service is outstanding,especially Shirley.Rooms are remodeled,and like new. It's close to every thing you need,dozen of resturants,malls. Very clean ,excellent housekeeping staff.Will always stay here when in the area

Room Tip: ground floor,park in front of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank msw136c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. See you next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.5 km away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
151 reviews
5.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
0.8 km away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing