We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST pizza we’ve ever had!”

Pizzeria Jean Louis
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rougon
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 24, 2019

The owner is wonderful. It is homemade and authentic- made with hard work and love. The restaurant is set on the cliff and your seating is indescribable. He was so friendly and hospitable - I wish we could go back!!! What a special treat to stumble upon this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Joey_and_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_jeanlouispastor1, Gérant at Pizzeria Jean Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019
Google Translation

Bonjour, je vous remercie de votre passage dans cette endroit magnifique a bientôt JL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Operated by an elderly gentleman, this place is like an oasis. We went there quite late (2030 hours) and the gentleman was out of the normal pizza bases due to customers flocking the whole day. He asked us if the Ragi base would suit us. It tasted a bit different but was likeable. We had vegetarian pizza which had generous toppings. Note that the man doesn't speak English so better have the offline version of French language in Google Translate :)

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank beingkinetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We were passing by this place around lunchtime on our bikes and decided to stop for a bite to eat. So glad we did stop as the pizza was delicious and all homemade. We sat outside overlooking the beautiful scenery of the Verdon Gorge, and we even got to see the local vultures flying around above. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank emilyt323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

The host is great, helpful and doing all he can to make your trip a succes.
So are his pizza's, the recipes of his Italian mother are a treat to your taste buds.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Manong-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_jeanlouispastor1, Gérant at Pizzeria Jean Louis, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018
Google Translation

Je vous remercie et j'espère que cette étape vous à été agréable bonne journée JL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Random road side pizza place 5 mins walk from the auberge. We sat in the lay by admiring the evening light upon the Verdon as the owner brought us beer and pizza. Very friendly chap spent ages with a German couple trying to identify star constellations. Pizza was great as was the beer. A must if you are passing through and he's open, and ideal if you're staying at the auberge.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank CHRIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Jean Louis also viewed

Castellane, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Rougon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Castellane, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
La Palud sur Verdon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 

Been to Pizzeria Jean Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.