We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
243 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I chose this hotel because of favorable reviews but I was disappointed. The room first appeared to be acceptable but on closer look, it was not really clean. It had been dusted around the middle of the furniture and the edges of everything had lots of dust. I decided to clean the entire top of the counter in the dressing area and also cleaned behind the ice bucket. The white cloth I used was filthy. I know the blankets do not get washed between every guest but the one on my bed had long black hairs and had so many holes, stains and rips, I went down to the front desk and asked for a clean one. I was brought a clean, fairly nice one by a maid with a filthy smock on.
The bed, pillows and furnishings were nice and the area and location is very good.
The bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned very well.
All things considered I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happyandretired318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    139
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
141
61
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Detroit area is in a state of limbo and as such its hard for a traveler to know where to stay. For this reason, I like many here, rely on member reviews. Usually a less expensive price usually means a lot of compromises or worst yet, a shabby facility, but that's not the case here. While the exterior pictures don't do much to sell this place its actually in a quiet location well setback from major streets and in a nice suburban location (although access can be tricky at first especially in the dark). The hotel was very clean as well as quiet which are my primary criteria. If your into "sliders" a White Castle resturant is right across the parking lot. There are also several other resturants within easy walking diastance. This is a nice facility that you can rely on and feel comfortable in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We rolled in after midnight when our other hotel option didn't work out. The night clerk was great and her attitude was refreshing. She made sure we got into a room and when the first one had a smokey aroma, happily put us into another.

We woke up too late for breakfast and I went to the lobby for coffee, the woman cleaning up was friendly and offered (without prodding) to pull any items she'd already put away back out if I still wanted to eat. Now that's what I call customer service.

The rooms were spacious and clean and we will definitely keep La Quinta on our list of places to stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinymogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Stayed three nights while visiting family for Easter. I was also a bit skeptical because of the price, not sure what I was expecting but was pleasantly surprised. Room was spacious and not the typical long narrow room like most hotels. Very homey feeling with loveseat and recliner, fridge and microwave. Super comfy bed and the staff was awesome. They even remembered our dog's name when they saw her coming through the lobby, breakfast was good, overall we were treated better at this property than at any of the other hotels we stayed at during this extended trip. Would have stayed longer except we promised our daughter the chance to swim and this property does not have a pool. Will definitely stay here again next trip.

Room Tip: The small upgrade to Executive King was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashleysmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This hotel was right across the street from IKEA, so that was a major draw. Plus, it was only $60. We were only going to be there to sleep, so we only needed the basics. My only complaint about the room was the blankets. The pillows and mattresses were nice, but when you peeled back the nicely arranged sheets and comforter, the blankets were very pilled and thin - gross!

The breakfast was also basic - waffles, cereal, bread - nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurathelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We were visiting our son in Ann Arbor for the weekend. Just needed a place to sleep for 2 nights. Ann Arbor rates were a little pricey. It was a football weekend. Found this place...was skeptical at first. The rates were so reasonable...$55 a night...that I thought it might be a dump. i called and talked to the front desk clerk and actually asked why the prices were so low. They were very nice and said they have just started to remodel. New paint and carpet. So we thought we would chance it. It was a good choice. Very nice staff. Clean. Slept very well. Nice continental breakfast. Very easy to get to from Ann Arbor. Got to Ford Rd via Plymouth Rd.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovebeaches77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel during our visit for a family get together. Good location. The check in was smooth. The property is very clean and the staff very welcoming. The room was very clean and smoke free. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was restocking food as it was being consumed. While checking out, they asked if everything went well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarySingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton

Property: La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Address: 41211 Ford Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Canton
Canton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing