We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
261
123
57
36
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
123
57
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake michigan jacuzzi room continental breakfast round lake oatmeal within walking distance watch the boats an older property waffle maker electric fireplace downtown shops sliding door outdoor pool mushroom houses mini fridge castle farms kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 503 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Two of us stayed over Labor Day Weekend. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi worked fine. We were dismayed, however, by the lack of professionalism by the staff. We mentioned that something didn't work in our room and did not get an apology. Instead, we received some curt reply like, "It worked the last time I checked," with "you idiot" added under her breath. Overall, this final summer weekend seemed to be one weekend beyond what staff could handle. Aside from one nice receptionist on the night shift, the other staff acted like guests were a nuisance and the sooner we would leave, the better. Even the cold breakfast was at the level of the cheapest motel in the middle of nowhere. I am realistic about cold breakfasts, but this did not rise to the level expected of a AAA-rated hotel in Charlevoix. Pastries were cheap; Waffle toppings were pathetic: No fresh fruit or nuts for toppings. Dry Cereals consisted of the four basic ones; nothing special or locally made (like granola). They ran out of cold milk and didn't replace it; fruit bowl consisted of three green apples and one bruised red apple (no banana, no oranges, etc.). No granola bars. Grape jam was the only option. Two days they offered old-fashioned oatmeal and hard-boiled eggs, but those were missing on our third day. The hotel has not lived up to its inspiration, as an Earl Young design right next to the lake. Certainly, we wanted to have a Lake Michigan view and be centrally located, so this seemed a great choice. The architecture of the hotel appealed to us also. We didn't mind paying $240 per night for a jacuzzi room. But for this price, I want to feel that I did better than the lowest motel on the interstate. This was supposed to be, in my mind, a destination hotel, but it lacked the extra touches and care that is expected for its location and price. The lake view was misleading. It was only a partial view, looking sideways, around two big trees. The management should not claim full lake view. We asked for information on bike riding, and the desk clerk shook her head as if to say, "it's not my job to be hospitable and help you enjoy your stay with maps and helpful tips." Wifi was on-off (though free). I picked up the signal from the nearby condos better than the hotel's wifi for my building. One last point in summary: most of the staff didn't care to make us happy. At our room's price point, many rooms were available, but we were originally assigned to one on the first floor. The receptionist nicely noticed that rooms on the 3rd floor were available, which should have better view (partial). So she moved us. If not for her, we would have been on the first floor with rooms sitting empty on floor 3, according to some employee's odd idea of how to impress guests. Go figure.

Room Tip: Pay the lowest room rate possible. You will not get as much as you pay for here, so settle for a low rate and go outside for lake views.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 615jackf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and express your concerns. These have been noted with the appropriate departments. We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. We do advertise the Lake Michigan Suites as having a balcony view of the lake, which is accurate. I’m glad that our front desk agent was able to move you to a room with a better view of Lake Michigan. Since your stay we have done upgrades to our rooms including carpet, furniture, drapes, paint, and many more. I hope the next time you are in town you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very overpriced and in desperate need of a remodel. Our room was $240 and had a horrible smell; we had to go buy candles. The kitchen vent cover was falling off and you could see all the crumbs on it. There were cobwebs with bugs stuck to them under the bathroom counter and the patio hasn't seen a cleaning all season. We were told there would be a continental breakfast however hard boiled eggs, cereal and waffles don't make a light breakfast. Fresh fruit and yogurt would have been nice. This was the last room in town and we had to stay however never again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank baughfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and express your concerns. These have been noted with our housekeeping and maintenance departments. We do offer fresh fruit and yogurt on our continental breakfast buffet; we are sorry if those had not been replenished at the time you came to eat from our continental breakfast. We have since made several updates to our rooms, including new carpeting, that you might enjoy if you’re ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Our room seemed very small. The bathroom had a very low tiled ceiling and was also very small. Have stayed in other hotels which were newer for less money. Very limited breakfast selection; just bananas and cereal, waffles, bagels and English muffins. Went elsewhere for breakfast. Was disappointed with our stay and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and express your concerns. These have been noted with the appropriate departments. We do not have a restaurant on our property for full breakfast option, so we do have the complimentary continental breakfast for guests to enjoy. We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Stayed here in July 2017,the hotel is a little old but nice enough ,has all the amenities of hotel, can walk to the pier which i did to watched the sunset on Lake Michigan, very nice
breakfast was fine, location is good, can walk to the downtown easily

Stayed: July 2017
Thank zzvinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are currently in the process of installing new carpet, drapes, etc. We hope to see you here again soon, to enjoy our updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

You are within walking distance of the downtown shops and the bay or the lake. The restaurant has some of the best food we've ever eaten. The shrimp were very tender and had the best light batter . The bleu burger was excellent also.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was bigger than some apartments.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gordy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thank you for your review. However, we are not affiliated with Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed our great location, & hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews