We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Checked in with no reservation at almost midnight. Desk clerk said he gave us a 'deal' because we were checking in so late but $106/night seems to be pretty standard and didn't really seem like a deal to us but it was late so we stayed. The room was clean and the breakfast was good but would expect $80/night max for this experience in this area.

Room Tip: Book ahead
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charlotte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Did a walk up to this hotel while driving back from Iowa. Price was reasonable $106 (4 people) and hotel was spotless. Rooms had a microwave, fridge and everything else you would normally find in a holiday inn. Only disappointment was the double beds instead of the usual queen size. Breakfast was plentiful and the kids loved the automatic pancake machine! Didnt use the pool or fitness area. My wife loved have the Meijer store next door which also sold gas as well. Hotel is also located right off of the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here one night. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. One note of concern. We were in a handicap accessible room and I fell getting out of the bath tub. My granddaughter almost fell as well but was able to catch herself before she hit the tile floor. The false (raised) bottom in the tub makes the step out onto the tile tricky and the tile is very slippery.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerTX_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Called and made reservations without having any idea what this site was like.
We were SO pleased with this hotel. The hotel inside and out was clean, clean, clean.
Our only issue was the wireless connection was too weak...but...the rest was too positive to knock it down.
I would recommend a stay with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowerlady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions. The rooms were clean and average size for a Holiday Inn. The room rate included a very nice continental breakfast in the main lobby area. The pool temperature was warm and we were the only ones in there using it. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My fiancee and I went away for a weekend and we try to go to the HIE once a year. We will go back, but only because they did help on the second night.
When we arrived the key card machine was broken so they gave us 1 "emergency" card key that was their only backup.
We had a jacuzzi room with a king sized bed. The room was non smoking, but you could smell smoke from down the hall, and the weatherstripping was gone from the door so you could see light around 3/4 of it and hear whenever anyone walked by. We reported the problems to the front desk including when some room down the hall was smoking stink weed.
The internet wouldnt stay connected wirelessly and repeated calls to tech support had them repeating the same steps over and over again just to finally reset the gateway/router to get us online for a little bit.
The next morning my fiancee took a shower, I waited about 45 minutes and tried filling the jacuzzi tub so I could soak. (Im disabled and have 2 bad knees and a bad back). The water was lukewarm at best and got cold from there. We reported it to the front desk again and they said wait an hour or so. We took off to do some shopping (love the used book store downtown). Came back 4 hours later and tried again. water was still lukewarm and the front desk said the same thing to wait a while. The internet was still acting up again and I had enough. I ran the hot water only in the tub, filled the ice bucket, and took it up to the front desk. The front desk said they couldnt do anything for us. I called the 800 number and reported all the problems and went to dinner. when we arrived back the front desk called and said we were being upgraded to a suite (this being 8pm on saturday night) and the second night was free. Internet stil acted up (brand new gateway FX series laptop and older dell laptop).
We did sleep well and the water was hot up there. We will definently do it again next year., though hopefully they dump the internet provider and fix their hot water heaters.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoreticalknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have stayed at this HI Express a few times on our way up to Midland from Indiana. It's a nice new hotel. It is right off I-69 near Charlotte, MI just a little bit outside of Lansing. It also has a Meijer store right next door. It is a great place for an overnight stop. They have great beds. The rooms are spacious with a microwave and small fridge in the room.

The breakfast is typical for a HI Express. Fruit, yogurt, eggs, biscuits and gravy, muffins/bagels/toast. It is fine. It's not a full breakfast, but it has enough options for the family.

The pool is a little small, but there is a nice hot tub.

The service was good. They were kind and helped with a little noise problem with some kids upstairs.

Overall, this a good stopover hotel on your way "Up North".

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Charlotte
53 reviews
23.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 26 in Lansing
445 reviews
19.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dimondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Dimondale
23.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
24.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charlotte

Address: 500 Meijer Dr, Charlotte, MI 48813-8377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Eaton County > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $121 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlotte, conveniently located off Interstate 69 at exit 60, next to the Meijer Store and only minutes away from Spartan Motor Chassis, Owens Illinois, Titan Plastics, Meridian Magnesium, and the Eaton County Fairgrounds. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is only fifteen minutes from Aim High and the Summit Sports Center, General Motors Delta Plant and Ryder Truck. Twenty-five miles from Michigan State University, and the State Capital in downtown Lansing. We feature free High Speed Wireless Internet, the Simply Smart free Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Business Center, Swimming Pool, Spa, Fitness Center, and Guest Laundry. Our Meeting Room will seat up to forty people, making us perfect for business meetings and training seminars as well as family parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing