We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of King Copper Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King Copper Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I try to go to Copper Harbor every October for the fall colors. (We go again in 10 days but who's counting?!?!) We have stayed at different motels there and they were fine but we love the King Copper. We always ask for a room on the waterfront. By far, the best view of the Lake. The people that run the place have always been very friendly and have gone above and beyond other motels to make us feel welcome and be responsive to any questions we've had about the area. (Even the dog and cats are friendly!) The rooms are basic and dated..part of the charm...but always quiet, clean and comfortable. There are chairs and a table facing out by the patio doors towards the Lake which make it a perfect place to sit and watch the freighters go by at night or a storm out over the Lake. Perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmp527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 121 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

All the accommodation options in Copper Harbor are pretty basic, unless you're willing to spend in the $150/night range. We paid $85/night for a room at the King Copper Motel and were pretty happy with it. We were given a room in the Annex, which is right by the waterfront, and the rooms have sliding doors that open onto a grassy area with the water beyond. Everything was clean, comfortable, and in good working order. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is no AC, but since the temperature in Copper Harbor almost never gets above 80 degrees, that's not really an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusugiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The King Copper on the bay at Copper Harbor, Mi is a great place to start, end, or base a vacation. The location is convienent to both the Upper Peninsula and to Isle Royale. All the rooms have a great view and the rooms are clean and neat. Also the price is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

The King Copper motel has the best location in Copper Harbor. (See included photo.) In some ways it is indeed "retro cool" as described by another reviewer. I was told it was built in the 1950's and I didn't see any evidence that it has ever been updated, so it's definitely got that retro look. Everything in our motel room was in working order, and the view was lovely, as were the fresh breezes off Lake Superior and the hummingbirds that flocked to the feeder outside. What we did not like: every screen in the room had holes in it, some as big as a quarter, and there are many mosquitos in the Upper Peninsula. There's no air conditioning so on a hot evening you'll need to open the windows and wear insect repellent to bed. If the owners invested in new screens then I'd rate the motel as above average due to its prime location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmethystTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We stayed at or looked at several places in the Copper Harbor area in August. The King Copper and the Bella Vista were our favorites. There is no luxury hotel in the area. At all properties we found, except a B&B on the road to Eagle Harbor, which was lovely but more expensive and out of the way, the rooms were clean but average--dated, small, mismatched furniture, not real secure doors, etc. Given that all the rooms are pretty basic, our favorite properties were those closest to the lake. We loved our stay at the Copper King. We had one of the front units on the end, facing the lake, in the main hotel property (i.e. not the section closer to the lake for $10 more--this is plenty close). Request an end unit if you can. We had two exterior doors, a lovely front deck, a big picture window overlooking the lake, and a totally 60s copper light fixture. The room was fairly large and quite comfortable. Quirky but cool!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PlayaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle, die zum See hinausgehen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roswitha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to King Copper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Copper Motel

Address: 447 East Brockway Avenue, Copper Harbor, MI 49950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Copper Motel is the closest lodging to Lake Superior in the Keweenaw Peninsula with the largest, most breathtaking views of the beautiful water. It has been proudly family owned and operated for over 50 years. Each room includes queen or king beds, beverage station, Dish satellite TV, full bath and endless ice. Refrigerators and roll-away beds are available for an additional charge upon request. All pets are welcome with additional charge and asked not to be left alone in the room. There is a sandy beach that is great for taking a dip in the lake, catching fresh lake fish or setting kayaks/canoes out to sea. There is also free boat docking right outside your room. We are open from April-October annually and can be reached day or night. We are also located next to the Isle Royale Ferry dock and parking for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing