We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place In Detroit !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Place In Detroit !!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is by far the best place to stay when you go to Detroit. We went for a couple of Tigers games and it was perfect. I have stayed here several times and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. The location is great, walking distance to pretty much wherever you need to go. This hotel is completely safe and is surrounded by 24hr security. You are greeted right away by the valet parking guy which I may add is a free service. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We even got a $10.00 complimentary card for the casino. The only strange thing is that we were not allowed to bring a cooler up to our room, we were stopped by security at the elevator when we were told no outside coolers allowed. Oh well, we just used a couple empty garbage cans from room to keep the beer on ice. Lol. The room was great, very clean and had everything you need. Word of advice, do not take anything from stocked mini fridge as the prices are ridiculous. The food at Shotz sports bar on the main floor was awesome and the prices were reasonable. Also, the price of booze inside the casino is very cheap. We ordered take out pizza from a place called Pizzapopalis which is on the same street as hotel and it was the best take out pizza I have ever had. I strongly recommend trying it if you have the late night munchies and crave pizza. Overall, I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone planning on staying in Detroit. You will not be disappointed. I know I'm a lifer at Greektown Casino Hotel every time I go to Detroit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnSoxBruinsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review and flattering compliments. As our valued guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated to ensure we maintain our commitment to superior guest service. We are excited to share your comments with our Greektown Casino Hotel team. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your place to play and stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    355
    102
    44
    37
See reviews for
99
436
59
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington De
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spent two nights at Greektown Casino last week. We were in town for Tigers game. It was a nice short walk to the stadium (and would be for Lions too since they are next to each other) The hotel is really nice, great rooms, we had a great view of Canada. We had a suite and it was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. We went to Brizola for dinner and it was outstanding. The casino host took care of our every need. We went over to Windsor and it took 3 minutes to get to the tunnel. Great location, nice hotel, if you have to stay in downtown, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidleonscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Greektown Casino Hotel. As you mentioned in your review, we are very proud to offer excellent service, a great location and unique dining outlets. We hope that you will return to Greektown on your next visit to Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The sisters and I decided to travel over to the Detroit area (Sterling Heights) to attend the Dave Koz Smooth Jazz Summer Horns concert and add in a little gambling on the side. This hotel was a great spot for our weekend getaway -- location near all attractions (Motown Studio tour was fabulous!) and very comfortable and clean room. Our only disappoitment was the hotel's food venues: very pricey, but not that tasty. The breakfast buffet was a downer: powdered scramble eggs and cold hard french toast to name a few problems with it. After the first day, we gladly ate offsite. The 24-hour Greek diner down the street from the hotel -- Planka -- was a lifesaver!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
It is a pleasure for us to hear of how impressed you were during your stay with us here at Greektown Casino - Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights to go see the Tigers and the Lions. The hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the two fields which are right next to each other. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. There is free Wi-Fi, but the signal is a little weak. We also received a complimentary breakfast at their breakfast buffet. The casino was nice as well. Would definitely recommend staying here and if I ever went back to Detroit I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are so glad to hear about your great experience with us, Missedme. We have many exciting things happening in the near future, so please stay tuned! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went to two Tigers games.Ten minute walk. Excellent service ,rooms etc. Upscale. Many restaurants within 5 minute walk. Hotwire rate of 93$. The area from the hotel to Comerica is very safe,you can walk right by the police Department . Police are everywhere. Downtown Detroit is not that big,you can see the points of interest in a couple hours.I would cetainly go back to this hotel. Casino is just too smokey,like most casinos.Did not even go in.

Room Tip: Just stay in the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments. Greektown Casino will be undergoing some exciting renovations in the near future. Please stay tuned and come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Went to a Tigers game at Comerica Park and chose to spend night at Greektown. Room was very nice and contemporary, but was a bit small for a king deluxe room. Also had to use a hair clip to close gap in room darkening shades. Staff is very service oriented. Will return for football season.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are very pleased to hear about your experience at Greektown Casino-Hotel. Our location is definitely a great reason to come to visit. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I and another couple wanted to catch the Detroit Tigers and spend a night in Detroit near Greektown. We had stayed in the other Casino Hotel, so we wanted to try something new. It was designed just like the other Casino Hotel but that is where the similarities ended. First, it was closer to Comerica Park. It was just a short walk to the game. We got to the hotel too early to check in, so a valet held our luggage until we returned from the game. Also, "Valet Parking" was included in our stay. That was very nice.
Our room was perfect on the 18th floor. The put us with adjoining rooms with the other couple. It wasn't much of a view in our direction but you could see the Detroit River not far off. The large screen HD TV was excellent. It had a crisp picture on all the multitude of stations.
Also, as part of the package, the gave each couple a $20 starter chip for the casino. That was nice. Also, to get us started in the casino, they spun a wheel and everyone won something. Two of us won a free entree in the restaurant (which we got to go to our rooms). My wife won a $30 credit at the tables.
Also in our package, we had a free breakfast buffet. It was excellent. A chef made you a choice of omelets or waffles. Also all the rest of the good things.
I can't finish my review without telling you about the beds and pillows. They were the best I have ever sleep on. The other couple also mentioned how great the pillows where and they were going to buy a set of them.
The Greektown Casino Hotel was a great place to stay in Detroit. We will be coming back.
I can't finish my review

Room Tip: Try to find a value package. I found mine on Expedia.com. Our package included free "Valet Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchalms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your review and flattering compliments. As our valued guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated to ensure we maintain our commitment to superior guest service. We are excited to share your comments with our Greektown Casino Hotel team. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your place to play and stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.5 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
0.8 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.3 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
0.9 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing