We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant, drafty conference center”
Review of Cobo Center

Cobo Center
Ranked #30 of 160 things to do in Detroit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free, ultra high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout Cobo Center. Cobo Center is a Green Venues Michigan facility with recycling stations throughout the building. Registration space available in the concourse. Registration booths are available for rent. The Cobo Center Business Center is available for computer access, copying, faxing and business supplies. ATM and mailing services. Visitor information center. Preferred in-house A/V provider with complete inventory of equipment and professional technicians. Cobo Center is ADA compliant. Cobo Center has a comprehensive Crisis Communications Plan in place. Parking is available at prevailing rates. The Detroit People Mover has a station on the third floor of Cobo Center with numerous stops throughout the downtown district. Superior air lift capacity at award winning Detroit Metro Airport (ranked #1 by many industry analysts). Majority of rooms in downtown convention hotel block less than 5 years old - over 1,850 new, competitively priced rooms on line since 2007. Overall campus on the riverfront includes Joe Louis Arena and Hart Plaza and makes outdoor festival or special event space easily accessible.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

This is a big conference center with lots of room that serves it's purpose. There's really nothing much to say about it, except that you should bring your own lunch and snacks because the quality of food in the dining areas is below the quality of airline food.

Thank CLS3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Thank you for your recent review of Cobo Center. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our retail food offerings. Your comments will be passed along directly to our catering partners who operate the outlets. Not sure if you tried the coffee at Cork & Grind but it is really fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car show"
in 8 reviews
"people mover"
in 23 reviews
"concept cars"
in 5 reviews
"convention centers"
in 5 reviews
"exhibition space"
in 3 reviews
"conference venue"
in 2 reviews
"big conference"
in 2 reviews
"volleyball tournament"
in 2 reviews
"coat check"
in 6 reviews
"underground parking"
in 2 reviews
"this place is huge"
in 3 reviews
"main hall"
in 3 reviews
"great event"
in 2 reviews
"great facility"
in 3 reviews
"dining options"
in 2 reviews
"motor city"
in 4 reviews
"detroit river"
in 5 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2017

The conference rooms were clean and well lit. The bathrooms are clean too. The room temperatures were comfortable. My conference included a continental breakfast each day and a bag lunch each noon. The bagels and bread were so dry they were inedible. I am sure they charged the organizers a good amount too.
Overall a nice place to have a conference.

Thank DrNana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Thanks for your review of Cobo Center. Thanks too for your candid feedback on the continental breakfast. We will be sure to pass along the feedback to our catering partner and are sorry that it was not up to standard. Again, thanks for the feedback, we can't work on improving things unless we are aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Having a major convention that will attract thousands, and need lots of space for seminars and activities? Cobo Center will fill your bill! Several huge ballrooms, lots of meeting rooms, and a few snack joints in case anybody gets peckish. Directions and rooms are well-marked so finding your way is not a chore, even though in at least one instance the room numbering is not intuitive. Several hotels nearby make Cobo Center a winner.

Thank 596freyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Cobo Center and it being a great convention destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

The Cabo Center had underground parking and signs to make it easy to get around. Bathrooms on each floor. The food court is near "D" and had pizza, wings, sandwiches and a great made to order salad. Seating inside and outside grass to picnic on.
Nearby food tricks during the week. Breadth restaurants are within walking distance. Maru Sushi is my favorite! The hallway of Cobo includes a souvenir , a bar/coffee bar, a good to go/ soft drinks to go area that has sandwiches packaged, chips, and coffee/tea and bottled water. No complaints.

Thank 1_Goddess_of_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thanks for your recent review of Cobo Center. We appreciate the high marks you gave us and specific description of the on site concessions. Yes, more than 20 restaurant options surrounding Cobo in a 5 block radius. Sounds like I need to check out Maru! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

I never realized how big Cobo Center was! It reminds you of an airport first off, but the rooms are a great size. It has its own parking ramp for $10 a day. The biggest bummer is I was there for a tech conference and none of the restaurant/little food shops were open.

Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg D, Director of Sales at Cobo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for the feedback on your recent visit to Cobo Center. This is a big building, 2.4 million square feet in total. Sorry we missed the boat on having the concessions open during your event. That will be something we will have to consider next year when the group returns-snap hope I didn't let the cat out of the bag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cobo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing