We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
535
131
18
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
131
18
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews detroit institute of arts the main house shuttle service free shuttle carriage house quiche scott house wayne state bed and breakfast fresh fruit within a mile radius public library historical museum midtown area modern conveniences quiet street breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 701 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We were drawn to this accommodation by the unique set up of it being several historic homes and carriage houses, and the rave reviews and were not disappointed. Free parking behind the homes and in walking distance to the Detroit Institute of Art as well as the restaurant of the year! Room was lovely and comfortable, in fact the best night's sleep we had on our entire 2 week vacation. Also loved the photos in the house from it's glory days and of the original owners. Staff were so helpful with restaurant recommendations and we loved the delicious cookies provided to us upon arrival from little local bakery. Will definitely go back if ever in Detroit again!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutha2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

This was going to be a 4-star review, but it got kicked to 5 stars by the absolutely wonderful shuttle service (and shuttle driver) that the Inn provides at no charge for destinations within about 5 miles of the Inn; this covers a lot of Detroit. We got a Detroit travelogue en route to our destinations, and excellent restaurant suggestions.

Meanwhile, the Inn... Nice big room in lovingly restored vintage houses. The Inn current comprises four such houses plus two coach houses, all next to each other on the same block of Ferry St. Good bed, nice bathroom, satisfactory breakfast buffet, nice folks. Excellent location, a block from the Detroit Institute of Art, Detroit History Museum, and interesting shops and restaurants. Fenced parking in back of the houses, and the free shuttle service.

So why did I start at 4 stars rather than 5? Some little stuff that's just annoying: No handholds in the nice big shower, very little shelf space in the bath for toiletries and medicines, and inconvenient electrical outlets, mostly already all used up. I am past the age where crawling around under the desk to get my phone charger and computer plugged in has any entertainment value. A desktop outlet would be mighty nice. As stated, the breakfast buffet is pretty good, although I didn't understand the presence of chopped onions, peppers, cheese, etc. with no omelets to put them into. Coffee kinda sour. Ok, all nits, but fixing these things could move the Inn from wonderful to Really Wonderful.

Room tip: If you're not on the ground floor, there are a Lot of stairs to contend with.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Starting with the good:
Location can't be beat! Close to everything you would want to do it Detroit.
Inn is in a gorgeous neighborhood.
Beds are SO comfortable!
Free shuttle service is a great perk!
Staff was very nice.

The not so good:
While the outside of the home is spectacular and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, they owners have really done NO justice to that title inside. There is generic wall to wall carpet inside. The light fixtures all are new and modern style. The furnishings in both the common areas and the private rooms are new, cheap, Valu City type stuff and a lot of it is mission style which does not match the aesthetic of the home's history. Our room had a press board tv stand with parts of the faux wood finish ripped off.

This was so very disappointing to me. My husband and I are active historic preservationists and try to stay at historic B and Bs whenever we travel and seeing how the owners incorporate beautiful period and appropriate furnishings and fixtures into their properties is always my favorite part of the guest experience. Sadly this is entirely lacking here.

The breakfast is a self serve continental style and while adequate is the same as you would see at any Best Western so this was also a part of that b and b experience that was missing. There were also no games or recreation items provided in the common area.

It seems as though they are using more of a chain hotel model, not traditional b and b. We would stay again for the location and shuttle service but if you are looking for the classic charming historic b and b feel you won't find it here.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2016

The Inn at Ferry Street is charming, historic hotel in the heart of midtown. I think there are four, if not five, separate houses that have been lovingly restored from the ground up. Each house has its own distinctive feel, but all have a common living room area on the main floor, with individual rooms and suites throughout the rest of the building. There is at least one carriage house, that has a suite with two bedrooms and a sitting room, which are all above a small conference or meeting room.

My room was on the top floor of the main house. The room was decorated in cream colors, and had a king bed (very comfortable), and a writing desk that overlooked the street. The room has a small coffee or tea pot, with a couple of cookies for late night snacking. The room was very clean, and the bathroom was also of perfect size and very clean. There is free wi-fi, and my friend told me that they have a business room for printing documents if needed.

In the morning you can wander over to the main house to partake of the breakfast buffet. Assorted juices, coffee, tea, hot coco are available to start off your day. There are scrabbled eggs or quiche, with fresh fruit, waffles, assorted yogurts and baked goods. Everything is lovingly prepared and beautifully presented, helping the weary traveler to feel at home, while away from home. The staff is friendly and professional. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a five mile radius of the hotel.

Weather on business, or on vacation, you will find comfort and beauty awaiting you at the Inn On Ferry Street.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PoppyGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

The Inn on Ferry Street delivers on its promise, they treat their guests like family, just as they did in times gone by. When you are there, you feel like you have stepped back into the past where innkeepers welcomed you into their homes and took care of all of your needs. They carried my bags, walked me to my room, and made sure I had what I needed. The room was huge and beautifully decorated, and included a sitting area with a Victorian chaise, high ceilings, a very tall plush bed, a fireplace and a private bath. They had breakfast hot and ready at 5:50 a.m., buffet style, and it was delicious. All of this for less than the cost of a basic corporate hotel room. What a wonderful success story!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews