We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$153
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
US$182
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$286
US$271
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$210
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$241
US$218
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn on Ferry Street(Detroit)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
127
60
17
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
60
17
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgated parking lotconcrete floorcool vibeboutique hotelindustrial feelcoffee barnewly renovated hotelmichigan aveuber rideroom was cleancool hotelclose to downtownholiday inngreat showerbars and restaurantsmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 226 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Good location for walkers, bikers, etc. Very quiet, clean, fun and funky bars with good food close and loving to see the "rebirth" of the D! We walked to Tiger's game, MGM and all in between.
Pet friendly too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Hello Alisa,
It sounds like Detroit has captured your heart; we know exactly how you feel! From MGM to Comerica Park, there is so much to explore-- and staying close to it all is the perfect way to do it. We hope we'll be your go-to hotel anytime you catch a game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Driving into the hotel, we wondered if we were in the weeds--too far to walk to anything--but in fact, Trumbull & Porter is in a great location. Mudgie's & The Farmer's Hand are among the great spots for eating and food shopping even closer than the restaurants on Michigan Av. Of course, there's also the hotel restaurant and bar, Red Dunn. The menu at Red Dunn is ambitious and delicious. We appreciated the sous chef coming out to ask us about our meals, remembering what we ordered the next day, and to remind of us vegetarian options. (Any animal protein on the menu can be substituted with roasted cauliflower.) We had great chats with the waitstaff at the restaurant and bar, and we were glad to see locals sitting alongside us tourists. Our room was clean and we had everything we needed--everything is new, of course. We also appreciated the lemon and orange ice water by the downstairs lobby.
One suggestion for the menu and/or the coffee bar: The menu is delicious, but very rich. Perhaps we missed it, but we didn't see any simple fresh fruit, toast, light snacks or breakfast items. A few simpler items would have been appreciated.
Also, it might be helpful to make clear that parking in the gated lot is $10 per day, but in the front parking lot is free. It wasn't clear to us at first if paid parking was a requirement or an option.
Still, I'll give the hotel 5 stars--it was clear from the actions of the staff that they want to make it succeed and we hope they do.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a small outdoor seating space behind their rooms. Upstairs is probably quieter though.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooksyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hello BrooksyNJ,
Nothing brings locals and tourists together like the common ground of delicious food. We love knowing that the Red Dunn Kitchen, and its culinary delights, won its way to your heart. There are many born-in-Detroit businesses to explore in in Corktown, and it sounds like you found some of our favorites. At Trumbull and Porter, our neighborhood & our city are the center of who we are. Thank you for the 5-bright stars. We're listening to your feedback about making the parking options clear so that next time you visit, every part of your stay will be perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

This was my first time staying in the hotel, and I really enjoyed the experience. Right from the start, the hotel had a great, cool vibe with a mural on the outer wall and a retro-sheik feel to the place. The lobby was equally cool with very modern feel but some nods to the vintage 60's motor lodge decor. Staff was very polite and check-in was a breeze. The room was neat, modern, and sleek but still had a nice bed and large flat screen. All I wanted, it had! Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Hello Trey,
We strive to have everything our guests could want or need; thanks for the 5-star review! The original mural created by celebrated Corktown artist Don Kilpatrick is one way we love setting the scene for a truly Detroit experience; we're glad you liked it too! While we love telling future guests about our redesigned hotel-- it means much more coming from guests like you, and we appreciate your many kind words. We hope your recommendation means we will have the chance to welcome you back too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

My wife and I stayed here for one night and would definitely stay again. We loved the design and aesthetic of the space. Super cool vibe, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The room was clean and new, and we loved the finished concrete floors - so much easier to keep clean than carpet. The bathroom was spacious and shower was luxurious and clean. We also appreciated how it was dog friendly. Only negative was the walls were paper thin - we could hear the people next door to us peeing!!!! Aside from that, we would recommend this hotel (just bring a pair of earplugs)!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam123874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Hello Sam,
"Amazingly comfortable" beds are at the top of our list when it comes to vacation favorites which is why we love to offer our guests the best. Thank you for your many kind words about our newly-furnished rooms, luxurious showers, and hotel design. We know our guests are the true "gem" of our hotel, and we're thrilled you and your wife chose our hotel for your city getaway. We hope you'll come back soon and welcome you to bring your "furry" family members the next time you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

This was a nice hotel in Detroit. It's been newly refurbished from whatever it was previously. The staff was super friendly and helped us get situated. There is plenty of parking in a gated lot. The rooms have a rustic feel but are clean and everything looks new . There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and a stage out back for live music. The hotel is close to downtown and the interstate and other bars and restaurant. I found my stay to be comfortable and convenient and there was a coffee shop in the lobby .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Hello Nick,
Thanks for taking the time to let us know you had a 5-star visit! Greeting fellow Detroit-lovers is always a favorite, and we're happy to hear you felt truly welcomed during your stay. We strive to offer guests accommodations that parallel a wonderful Detroit visit and appreciate knowing that our newly-appointed rooms and outdoor courtyard provided the perfect backdrop for your getaway. There's nothing we'd love more than to welcome you back, and we certainly hope we'll have the chance to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews