We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Viking Motel(Detroit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
108
56
15
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
56
15
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgated parkingcool vibeconcrete floortrendy hotelindustrial feelindustrial styleshower designlate night checkbrewing companysuper hipclothes racknewly renovated hotelshort drive to downtownmichigan averoom was cleangated lot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Staff was extremely accommodating. Had booked two rooms that only had a single king bed per room (we were traveling with four folks). John at the front desk did some shuffling and got us each our own room. Very kind.

The outdoor fire pit/patio/whatever you want to call it area is beautiful. Seriously, that alone is worth booking the hotel.

Gated parking area, so our vehicle was completely safe.

In all, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifthonthefloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello fifthonthefloor,
We strive to offer our guests many reasons to book our hotel, and we love knowing our outdoor courtyard was reason enough for you! Nothing makes us happier than hearing from a happy guest, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We're passing your compliment on to John for his help in making sure you and your traveling companions had all the space you needed, and we're sure it will make his day. It will make all of our days to have you stay again, and we hope your 5 stars means you will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Good location for walkers, bikers, etc. Very quiet, clean, fun and funky bars with good food close and loving to see the "rebirth" of the D! We walked to Tiger's game, MGM and all in between.
Pet friendly too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hello Alisa,
It sounds like Detroit has captured your heart; we know exactly how you feel! From MGM to Comerica Park, there is so much to explore-- and staying close to it all is the perfect way to do it. We hope we'll be your go-to hotel anytime you catch a game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Driving into the hotel, we wondered if we were in the weeds--too far to walk to anything--but in fact, Trumbull & Porter is in a great location. Mudgie's & The Farmer's Hand are among the great spots for eating and food shopping even closer than the restaurants on Michigan Av. Of course, there's also the hotel restaurant and bar, Red Dunn. The menu at Red Dunn is ambitious and delicious. We appreciated the sous chef coming out to ask us about our meals, remembering what we ordered the next day, and to remind of us vegetarian options. (Any animal protein on the menu can be substituted with roasted cauliflower.) We had great chats with the waitstaff at the restaurant and bar, and we were glad to see locals sitting alongside us tourists. Our room was clean and we had everything we needed--everything is new, of course. We also appreciated the lemon and orange ice water by the downstairs lobby.
One suggestion for the menu and/or the coffee bar: The menu is delicious, but very rich. Perhaps we missed it, but we didn't see any simple fresh fruit, toast, light snacks or breakfast items. A few simpler items would have been appreciated.
Also, it might be helpful to make clear that parking in the gated lot is $10 per day, but in the front parking lot is free. It wasn't clear to us at first if paid parking was a requirement or an option.
Still, I'll give the hotel 5 stars--it was clear from the actions of the staff that they want to make it succeed and we hope they do.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a small outdoor seating space behind their rooms. Upstairs is probably quieter though.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooksyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello BrooksyNJ,
Nothing brings locals and tourists together like the common ground of delicious food. We love knowing that the Red Dunn Kitchen, and its culinary delights, won its way to your heart. There are many born-in-Detroit businesses to explore in in Corktown, and it sounds like you found some of our favorites. At Trumbull and Porter, our neighborhood & our city are the center of who we are. Thank you for the 5-bright stars. We're listening to your feedback about making the parking options clear so that next time you visit, every part of your stay will be perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This was my first time staying in the hotel, and I really enjoyed the experience. Right from the start, the hotel had a great, cool vibe with a mural on the outer wall and a retro-sheik feel to the place. The lobby was equally cool with very modern feel but some nods to the vintage 60's motor lodge decor. Staff was very polite and check-in was a breeze. The room was neat, modern, and sleek but still had a nice bed and large flat screen. All I wanted, it had! Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hello Trey,
We strive to have everything our guests could want or need; thanks for the 5-star review! The original mural created by celebrated Corktown artist Don Kilpatrick is one way we love setting the scene for a truly Detroit experience; we're glad you liked it too! While we love telling future guests about our redesigned hotel-- it means much more coming from guests like you, and we appreciate your many kind words. We hope your recommendation means we will have the chance to welcome you back too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My wife and I stayed here for one night and would definitely stay again. We loved the design and aesthetic of the space. Super cool vibe, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The room was clean and new, and we loved the finished concrete floors - so much easier to keep clean than carpet. The bathroom was spacious and shower was luxurious and clean. We also appreciated how it was dog friendly. Only negative was the walls were paper thin - we could hear the people next door to us peeing!!!! Aside from that, we would recommend this hotel (just bring a pair of earplugs)!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam123874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hello Sam,
"Amazingly comfortable" beds are at the top of our list when it comes to vacation favorites which is why we love to offer our guests the best. Thank you for your many kind words about our newly-furnished rooms, luxurious showers, and hotel design. We know our guests are the true "gem" of our hotel, and we're thrilled you and your wife chose our hotel for your city getaway. We hope you'll come back soon and welcome you to bring your "furry" family members the next time you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews