We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel, Nice Rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is an interesting hotel with a lot of history. It used to be Holiday Inn in the past. It was tastefully restored. My room had a fridge. The rooms don't have carpet. They have concrete floors with a rug on the floor. Nice bathroom. Comfortable bed.

They have very nice restaurant. I had some leftover food from the previous night. They warmed it up for me.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liaquat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hello Liaquat,
There are certain things that make a stay truly 5-star worthy, and we think plush beds, a dedicated team, and delicious dining at the Red Dunn Kitchen are some of them. We love knowing your stay was one you loved and already look forward to welcoming you back to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights last week while in Michigan for work. This is a new hotel, open 2 months, converted from an old motor inn to modern "hipness" in the style of Ace Hotels. The common rooms are welcoming and well-designed, the rooms are "spartan-chic" with concrete floors and area rugs (so much better than carpet), and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

There are 4 floors in an L-shape, surrounding a courtyard that has outdoor seating for the clientele of Red Dunn (the onsite restaurant and bar), as well as a small bandstand where they host some music. I arrived last Monday evening and was told Martha Reeves was going to sing a few songs and say hi to people out back - that was so cool!

My room was comfortable, on the 4th floor but looking out over the parking lot. The shower design is unique, with a glass partition that doesn't move, so that they cut out an opening to reach through and adjust the faucets (see my pic). It worked well enough, just seems a little weird. Other than that, the place was great. Free parking onsite is a big plus for downtown too.

My only real criticism is that they need to get a few luggage dollies for those carrying more than 2 bags to/from the rooms. Seeing as I was on the 4th floor at the back, I needed two trips to bring my luggage and other boxes/bags down to my car upon checkout.

Room Tip: There is night-time restaurant clientele in the central courtyard, so if you sleep early and light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Your kind words have brightened our day, Mark. I'm sure future guests will appreciate knowing about your experience and getting a true picture of our hotel. We can't help but agree that having singers, like Martha Reeves, perform in our courtyard is a true highlight of Trumbull and Porter. Staying connected with our city is at the forefront of everything we do. We're taking your feedback about the luggage carts to our team and think it's an excellent idea. If work (or leisure!) brings you back to Detroit, we'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Having concrete floors and platform bed in room was amazing and refreshing. Restaurant and drink menu was very creative and tasty. Highly recommend every aspect of this hotel. Location was great and outdoor concert area was a bonus for sure.

Room Tip: get first floor for nice patio option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello Lance,
We couldn't be happier knowing every part of your stay was memorable in all the best ways; thanks for the 5-bright stars! When redesigning Trumbull and Porter Hotel, we set out on capturing the spirit of Detroit. Seeing our community gathered around outdoor performances has been a highlight for us too. We hope another trip to Detroit is on the horizon because we'd love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Staff was extremely accommodating. Had booked two rooms that only had a single king bed per room (we were traveling with four folks). John at the front desk did some shuffling and got us each our own room. Very kind.

The outdoor fire pit/patio/whatever you want to call it area is beautiful. Seriously, that alone is worth booking the hotel.

Gated parking area, so our vehicle was completely safe.

In all, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifthonthefloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hello fifthonthefloor,
We strive to offer our guests many reasons to book our hotel, and we love knowing our outdoor courtyard was reason enough for you! Nothing makes us happier than hearing from a happy guest, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We're passing your compliment on to John for his help in making sure you and your traveling companions had all the space you needed, and we're sure it will make his day. It will make all of our days to have you stay again, and we hope your 5 stars means you will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Good location for walkers, bikers, etc. Very quiet, clean, fun and funky bars with good food close and loving to see the "rebirth" of the D! We walked to Tiger's game, MGM and all in between.
Pet friendly too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hello Alisa,
It sounds like Detroit has captured your heart; we know exactly how you feel! From MGM to Comerica Park, there is so much to explore-- and staying close to it all is the perfect way to do it. We hope we'll be your go-to hotel anytime you catch a game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Driving into the hotel, we wondered if we were in the weeds--too far to walk to anything--but in fact, Trumbull & Porter is in a great location. Mudgie's & The Farmer's Hand are among the great spots for eating and food shopping even closer than the restaurants on Michigan Av. Of course, there's also the hotel restaurant and bar, Red Dunn. The menu at Red Dunn is ambitious and delicious. We appreciated the sous chef coming out to ask us about our meals, remembering what we ordered the next day, and to remind of us vegetarian options. (Any animal protein on the menu can be substituted with roasted cauliflower.) We had great chats with the waitstaff at the restaurant and bar, and we were glad to see locals sitting alongside us tourists. Our room was clean and we had everything we needed--everything is new, of course. We also appreciated the lemon and orange ice water by the downstairs lobby.
One suggestion for the menu and/or the coffee bar: The menu is delicious, but very rich. Perhaps we missed it, but we didn't see any simple fresh fruit, toast, light snacks or breakfast items. A few simpler items would have been appreciated.
Also, it might be helpful to make clear that parking in the gated lot is $10 per day, but in the front parking lot is free. It wasn't clear to us at first if paid parking was a requirement or an option.
Still, I'll give the hotel 5 stars--it was clear from the actions of the staff that they want to make it succeed and we hope they do.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a small outdoor seating space behind their rooms. Upstairs is probably quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooksyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello BrooksyNJ,
Nothing brings locals and tourists together like the common ground of delicious food. We love knowing that the Red Dunn Kitchen, and its culinary delights, won its way to your heart. There are many born-in-Detroit businesses to explore in in Corktown, and it sounds like you found some of our favorites. At Trumbull and Porter, our neighborhood & our city are the center of who we are. Thank you for the 5-bright stars. We're listening to your feedback about making the parking options clear so that next time you visit, every part of your stay will be perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This was my first time staying in the hotel, and I really enjoyed the experience. Right from the start, the hotel had a great, cool vibe with a mural on the outer wall and a retro-sheik feel to the place. The lobby was equally cool with very modern feel but some nods to the vintage 60's motor lodge decor. Staff was very polite and check-in was a breeze. The room was neat, modern, and sleek but still had a nice bed and large flat screen. All I wanted, it had! Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hello Trey,
We strive to have everything our guests could want or need; thanks for the 5-star review! The original mural created by celebrated Corktown artist Don Kilpatrick is one way we love setting the scene for a truly Detroit experience; we're glad you liked it too! While we love telling future guests about our redesigned hotel-- it means much more coming from guests like you, and we appreciate your many kind words. We hope your recommendation means we will have the chance to welcome you back too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
2.2 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
730 reviews
1.4 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
2 km away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 34 in Detroit
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit

Address: 1331 Trumbull St, Detroit, MI 48216-1376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $146 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 144-room Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit has undergone a major renovation touching all aspects of the hotel including guest rooms, drinks and dining, fitness center and outdoor space. Guests enjoy supremely comfortable designer rooms with custom furniture built by Michigan artisans. The hotel features a spacious fitness center with an incredible city view, sundry shop and lobby bar. You won't find anything "run-of-the-mill" here. Trumbull and Porter is ideally located 30 minutes from Detroit Metropolitan Airport and less than a mile from the Michigan Central Depot. Nearby is Ford Field, Comerica Park, Greektown, Cobo Center, the Henry Ford Museum and Windsor, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corktown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing