We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
176
69
21
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
69
21
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit gated parking lot concrete floor boutique hotel cool vibe industrial feel coffee bar clothes rack newly renovated hotel robes and slippers holiday inn michigan ave uber ride cool hotel close to downtown the bed was super comfortable great shower
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 293 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We were booked in with a group of friends on the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend because we were going to a Detroit Lions football game.
I personally loved the industrial decor - concrete floors & walls, funky throw rugs & cool art prints. I like minimalist...and frankly, most hotel carpets gross me out.
We had a very minor issue & were upgraded immediately (even though it was not necessary)... the customer service was excellent.
Husband ordered room service one morning - reasonably priced & fast. We were going to eat in the restaurant but it had a cafeteria vibe & we weren't feeling it.
The grounds were VERY cool... they showed outdoor movies, firepit with chairs, ladder golf & cornhole games... sadly for us it rained ALL weekend so we did not get a chance to use these options, however I loved that the hotel has this available.
Trendy, centrally located downtown. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hello LL44,
Thank you for the excellent review! We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed our decor and grounds. It is too bad to hear that it rained all weekend! You will have to visit sometime on a sunny weekend and enjoy our fun courtyard games and activities. It is great to know that you were given excellent customer service and liked our downtown location. We hope have you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Our experience at Trumbull and Porter was truly exceptional on our wedding weekend! The staff met every request in booking our guests and accommodated us so graciously. The service was exceptional from the time we arrived until the morning we left. Every employee we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful! The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfy, beautiful courtyard for outdoor parties, great fitness room and great location! We were more than pleased and highly recommend Trumbull and Porter.

Room tip: The patio rooms have a door to the courtyard!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hello Diane,
Wow, your incredible review has really made our day! Thank you so much. It is fantastic to see that you loved the rooms, courtyard, fitness room, and that our staff treated you so well during your time with us. We are so glad you had an exceptional experience here. Please visit us again the next time you are around and need a great place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Great boutique style hotel in Corktown. I am not sure you can beat the combo of location, price and staff. Located in Corktown close to lots of greats restaurants and bars as well as an easy drive to downtown and midtown. Plenty of parking as well. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hello Brian,
Thank you! Your amazing review has made our day. It means a lot to know you found the location, price, and staff to be the best - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the cool things to do and see in Corktown. We would love to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Stayed for three nights and found this hotel very comfortable, in a great location (easy to access by car) and close to a variety of food options.

The hotel is a mid-century motel-like place. Recently renovated with comfortable beds and somewhat spartan "trendy" room decor. No comfortable chairs in the room (though there was a desk chair) but the bed was very good and time in the room was spent reclining on the bed.

Staff very friendly. Hordes of cleaning folks were unleashed into the rooms every morning - using elevators so guests had to use stairs or wait. Staff was friendly...but they appear to need to use the elevators to complete their tasks. So...try to hit your morning exit right and avoid the rush.

Breakfast in the restaurant was good - though each morning we found it odd that they had run out of a number of items we ordered - no yogurt either morning. Ran out of pancakes another. (we experienced the same situation at dinner).

Hotel is centrally located and the easy access secure parking ($10) made it handy.

We found that the neighborhood is a little intimidating and we preferred to drive to other restaurants rather than walk. Though younger folks or those in groups would probably have no problem. It's sort of a non-residential area, space between buildings and at night....we chose to drive. There are a lot of interesting places to eat within an 8 block radius. And (I think) it would be possible to walk downtown...though we drove as we had never been to Detroit and wanted to see more than what would have been easily walkable. (Aside from the hotel - we had dinner at The Lady of the House and Slows Barbecue. Both really good.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marciab134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hello marciab134,
Thank you for the excellent review! We really appreciate getting all your feedback and hearing about your stay with us. We are so glad you thought our beds were very comfortable and that our staff treated you well. We are sorry that we were out of some items in the restaurant on multiple occasions and that you felt a little uneasy about walking around at night. Our location is great for being close to downtown and Corktown is a safe neighborhood for the city, but we are happy to know you had an easy time getting around by car. We hope to see you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

It has an old school hostel feel to it. To me that was good. Great bar selection, descent food and location is nearby downtown Michigan Ave. About 1 mile walk or $7 taxi ride. Rooms were comfortable, clean and a very nice size. I had no complaints. Customer service was good and front staff was extremely helpful in regards to recommendations and giving directions...

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sultan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hello Sultan,
We are glad that you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the bar! It is great to know we were able to give you the best recommendations and directions as well. Thanks for the amazing review! Come back to us next time you are looking for a cool and relaxing stay in Detroit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews