We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 November 2011

A recent stay at this hotel proved to be a very good choice. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel area is secured from the casino area and a set of large glass doors separates a posh hotel entry from the main building. Free coffee and cozy ambiance are in the main entry of the hotel including a modern wall of fire to warm the entire area. We enjoyed a corner suite that included a tv in the bathroom, large jacuzzi tub, two bathrooms and a wet bar area. Room service was excellent and the elevators are very fast. We enjoyed being able to walk to the Fox Theater to see Sting in concert. I would definitely stay here again. Word of warning, the well stocked mini fridge is automated and if you even touch or move something you can get charged for it. Only minor downsides such as the room was a little dusty in some areas, some of the lighting flickered when the dimmer was used, and the door seemed to stick from being freshly painted. The bed was comfortable with tons of pillows, the soap was extra creamy, and the design of the room overall was beautiful. We enjoyed our little mini getaway and had fun at the casino and enjoyed a fantastic meal at Wolfgang Puck's restaurant. It might be good to request a city view room if you want to see more of the downtown skyline, but our view of the Ambassador Bridge was beautiful too.

Room Tip: It might be good to request a city view room if you want to see more of the downtown skyline, but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Great hotel. OK value. rooms were great and luxurious. Only negative is that I was there with our son and he couldn't go to some of the restaraunts as he isn't 18.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Who would have thought that not only did MGM spend $700 million for a 400 room resort hotel in the city known more for coney's and Greek salads, but that it would create a property that rivals any Vegas one including Bellagio and Wynn?

You drive up to the hotel valet entrance and you are instantly whisked away to the front desk. The well trained and efficient staff checks you in, asks what newspaper you want and you are ready for relaxation.

You walk through private doors to the hotel lobby featuring a fireplace wall, comfy seating and 24hr deluxe coffee service. Rooms are well appointed, we love the corner suite with two rooms. All feature rain showers, incredible beds, bottled water, and nice amenities.

The crown jewel however is the Immerse Spa. Think Canyon Ranch and you get the picture. Situated on two levels, service is impeccable. The check in level features mani/pedi room, full gym, and relaxation area with fresh fruit and beverages.

The lower level is pure paradise. Perhaps the best hotel indoor pool with cabanas and comfy lounge chairs. Full locker rooms with steam, spa and sauna, deluxe toiletries. Treatment rooms feature al the services you want but massage is king and they have the best therapists. It's easy to spend hours here alone.

Food is special as well. Again, who would think that a Detroit hotel would feature both a Wolfgang and not one but two Michael Mina restaurants? It's true. Wolfgang has all the traditional offerings and service is top rated. Bourbon Steak offers a full menu and burger bar menu at the bar. If that's not enough, Ignite Sushi is fresh and amazing. There is also a good buffet and food court (great turkey burgers).

Yes, there is a casino with 4000 slot machines, table games and a well run poker room. However you can enjoy yourself immensely without the casino but I will admit it's great to have.

Only downside? Leaving. But the friendly valet staff will wish you a good day and welcome you back soon. Good thing.

Room Tip: Ask for Canada view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

MGM is by far the nicest, most full service Casino in Detroit. It is the only casino built from the ground up; the others are upgrade of their "temporary" facilities. MGM has a nightclub. multiple bars and upscale dining. The rooms are fully appointed and have great views. Table limits run high in the casino, and there is no full pay video poker.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spanky132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

stayed here for the Detroit Tigers opening day. The rooms were nice the hotel is great. lots of good places to eat. Nice TV in the room. If your coming to Detroit. You really need to stay at this hotel. Its worth the money. If you like poker they have a nice poker room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Easy to get to being right off I-75 and superb valet service. Check-in was quick and easy. The staff is friendly and courteous. The room is gorgeous. We ate at the Palette(buffet) twice and really enjoyed everything we tried... and they had lots to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoRooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very nice place and the staff is really great. The "living room" is really cool too. I would recommend this hotel and I say almost perfect because when I checked in there was no soap or shampoo, I called down and it was delivered immediately. The next night when I returned to my room housekeeping had done a great job of making the room, folding my clothes and really cleaning the room, but again no soap or shampoo. I called down again and this time the bellman brought me more that lasted for my stay. All in all the hotel has a great design and the rooms are well appointed, beds are nice and comfortable. The hotel is separated from the casino with an expansive lobby but you have to venture through a smoke ridden ocean of slot machines to get to any of the food options. I ate at the Breeze which is a food court type of thing (24 hour option) and the food was ok, the next night I ate at Pallete which is a buffet featuring different stations (asian, seafood, homestyle, italian, etc.) and again the food was ok. There was also a Wolfgang Puck and a Steakhouse on the property but I did not have the chance to try them.
The rooms are on the pricey side but the staff delivers great service and the valet parking is free which is a big plus, but they charge if you have any packages delivered and they charge for incidentals such as contact lens case, toothpaste, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.5 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
1 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
727 reviews
0.8 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.6 km away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: $263 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing