We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great launching point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great launching point”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Westin DTW is a little bit of luxury that serves as the perfect jumping off point or return point to any vacation. It is extremely convenient, very relaxed, and the staff is friendly and there to make sure you are pleased. Our only issue was that the walls/door seemed thin so any and all hall/neighbor activity was heard. This made it a little harder than usual to make our early flight due to interupted sleep, but everything else was top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again. Our guests typically enjoy a quite night's sleep and I'm sorry to hear of the noise issues that you encountered. We'll certainly address that situation and we promise to provide a quite room next time.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    393
    99
    40
    19
See reviews for
262
321
132
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our Delta flight home was canceled and we had to stay overnight in Detroit (a recurring theme for Delta...but that's another story). We decided to stay in the Westin because it's the only hotel on the airport premises. We were willing to pay extra for the reported conveniences: access to the hotel directly from concourse A and a private security screening at the hotel so you can re-access the concourse without waiting in line at the main terminal. This information was misleading, however. The entrance to the hotel from Concourse A closes early, so if your flight is cancelled after 11 p.m., for example, as ours was, you must enter the hotel from the Delta terminal. The private security screening doesn't open until 7 a.m. so if you have an early morning flight, as we did, you must got through main security just like everyone else. The lobby of the hotel is certainly impressive, but room was average--not as luxurious as the other Westin hotels we've stayed at. Not sure the room was worth the $249.00 given the circumstances....but it was better than the Best Western which Delta offered at a reduced rate which had (according to passenger accounts) a surly and unhelpful desk clerk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basketballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Although the majority of our guests enjoy the direct access to the Delta terminal, we still have extremely convenient access to the general airport via our main Valet entrance. I hope you still had a chance to enjoy our wonderful property while you were here and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My son and I stayed here on the way home from visiting University of Michigan. It was just a place to stay overnight to catch an early morning flight home, but the hotel is wonderful! Such a convenient location, within the airport. We did not fly out of the main terminal and had to ride the hotel shuttle to terminal D, but we caught the shuttle right in front of the hotel and it took us right to terminal D - very easy and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I wish you and your son the best of luck with the University of Michigan and we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Safe Travels.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Even though we had no air travel scheduled, we chose Westin DTW because of the ease of access to major expressways AND the wonderful staff! Holiday weekends 'on the road' usually mean inconvenience of restaurants and amenities being 'closed', but the staff at Westin made us feel at home and relaxed as we over the recent holiday.

Room Tip: Either atrium or exterior rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm thrilled to hear that you felt at home and relaxed while you were here. That was certainly our goal and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stay at this westin several times a year as an airline crew member and always find it quiet comfortable and extremely convenient. I especially like the us government taxpayer funded TSA security checkpoint for westin guests only. It is rarely used and very quick compared to standing in line with ordinary citizens. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfmUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm so pleased that you enjoy your time with us. We're always happy to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This will be our 4th year staying at this hotel as we attend a music festival every year. We always enjoy our stay. The rooms are always very clean and well stocked with amenities. Restaurant and bar are both very good. The staff here is wonderful.
We will be back in two weeks and hoping this year will be the year that the club level is open. Im an american express platinum member and do enjoy the club features but everytime we come to this hotel we are always told its not open.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakiMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest. As you mentioned, our rooms are beautiful and our staff is truly amazing. Our club lounge does have limited hours on the weekends, but we are considering a few more options in the future. We'll certainly keep you posted.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Westin Detroit Metro Airport on a long layover in Detroit from a Spring Break 2012 flight from Mexico. The hotel is in the MaCnamara (main) terminal, and is easily accessible - no waiting for a shuttle. When departing the hotel in the morning, the Westin has a dedicated security checkpoint when departing the hotel, which makes for quick and easy access to the terminal. Check in was fast, and every hotel associate we encountered was courteous, professional, and efficient.

When making the reservation at the hotel, I asked for extra pillows and a rollaway bed. Unfortunately, as a frequent traveler, I find that special requests are seldom fulfilled. When we arrived at our room, the extra pillows and roll-a-way bed were in the room for this tired and ready to "crash" family. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms were quiet, and the cleanliness was impeccable.

I have stayed at the Weston Detroit Metro Airport Hotel several times. It is an attractive, clean, and customer focused hotel. The convenience of the hotel located directly in the terminal far outweighs any small savings we have observed at other area hotels. This will always be our "go to" lodging whenever needed for flights at DTW.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We certainly pride ourselves on our products, but our associates really make the greatest impact. We're glad you always enjoy your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
28.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
28.8 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
29.0 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
27.9 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
639 reviews
18.0 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing