We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and small rooms in a great location”
Review of Blue Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked our room during the week so that we would avoid the tourist crowd. The place was empty. We were greeted by a friendly chap who checked us in, explained the perks of the place, gave us breakfast chits at a nearby restaurant, and wished us a good stay. That we had. We were located in an area that was close to Oval Beach, the large public beach, as well as shops, restaurants and parks. If you are in the area, make sure that you stay at the Blue Star Motel and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard room and enjoy a leisurely drink outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Magnificently updated but still charming. Great location in Douglas next door to Saugatuck. Very clean. Very friendly. Easy access to great shopping and dining in both Douglas and Saugatuck. In Douglas go to Everyday People for dinner. In Saugatuck try Phils or Marros. Beach access is very close as well.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank huckpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, my friend had the room next door to mine. The rooms were small, but spotless and very quiet. We created our own happy hour on the back patio. Super friendly staff. The motel was in a great location - an easy walk to Douglas.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Well what more can I say another outstanding time is Douglas/Saugatuck. The Blue Star Motel out did them self again. Rusty Ross and Billy Lake and your entire Staff thank you. How many places have you stayed at and when you walk in the room there is a vase full of flowers with a card Happy Birthday, you again have made my stay unbelievable, great room, outstanding staff. This is why I only stay at your motel. Again thank you for your kindness, i understand why you guy are booked all the time amazing service, staff your customers service out of this world. Rusty and Billy great managers. You must be becouse your staff reflect you both , you can tell they love there job and the two they work for. Keep up the great job and yes you will be seeing me soon but at your other GREAT motel the Starlite.

Thanks again,

Doug Utter

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Doug U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Blue Star rates five stars for friendliness. I have no complaints whatsoever about our hosts or their responses to our needs during our stay. As far as the accommodations: Well, there's only so much you can do when renovating a 50's motel. I'm speaking from the perspective of a 60-year-old whose husband has some health issues. The room was small and cramped. The desk was wobbly; the desk chair was uncomfortable and there were no other chairs in the room. The doors for the fridge and closet opened up onto each other (if you know what I mean), which was awkward. The bathroom - although very clean - was a problem for us. The shower (and there is only a shower, not a bathtub) had only a built-in soap dish; there was no shelf/ledge where we could put our shampoo, razor, etc.. There was also no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

If we were 20 years younger these things probably wouldn't have mattered. As it is, however, we wished we had booked a room at a chain hotel with predictable rooms/amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank good2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Decided to book a last minute weekend getaway and I'm so happy we decided on the Blue Star Motel! It was only a three minute drive from Saugatauk and so close to Douglas Beach. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were the perfect size and opened to a great patio and back yard with a hot tub. Would for sure come back the next time we are in Douglas and Saugatauk!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AllisonD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This met our needs, it was clean, convenient ( near the Tulip Festival activities ) and doesn't break the bank!. The manager was very kind and helpful when recommendations were needed for sites and restaurants. Free breakfast quite limited.

Room Tip: Ask manager for area recommendations - very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
1.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
3.6 km away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.1 km away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
175 reviews
0.5 km away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
149 reviews
2.1 km away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#4 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Address: 167 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $114 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing