We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-09
Priceline
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-09
Hotels.com
US$119
US$114
View deal
SAVE US$5
Free cancellation until 21-05-14
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotelUS$114
Agoda.comUS$119
Expedia.comUS$114
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
106
26
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
26
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub downtown douglas my husband and i yard area comfy bed outdoor patio backyard michigan dunes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 142 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2020

What a pleasant place! So very peaceful and pleasant, kudos to whoever revived this place. Everything about the decor is perfect, and especially the bed! (Believe it or not sometime that is what gets overlooked in a motel.). Well done!

And thank you to the folks who manage it - you’ve all succeeded in making our weekend away just what we needed. We appreciate you all!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thomaspcavanaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 23, 2020

Hi Thomas thank you so much for the valuable and kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed it!! We look forward to seeing you again if you come through Saugatuck again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2020

Have been going to Blue star for many years, the previous owners were extremely nice and accommodating. The new owners are very rude and have little to no customer service. Will definitely not be returning and will take business elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank raymondr508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 23, 2020

Raymond - Sorry you were not happy with the changes brought on by our new ownership and how we see to run the two properties. We just weren't able to accommodate your requests but I'm sure with so many great properties around Saugatuck / Douglas you will find one that fits you perfectly. Kindly, Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2020

I love the updates to the Blue Star Motel- the rooms and beds were updated and the outdoor patio, bbq and hammock make it feel like a little getaway into the woods. The staff especially Rachel took care of us so well, will definitely come back again!

Date of stay: May 2020
Thank Bucketlistjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 23, 2020

Thank you so much for the kind and valuable review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you come through Saugatuck again! Kindly, Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

Great location between downtown Douglas and Saugatuck. New management. Amazingly clean. Very friendly and welcoming staff, great location! Will be staying again for sure! 100% recommend! This is a gem of a stay. Just minutes from the dunes, great shopping, restaurants galore, and the harbor.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DanBarrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Holden33, Owner at Blue Star Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2020

Thank you, Dan for staying at the Blue Star Motel. We so appreciate your kind review and look forward to any future visits with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We happened to be the only people staying - great as we has the hot tub to ourselves. Really nice outside space with chairs and hammock and most rooms have a little sheltered space out the back door, perfect for sitting out if it rains.
Nice, modernly decorated room and smart, clean bathroom - seemed rather pricey but my guess is this is the area rather than the hotel being over priced. Good breakfast options in plentiful supply. Very handy location to walk to the lovely Saugatuck brewery just along the road.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerufmads13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews