We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat, wonderful location, congenial hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Love Saugatuck but hate the traffic gridlock and parking roulette? Next time, stay five or fewer minutes away, in the equally charming but quieter adjacent town of Douglas. Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast is situated on a wooded residential street, at the west end of which is Lake Michigan and a lovely sand beach for strolling, bathing or watching sunsets. Public access is within walking distance of the B&B. Although Saugatuck recently won USA Today's "Best Coastal Small Town in America" contest, here's the catch: Its downtown overlooks the Kalamazoo River and Kalamazoo Lake; you can't even glimpse Lake Michigan from town, and sunsets will end at the top of Mount Baldhead on the Lake Michigan side of the Kalamazoo River. Douglas, on the other hand, stretches east-west from the Kalamazoo River to Lake Michigan. Douglas' downtown shops and restaurants are clustered on the eastern half of Center Street. Sherwood Forest is on the same street, but west of Red Arrow Highway, so most people would drive to downtown Douglas. The good news is that when you leave to go exploring, you'll be assured of a parking spot upon your return. (Many Saugatuck B&Bs cannot say the same.) We were very comfortable in the recently updated Black and White Room, now with a Paris influence and dramatic and tasteful black and white stripes on the sloped part of the ceiling. Owners Noelene, Jim and David, who acquired the B&B in May 2014, say they are going room by room to make improvements and to freshen the decor and furnishings. We were grateful for their great advice about making selections from the terrific dinner menu at Salt of the Earth in Fennville. When we were asked if we had a preference for either sweet or savory breakfast entrees, we said it would be too difficult to choose because we enjoy both. So, imagine our delight when breakfast included both eggs and blueberry pancakes, plus some perfect little sausages.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2014

My husband surprised me for our 11th anniversary. The outside of the B&B was tastefully decorated with Halloween decorations. Nolene greeted & welcomed us as we arrived. The inside of the home was beautiful along with more holiday decorations which we loved. Our room was cozy, the bed was comfortable, & the food was delicious! Jim & Nolene were so hospitable & made our stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Some of the best experiences in life is when your expectations are greatly exceeded. Such was the case with our recent visit to Sherwood Forest. We spent 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Nolene and Jim are gracious, friendly, and down-to-earth hosts welcoming you to a clean and elegant establishment that is perfectly located. Sherwood Forest is in a quiet, upscale tree-lined area that is within easy walking distance of the beach. We particularly enjoyed walking down to the lake for a stroll just before sitting down to a delicious and robust breakfast, which we needed to fuel exploring and walking the local towns and parks. I have a gluten-free dietary restriction and this was no problem - they are quite familiar with the gluten-free diet and were easily able to accommodate my requirement. We have visited many B&B's over the years, and this was one of our best and most relaxing stays.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkingSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We had a perfect stay here! Jim and Noleen are great hosts. We were greeted at check-in with a glass of wine and Jim sat us down and and showed us a map of the area and made recommendations for things to do and places to eat. They made us feel so welcome and were very helpful!
Our room was beautiful and very clean. The Black and White Room was great! We've stayed in Saugatuck before and thought the rooms at the Sherwood were more spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic! We enjoyed coffee on the beautiful wrap-around porch and then sat down for breakfast at 9am. They serve fruit, banana bread, yogurt, and homemade granola as staples. Their main dish changes from day to day. The first day we had the best blueberry pancakes my husband and I had ever had. The second day we enjoyed delicious egg and ham on croissants.
We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to the Saugatuck area! The Sherwood B&B is well maintained and you can tell the owners love what they do!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLSturt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Just spent 2 nights at this B&B. This is a beautiful and well maintained property. The owners Jim and Noelene are gracious , knowledgeable and there to make your stay exceed your expectations. The wraparound porch and common rooms are exquisitely furnished for your comfort. My wife and I stayed in the Victorian Suite. The suite has a separate bathroom complete with wet bar, Jacuzzi, see through fireplace and refrigerator. The bedroom was very large with a delightful sitting area. You couldn't ask for anything more. Breakfast is such a treat with Noelene magically make appear some the most delicious egg dishes and pancakes I have ever tasted. Thank you Jim and Noelene for making our too short stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Jim and Noleen are great hosts at this perfectly situated B&B. The room was awesome, well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was even bigger and included a small kitchenette and a Jacuzzi tub that made relaxing effortless. The bed was on a little smaller than I would have hoped for, but very comfortable nonetheless. Also included in the price of the room was unlimited use of beach cruiser bikes for riding into Douglas, Saugatuck, or just down to the beach a couple blocks away. This was a great add on to an already great stay. Breakfast was set late enough in the morning so that you could sleep in a little and still enjoy a meal. Breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh fruit and juice. My wife had pancakes the second morning and didn't even need syrup.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Just spent three nights in this truly beautiful B&B. The new owners were as gracious and friendly as any hosts I've encountered. The B&B is located just a few miles from Downtown Douglas and Saugatuck, and just a short walk to the beach. Breakfast each morning was fresh, delicious and filling! The entire place was decorated for the season and the Rose room sported one of the most comfortable beds I've ever encountered. A real winner!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
2.2 km away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
10.7 km away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.4 km away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
7 km away
Hop & Vine Inn
Hop & Vine Inn
#1 of 2 in Fennville
38 reviews
15 km away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 893, Douglas, MI 49406-5140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $194 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Three suites available, two with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Travel on Safari in our signature suite, the Safari Room, boasting 440 sq. ft. with a large sitting room, walk in shower and claw foot tub, decorated with authentic South African artifacts. Don your terry cloth bathrobe and have breakfast on your own private balcony in the forest. Our Tree Tops room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest b&b
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing