We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Kirby(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Motor Lodge(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemont Inn Resort B&B(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
143
15
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
15
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinvictorian suitelake michigandouglas beachwhite roomwithin walking distancebreakfast was amazingwrap around porchshort walk to the beachhuge jacuzzi tubgranolagreat hostsblueberry pancakesdifferent themeeach morningbeach chairsperfect weekend
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

You know it's a great place when...
You wake up and can't wait to see what the Innkeepers (Noelene, Jim, & Dave) have made for breakfast. Every breakfast was a culinary delight, enticing to the tastebuds and aesthetically presented. You may think we are indulging in hyperbole. We are not. Beautiful handmade brioche, or French toast with fruit and a mascarpone creme fraiche, or Crocque Madam, or the best pancakes we've ever tasted. All delightfully served by the truly friendly and fun Innkeepers.
You know it's a great place when...
Your room begins to feel like home. You enter your room and immediately forget that you are in a part of an old Victorian home. We stayed in the "Log Cabin" room. It feels like a cabin (but one with all the amenities you could want--and thankfully, no TV). We never heard any other guests. The room is tastefully presented. Beautiful forests views out the windows. The jacuzzi style double bath made our stay feel like we were at a spa. The refrigerator in the bathroom was helpful for days we wanted to take our own lunch to the beach.
You know it's a great place when...
Everything just feels easy. Douglas beach is half a block away. It was an easy stroll away. The property is quiet and secluded. The porch is spacious enough that even when all the rooms are full, there's always the sense that there's plenty of room. The pool is kept warm and it was inviting and delightful. Nearby bike paths are a delight. Also access to Saugatuck is easy and quick.
Can you tell we really loved it? We loved it so much we almost didn't want to write a review for fear that too many others will want to stay there. But we couldn't be that mean to Noelene, Jim, and Dave.

Room Tip: The suites offer more room and also have the jacuzzi couples baths plus refrigerator. But all the rooms we saw were very nicely appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Hi Lesa L,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review! Definitely made our day!! It was such a pleasure having both of you with us ... can't wait for your return "home" to see us! Have a great summer you guys and come home soon!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Sherwood and were greeted with the warmest welcome by Noelene! She took a lot of time to tell us about the best restaurants and shops that were nearby. We stayed in the log cabin suite which was beautiful, spacious, had a comfortable bed, nice fireplace, and large jacuzzi tub. The heated pool was also very relaxing. Breakfast was phenomenal every morning! It was great to be able to take a short walk to the beach right on Lake Michigan...the sunsets were spectacular! Noelene and Jim were wonderful hosts, made us feel like family, and we can't wait to make this an annual trip! We highly recommend Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Jamison10325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Hi Jamison,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to welcome you both back home to Sherwood!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Sherwood Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful, quiet, friendly place. The hosts are very gracious and wonderful cooks. The swimming pool came in very handy. Only a block from Douglas Beach. Quiet at night. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Hi BobAnnArbor,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of Sherwood Forest. It was such a pleasure meeting both of you and we so look forward to welcoming you back "home" to Sherwood!
Best,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful in finding what was good to see in the area. The location is a short walk from the lake and the scenery is great. We would definitely stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, lovely hosts. Quiet and quaint, just what we needed. Close enough to Saugatuck, but away from the hustle and bustle. Pre-tulip festival timing helped. Many great memories.
The breakfasts were nicely prepared and plentiful, the suites has plenty of room and nice amenities.
We would definitely go back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lexus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews