We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home with extras!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I can not say enough good things about Jim and Norene and their beautiful home! We look forward to meeting David next time we visit! Our room was perfect, comfy and cozy, the breakfasts were amazing , delicious and we will be there again for pancake Sunday! No butter or sugar in main breakfast and you would never know it!
Towels, lotion, chairs and umbrellas for the beach right on the porch to use, big comfy porch to read , have breakfast or drink wine,
Everything we needed for a relaxing mini vacay! And the best part, we made some new friends!!
Thank you again , Jim and Nolene! We look forward to our next stay!
Chris and Dale

Room Tip: I don't think you'd be disappointed in any room you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandnsurf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Chris and Dale,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a gracious review of Sherwood. It was such a pleasure meeting both of you and welcoming you to our Sherwood Family! Come home soon!!!

Best,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Our stay at Sherwood Forest was absolutely wonderful. Great atmosphere and the rooms are creatively decorated and fun. There is a lovely porch around the house where we had our breakfast and coffee every morning. The breakfasts are heavenly - great presentation and lots of deliciousness. Pool area is adorable - plenty of hang out room and lounge chairs and the pool is heated. It's also a block away from Douglas beach. Noelene and Jim are super friendly and hospitable - from welcoming you with a drink and a map/orientation of the area (so you don't have to waste time to google everything), to hugging you goodbye. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Vangelia,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a gracious review of Sherwood Forest. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come on back "home" to Sherwood soon!!

Best,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

It is a plesure to stay at this B and B. It is close to the beach, has a nice pool and the best thing every morning is their delicious breakfast.
This was my second time staying at Sherwood Forest and I think it will have to go back at least every year.

Room Tip: any room will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travel7242009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi travel7240009,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Its always such a pleasure for us to welcome our Sherwood "family" back home with us in the forest. Looking forward to having you "home" in the near future.

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed in the log cabin room at the SFBB. It truly was the most relaxing wonderful B&B I believe I have ever stayed. The room was quiet, the innkeepers Jim and Noelene were the most gracious hosts and the breakfasts were outstanding, especially the blueberry pancakes which are truly memorable! The location of this B&B is par none the best ... you can walk to Douglas Beach and so close to Saugatack and wineries. The wrap around porch and heated pool were an added bonus. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a gracious review of Sherwood Forest. It was a pleasure having you with us. We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts, the sugar free/butter free blueberry buttermilk pancakes are a popular choice! So looking forward to having you back "home" at Sherwood!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast was beautiful and I'm so glad that we chose to stay here to celebrate our wedding and the upcoming birth of our first child. We stayed in the Log Cabin Suite and were welcomed with a cold drink and a beautiful fresh bouquet of flowers in the room. Jim provided us with a map of Douglas and Saugatuck with recommended places to visit which really helped to get us oriented to the area as this was the first time we had visited. The beach was just down the road and we were able to use their beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas, which was a really nice touch. The sunset at Douglas Beach may have been one of the most beautiful scenes I have ever seen. The best part of the whole stay, in my opinion, was the breakfast. Everything was homemade and perfect. We ate on the porch each morning in the cool morning breeze, sipping our coffee, eating our fresh fruit, and being served a hot breakfast. It was truly incredible. Definitely worth the stay and highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Krysta H,

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write such a gracious review of Sherwood Forest. It was such a pleasure welcoming both of you to our Sherwood family and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best for your new addition to your family and don't forget to send us a photo!!!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We chose To spend the first three nights as husband and wife at Sherwood Forest, and I don't regret one moment. We were greeted with a drink and the welcome sign sigh read "Welcome Mr. & Mrs. Pierce. When we got to our room, there was a bottle of champagne on ice with a welcome/wedding card. Every day Noelene greeted us as Mr. & Mrs. Pierce with her lovely South African accent. Jim was very helpful with recommendations for daily activities. We we arrived he provided us with a visitors map that had hand written recommendation, and took the time to review the map and restaurants with us.

We stayed in the log cabin room which was really nice and the jacuzzi was even better. Breakfast was tasty and different every day. The location to the beach is great/ We were able to walk to the beach daily and use Sherwood provided beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Sheena T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was an honor to host Mr. & Mrs. Pierce at Sherwood and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. You are part of the Sherwood family now and we hope to see you back for your first anniversary!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Our visit could not have been more perfect! The room, the food, and the wonderful hospitality of the thoughtful innkeepers made for a memorable stay that we hope to repeat and share with our closest people. Also, the recommendations they gave us for sightseeing & dining were right on. This was truly one of the best getaway experiences we've ever had. Bravo!

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme. You should go to their website to explore and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Jim Noele... S, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi Frank G,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for Sherwood Forest. It was such a pleasure having both of you with us and we hope you will return "home" soon!! Say hi to your lovely wife for us!

Best regards,
David, Jim & Noelene
Your Sherwood Forest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
2.2 km away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
10.7 km away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.4 km away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
7 km away
Hop & Vine Inn
Hop & Vine Inn
#1 of 2 in Fennville
38 reviews
15 km away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 893, Douglas, MI 49406-5140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: $194 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Three suites available, two with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Travel on Safari in our signature suite, the Safari Room, boasting 440 sq. ft. with a large sitting room, walk in shower and claw foot tub, decorated with authentic South African artifacts. Don your terry cloth bathrobe and have breakfast on your own private balcony in the forest. Our Tree Tops room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest b&b
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing