We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation for all!”
Review of White Birch Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elk Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Birch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Rapids
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Do you ever get jealous of your kids going away to camp and wish there was a place for YOU to go do fun things!? Do you ever get home from your family vacation and need a vacation from lugging your kids' stuff around? Well, White Birch Lodge is a little like camp and a LOT like a relaxing vacation! WBL is the perfect family destination! Our kids LOVE it so much that they would choose a week at WBL over Disney or a week at the ocean or a week pretty much ANYWHERE else. We use this week as a family reunion (4 families) where everyone has their own cabin or accommodation, but we meet for meals together in the dining hall and can go off on our own or see each other as much as we like.

All inclusive means more than your 3 square meals a day (which a professional cook provides so you don't have to shop, cook, or clean!). Also included are water sports (ski, tube, wakeboard, paddle board, kayak, sail boats), sports (tennis courts, bocce courts, a basketball court, a soccer field, beach volleyball), and a rec hall for indoor table tennis and foosball. The staff is comprised of college students who do your dishes, drive your ski boat, entertain you with a ski show, provide a nightly bonfire for s'mores, and make your week as easy on YOU as possible.

AND... the staff will care for young children at "kid's camp" where they can spend 2 hours each morning and/or afternoon doing crafts, activities, sandcastle competitions, and play at the park. Parents can take a ski run knowing that their children are having fun while safely being entertained!

Monday night there is a friendly "sports night" where the staff take on the guests in various sporting events! Tuesday there is an old fashioned square dance (including some line dancing just for kicks). Wednesday night is an adult buffet (so you can have a date night) while the kids have a party on the basketball court, and Thursday there is a ski show full of tricks and laughter.

Staff (with the help of your kids) ring a bell and it's meal time! Meals are delicious with plenty of choices for young and old and everyone in between!

You can choose accommodation from a cozy condo with amenities to a rustic cabin. We stay in a cabin (#14) which has 2 separate rooms, 1 full bath (including a tub), and 3 queen beds. EVERY room is within 50 ft of Elk Lake and the beach area! This is our 12th year vacationing here! (My husband's family has been coming up for 25+ years!)

The Lodge provides it all. They have the skis, the lifejackets to fit all sizes, the picnic tables, the beach chairs, the beach toys.... The setting is picture-perfect with stunning, crystal clear water. Most people say the water is as beautiful as the caribbean! It may be a lake, but it is clean and clear. Don't know how to ski? That's ok. They will teach you! (Recommended age is 7 for kids to begin.) Don't know how to sail? They will teach you! Forget how to sit on a beach chair and read a book? It will come back to you! I promise!

Give this place a try! You will love it! It is only a 9 week season so be sure to book in! We have made lasting friendships because we go back the same week each year.

Room Tip: Vary from condos (air con and tvs) to cabins with screened in porches to dormitories with shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

My wife and I and our two 7 year olds had to decide between Disney, Myrtle Beach, the Bahamas, and a little known all inclusive resort in Northern Michigan. Based solely on Trip Advisor reviews we chose White Birch Lodge for something completely different. Let me assure you, it was. The ladies that handle reservations were very friendly and patient during booking ( I had a ton of questions). Many current staff members are college young men and women that have been guests at the lodge since they were children. They were the friendliest, most positive, kid loving group that you can imagine. Every staff member truly "gets it". White Birch Lodge is the exact opposite of a commercialized crowded vacation destination. Families truly come together at this resort and many long term friendships are made. My kids loved tubing, shuffle board, water skiing, camp fires, playing ghost in the grave yard, etc, etc. My wife and are we're very satisfied with the quality of all of the meals. Accommodations were perfect for the surroundings (keep in mind this is a rustic, old school type family vacation, not the Ritz). We asked the kids before we left where they want to go on vacation next year and without hesitation they said "White Birch Lodge". Many families, including us, have coordinated their schedules so we can get back together next year same time, same place. That says a lot considering we didn't know one person there just 8 days ago. Take a chance, you will not regret it!!!

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This was our first year at White Birch Lodge. We were looking for an all inclusive vacation in the states. We have a 9 year old son and liked the idea that they have a kids camp and many activities to keep him occupied so that my husband and I could have relaxation time. Our experience was amazing. When you show up, all you do is unpack your clothes and you are on instant vacation. You don't have to think about where you are going to eat or what your are going to do. The amenities were fantastic. They had paddle boards, kayaks, canoes, skiing, tubing, swimming, sunbathing, sailing, bike riding, sports, yoga, golf nearby and I believe other things I am forgetting. The location is absolutely beautiful. The staff are so friendly and helpful. If you want to hire a babysitter, the college kids that work there are available for hire. All of your meals (food is great) and entertainment are provided. It was all very clean and the beach and lake are so pristine. Don't pass up a chance to go to White Birch Lodge, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

White Birch Lodge is the perfect place for our family vacation. Elk Lake is beautiful, the accommodations are very comfortable, the food is great, water sports so much fun, and both the staff & other families are very friendly. What a wonderful place to spend a week, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hjhglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We recently spent a week at the lodge and were met with an unfortunate summer storm that took out the power for three days. I don't judge the lodge for this storm , it was not in their control but I was surprised that they were not better prepared for a storm! Putting that aside, the charm of WBL is that it is like taking a step back in time! Your kids can spend every waking hour in a safe environment, they know when it is time to get ready for a meal because there is a time tested bell that can be heard from every corner of the grounds. That staff is well trained and the parents can relax and watch their kids try new things (like water skiing or water boarding) stuff they may not have a chance to try at home! If you are not a water person or if you are a high energy person without kids, you may want to spend some time talking to the staff before you sign on as this is not an inexpensive vacation.

Room Tip: Go online and look and them talk to staff, they are honest and will be truthful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

When I Googled "Top 10 Family Lake Vacations", I was debating between Minnesota and Michigan (we've never visited or vacationed in either state). I was reminiscing about a roadtrip to visit family in Iowa and Chicago when I was between my 10yo daughter and 7yo son's ages and wanted to recreate the great American Heartland roadtrip for my kids. Plus, my husband is English and the closest he's ever been to a good, old-fashioned roadtrip was watching National Lampoon's Vacation (the original) as a kid. I saw the review for WBL on Trip Advisor that said it was like vacationing on the set of Dirty Dancing (throwback to the 1950s, family-style dining, screened in porches, daytime water sports, evening activities), and I knew I wanted to try it. This was going to be great for all of us.

After my first trip there, I am hooked and already made reservations to bring back three generations of my family next year. Plenty of other resorts have water activities on turquoise lakes, delicious food, and kids programs with fancier accommodation. We're coming back to WBL because it is on the right side of the Haimish Line.

The Haimish Line is a fantastic piece David Brooks from the NY Times wrote in his column about his families' recent vacation, depicting the various places they had visited that summer. His family found that they connected more with other guests and had more fun at the simpler camps than the did at the more private luxury camps: "I know only one word to describe what the simpler camps had and the more luxurious camps lacked: haimish. It’s a Yiddish word that suggests warmth, domesticity and unpretentious conviviality." Brooks went on to describe how his family began avoiding camps that crossed the invisible "Haimish Line" into more posh, stuffy camps that they could afford so they would have more fun at the unpretentious, convivial camps. WBL is the most haimish resort where I have ever spent a week.

Maybe it because WBL is a 3-generation family-owned business since 1958. Maybe it is because the owners have always made their profession out of teaching or instructing sports and a number of their loyal returning guests also seem to have education in common. Maybe it is because the 20-something college kids that run around and staff your visit are without exception the most polite, well-trained, friendly, welcoming staff I have encountered. It's the Midwest turned up to Eleven.

Thank you Conrad Family and WBL Staff. You gave this West Coast family everything I knew we needed, but also something I didn't know we needed in this age of connected devices and high-tech: good old-fashioned, face-to-face connection with wonderful people.

"When we’re shopping for a vacation we’re primarily thinking about Where. The travel companies offer brochures showing private beaches and phenomenal sights. But when you come back from vacation, you primarily treasure the memories of Who — the people you met from faraway places, and the lives you came in contact with."

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
22  Thank Delyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

This is our second summer at WBL and once again, we've had an amazing vacation! This may seem surprising, because our first full day here included the worst storm this area has seen in recorded history. We were without electricity until Tuesday evening, but that didn't stop the Conrad family and WBL staff from providing outstanding service. They got a generator in and never a meal was missed. By Monday evening most of the downed trees and all the debris was cleaned up. Every staff member greated guests with a smile and asked if there was anything he or she could do. Activities went on and everyone had a great time.

This is a beautiful place. The lake is amazing. It is an ideal place to relax and put aside the hustle and bustle of the world. The guests are friendly and our children enjoy meeting other children, the lake and all the activities.

I have food allergies and it is difficult to eat when I am away from home. Here, everyone on staff is very aware of the what is in the food. If they don't know, they are quick to find out. Special food has been made so that I can eat. It is wonderful to be able to eat away from home and not do the cooking.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 4Reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Rapids
19.4 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
15.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
18.6 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
20.1 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
21 km away
Bayshore Resort
Bayshore Resort
#4 of 40 in Traverse City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birch Lodge

Address: 571 Meguzee Point Road, Elk Rapids, MI 49629
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Elk Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Rapids
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on crystal-clear blue Elk Lake in Elk Rapids, Michigan, White Birch Lodge is a family-friendly, all-inclusive resort. Family-owned and operated since 1958, vacations at White Birch Lodge are a tradition. Guests return generation after generation to enjoy affordable, care-free vacations in a gorgeous waterfront setting. We feature an incredible watersports program including waterskiing, wakeboarding, and more in a private, safe lakefront setting. Our enthusiastic, energetic college-age staff does ALL the work while you and your family enjoy all that Northern Michigan and Elk Lake have to offer! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Birch Hotel Elk Rapids
White Birch Lodge Michigan/Elk Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing