We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$80
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$80
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$79
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$80
Expedia.comUS$79
eDreamsUS$80
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
335
201
78
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
335
201
78
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleeping bear dunes great location new building friendly tavern visitor center room was clean gas station ice machine glen arbor small town lake michigan within walking distance would stay here again two blocks keurig coffee maker great place to stay enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 662 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2020

We never completed our hike on Sleeping Bear Dunes 5 yrs ago and decided to come back to this beautiful area to finish what we started!! We hit the peak of colors and hiking was great (lots of trails). The Inn was the perfect place to hang our boots. The 2 queen-bed room in the new part of the Inn that we reserved was very clean, bed was comfortable, more than enough towels and owner was very friendly. Only slight problem was the loud heating system. Earplugs fixed that for me (husband sleeps like a log). Would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2020

How awesome that you were able to return to the area, and hike the beautiful trails around Empire and the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park! We have a great location, that is central to all areas of the park and National Lakeshore. We appreciate your business and your review! Thanks for staying with us! ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2020

The location and appearance of the place is very nice. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because our room smelled like cigarette smoke (in a nonsmoking room) and communication is difficult because you always get a voicemail when you call the office.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Getaway663784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2020

Sorry you got a voicemail when you called, but we DO return all calls in a timely manner.... we had a VERY busy summer AND fall ... and the phone rings non-stop during the busy season.. so most of the time we are on another line, or tending to guests... but we do return ALL calls and do our best to accommodate! So strange that your room smelled like smoke, as we clean ALL surfaces with bleach cleaner, after each guest’s stay! We also have windows that open to the outside fresh air, in every room, and we air out each room while we are cleaning. Management also checks each and every room for cleanliness before the next guest checks in. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2020

Clean, reasonable price, one pet friendly room.

I never interacted with anyone from hotel as I arrived at 5pm and just picked up the keys in the box.

Only 1 of 2 options in Empire and I may try another if I return, but would not hestitate to return to Lakeshore Inn.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianaslakson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2020

Hello and thank you for your review! We have 3 pet-friendly rooms all together and 29 additional non-pet rooms. We are glad you found us and would non hesitate to return... we love to hear that!
Since the start of Covid, we offer contactless check-ins, which most guests really appreciate.. However, Management is only a phone call away to attend to guests needs and questions. Thank you for choosing to stay with us,
and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2020

arrived early received worst room in the place..upstairs in the corner by boiler room..no view..next door neighbors banged on the thin wall because we were watching football at a normal sound level on the bargain tv set...best thing about the room was a k cup coffee machine with only 2 regular coffee cups...no breakfast , ice machine shut off for the season..expensive rate for what we got on a Monday in October...

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gvlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2020

Sounds like you stayed in our “Budget” hotel.. which is the original Lakeshore Inn - now called the Annex. We DO offer our “Brand new and improved”
Lakeshore Inn, which is just steps from the original... If you call the Inn ahead of your arrival, and before making online reservations, our staff would be happy to explain the difference between our budget hotel and our brand new one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2020

Room was very comfortable. Rooms have been recently upgraded. Highly recommend this inn. Restaurants nearby and the Fall colors in this area were awesome. 20 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dunes. D H Day farm on the way.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank popilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2020

So happy you found us ....in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore! Sounds like you enjoyed your stay very much and we love to hear that! Thanks for your kind review! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews