We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL :)”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Reviewed 21 January 2016

The people here were very kind and personable. I felt at home and would reccomend this hotel to any of my family & friends. They have breakfast of fresh fruits & waffles which were very tasty !! I look forward to booking a room in the future

Room Tip: It is always quiet no matter what room I've stayed in
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear Ashley:

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Please visit us again, and share the following information with your friends and associates:

1. our free breakfast now includes bananas, hot waffles, peanut butter, boiled eggs, breads, bagels, cream cheese, juice, cereals and much more.
2. We installed brand new red drapes that look very nice.
3. We happily provide a glass of milk on request in the evening.

Our front desk staff and housekeepers work very hard, and appreciate people like you who give such a decent feedback that makes me happy. I will convey your kind words to my staff to make them feel wonderful. Thank you!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two nights while attending family funeral. After two days of funeral details, all we wanted was a hot shower and to watch Downton Abbey. The nice large screen Tv would only receive a picture 2/3 size of the TV, the water in the shower was barely warm, the blankets were so thin my husband slept with his winter coat on his feet. The room was quiet ( no one else in the hotel) and beds were comfortable. Staff was nice but unable to resolve any issues. Will stay somewhere else on my next trip to Escanaba.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank roadtripwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

We apologize for the inconvenience. However, please be informed that hot water in all the rooms is provided by one system, which was in perfect working order. Otherwise, all guests would have complained. If you had mentioned problem to the front desk during your stay, we would have gladly showed you how to set higher temperature to make the water hotter. Blanket are standard quality that we bought recently. No other guest ever complained about blankets. Again, we would have given you extra blanket if it was requested. And our new flat panel, 32 inch TVs are quite new.

We would have gladly helped if you had mentioned these during your stay and the comments would not have been necessary. The above comments are not appropriate since we had everything in good working order. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I tend to always stay at AAA approved places because they have all been very clean and this place was just that. Had a long 2 week vacation so was watching the prices and this place was very within budget. I recommend if someone is looking for a quick place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric1Mess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Thank you for your comments. Please visit us again, and share the following information with your friends and associates:
1. our free breakfast now includes bananas, hot waffles, peanut butter, boiled eggs, breads, bagels, cream cheese, juice, cereals and much more.
2. We installed brand new red drapes that look very nice.
3. We happily provide a glass of milk on request in the evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Water dripping in the tub and from the faucet in the sink. Otherwise the bathroom was clean and a good size. Towels were not the heavy kind but not bad and clean. Room was clean and each bed had clean sheets and three pillows on them. Did not check out the looks of microwave or refrigerator because did not use them.
Breakfast very limited to two different cereals, bread to toast, plain donuts and waffles you make. They did have orange juice. My husbands decaf coffee was just warm. Regular coffee was hot They were in carafes. The breakfast room was empty when we went in. The area was not clean where you serve yourself, it had sugar all over it. Tables were not wiped off after use. Our syrup container was stuck to the table. May stay again or may try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Thank you for your comments. We have been making improvements all along. We have new carpet in all rooms and common area. Look at our lobby and hallway pictures. You and your friends/associates are invited to stay with us. Please note the following:
1. Our free breakfast now includes bananas, hot waffles, peanut butter, boiled eggs, breads, bagels, cream cheese, juice, cereals and much more.
2. We installed brand new red drapes that look very nice.
3. We happily provide a glass of milk on request in the evening.
Please let everyone know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We stayed here about 7 years ago and had a wonderful experience. Then we stayed again in August and were really disappointed. The smell was so bad, like musty socks, and the floor in the hall seemed to be wet, like it had just been shampooed or there was some type of water accident? Maybe it was because we stayed on the ground floor? The curtain was broken and could not open. The breakfast was really good, lots of choices. The service was pretty bad. Reported the broken curtain in the first hour, and after a promise that their handyman was going to fix it I ended up reporting it to be fixed again when we checked out four days later. The next visit we stayed at Sunset Lodge, an older motel but pet friendly and much cleaner and better service.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on a higher floor would be better?
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600jla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Thank you for the comments, and our apologies for the inconvenience. You are invited to stay with us the next time you visit because:
1. We installed brand new red drapes in all the rooms.
2. Our interior corridor property is more convenient and secure.
3. Our free breakfast includes fresh waffles, boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, peanut butter, breads and donuts, juice, cereals, bananas, and much more.
4. You can enjoy our hot tub and Sauna.
5. When a guest requests, we happily provide you a glass of milk in the evening.
WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

The place was outdated I walked into the room with it smelling like cigarettes smoke and a large white fan on the floor drying a big wet spot as if someone peed on the floor and they were just going to cover it up! the fridge was moldy with mildew tub had hair in it toilet had poop stains and the sheets smelled like body oder! I would never recommend this motel to a homeless person!!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

We are 100 percent smoke free hotel and a very clean place, and our staff works hard to keep it clean. These comments are totally inaccurate. Please read comments by other guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Stayed one night and found the room very clean and reasonably well furnished with both a refrigerator and microwave. The facility is adjacent to fairgrounds for those attending that facility. Not fancy but convenient and will use again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aj S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Thank you for your comments. We invite you to stay with us again, and share with your friends and associates the following:

1.Our free breakfast now includes bananas, hot waffles, peanut butter, boiled eggs, breads, bagels, cream cheese, juice, cereals and much more.
2. We installed brand new red drapes in all the guestrooms that look very nice.
3. We happily provide a glass of milk on request in the evening.

Our hot tub and sauna relaxes you after being on the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
15.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.5 km away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
1.6 km away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
364 reviews
2.4 km away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
838 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Escanaba
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 921 N Lincoln Rd, Escanaba, MI 49829-1500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge hotel located next to the Upper Peninsula State Fairgrounds. We guarantee affordable rates, and have convenient location very close to shopping, restaurants and places of interests in and around Escanaba. Feel relaxed and at home in our inviting guest rooms, all of which have been remodled and refurbished with new bedding, carpets and drapes. Also enjoy brand new flat screen televisions with HBO. Additional amenities include: •Free continental breakfast that includes, Fresh fruits Fresh Waffles, boiled eggs, bagels, cheese, peanut butter, breads, juice, cereals and much more •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free coffee 24/7•Free local calls Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, free parking is available onsite. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Make your reservation today at the Econo Lodge in Escanaba, MI for an enjoyable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. Our pet-friendly hotel is ideally located a mile from Bay De Noc Community College near many area points of interest, which include: •Delta County Historical Society •Sand Point Lighthouse •Pioneer Trail Park •Wells Sports Complex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Escanaba
Escanaba Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing