We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marv Herzog Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Marv Herzog at Frankenmuth, MI for 2 nights. It was my mistake for not realizing there was NO pool, so the kids were a bit disappointed. Don't make the same mistake. Their rates are lower relative to other comprable motels in the area for this reason. They do try to make up for it with free drinks and food. The good news is that the staff were (mostly) helpful and the hotel was very clean, we were very pleased with the room. Parking was more than adequate in a small parking garage in the back. Frankenmuth used to be a thriving tourist area back in the 80's and 90's, it was always busy and almost had a magical quality about it. These days, the area is highly depressed, with a shopping experience to reflect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hojo7021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    116
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
117
266
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Had a river view room,Very clean and nice,The view was great and staff was very friendly and helpful.Great breakfast and evening snacks and beer/wine/pop for free.I would definitely recommend and definitely will stay next visit much better then the Inn.If you want a nice quiet and relaxing place in Frankenmuth, the Marv is where its at! Jeff & Kim ,Tennessee

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp204445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Rooms were very nice and clean, which in this day and age is lacking in some places if you travel you know what I mean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast that was provided was typical hotel microwaved food but nice that it was included with the room price. If you dont require the 5 pools or splash village this is a good place to stay. View of the river was very nice even though balcony is small. Bed was very comfortable and everything was fresh. Wine that was provided at the cocktail hour was actually very good and was a nice way to unwind right when we arrived. Popcorn that is provided was especially tasty.

Room Tip: River view is very nice but you can walk out back on the patio if you are not going to be in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris51163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is just the best. Great views, great breakfast, free beer (!) and snacks at night. Interesting to read about Marv, and how all the rooms have different facts about him. Not to hip on Polka, but I have to admit I did buy some of his music after staying there. If you want a nice, dare I say romantic time in Frankenmuth, the Marv is where its at!

Room Tip: Sit on the deck with one of your free beers and enjoy the river, then go next door to Frankenmuth Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spedteacherytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, MI
Level Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I loved this hotel. It was so clean. The room was spotless. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above average for a free included one. Nice touch to have evening snacks and beer/wine/pop included too. I liked the German Polka history. I was a bit disappointed no Polkas were playing at all but maybe that would have made this really nice place gimikey and cheesy. Maybe I'll have to come during the Bavarian Festival and hopefully they will play some polka music. I would definitely recommend and definitely return.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms have a nice little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthlyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allen park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Staff was so rude, unprofessional and disrespectful. I notified the GM of my concern and he stated that he had already spoke to the front desk staff and she must have been "mistaken" thats why she was so rude. Such a disappointment because overall was a nice hotel. Who wants to pay to stay somewhere to be treated so terribly!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2travelallenpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at The Marv Herzog Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We appreciate hearing from our guests and thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. It is very helpful for us to hear from our guests because it helps us to identify any concerns with our team to make the appropriate changes for upcoming stays. If you have any further questions, please let us know how we can help. Again, thanks for your feedback and we do hope we'll have a chance to see you as our guest again soon!

Tony Frank
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites - Frankenmuth, Michigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Marv Herzog Hotel had the only opening for the weekend I was in Frakenmuth, MI. The weekend rates were higher than the other hotels in the area, but I was very pleased with my stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFLD248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
9.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Property: The Marv Herzog Hotel
Address: 501 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1617
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marv Herzog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth
The Marv Herzog Hotel Frankenmuth, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing