We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$146
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empire Lakeshore Inn(Empire)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leland Lodge(Leland)(Great Value!)
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Motel(Honor)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
75
30
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
30
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolafresh fruitsleeping bear duneslake michiganold houseshort drivecovered porchstayed nightsgreat place to staydining tableevery morningfrench toastlocation is greatbreakfast was delicioustraverse citysaunamatt
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 117 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2015

This was our first visit to the Sleeping Bear Dunes, Glen Arbor and the Leelanau
peninsula. We highly recommend all. The Sylvan Inn was very comfortable, casual and relaxing with simple but casual breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the second level.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the skylight room #1. We enjoyed being at ground level and having a private bath. The room was nicely decorated, very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved sitting on the awesome wrap-around porch where we also ate our breakfast and enjoyed coffee in the mornings. The main street shopping was within walking distance as was the side streets that led to Lake Michigan. We can't wait to come back to Glen Arbor.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Treated to delicious breakfast each morning in this inn. Innkeeper and staff very helpful and did amazing despite having to work around severe damage that was caused by heavy winds and downed trees resulting in loss of electricity and services around town. A generator helped provide for the guests almost immediately. Attractively furnished. The wraparound porch was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetobeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

A lovely house with comfortable rooms and a great porch to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the traffic go by. Location to restaurants, shops and the bike path was perfect. The innkeepers and owner were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious! We fell in love with the area and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pamandtim1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2015

For over 22 years,my wife and I have been regular guests at the Sylvan Inn,which is now under the third owner during our stays there.First,we thank Rose and Ralph for their complete dedication to the Inn during their ownership,and for their many elegant touches to the Inn,the attention to detail,and their gracious ,welcoming hospitality during that time.We were pleased to meet the new owner,David,Allison the new Innkeeper,her delightful one year old son,and his dad Ben,all wonderfully nice ,friendly,and helpful.The inn looks the same and,contrary to a previous review,there is not a TV in the former living room,but there is a big harvest table that allows for indoor dining and the ability to meet and talk with other guests.We also welcomed the addition of a hot breakfast offering to the fare we've come to expect.The Sylvan Inn continues as a very special place for us,and we wholeheartedly give it our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mayo1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews