We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Great location for a short stay in the beautiful little village of Glen Arbor. The big old front porch and dry sauna and hot tub were perfectly relaxing and delightful. The room was a bit tight, and it's an old house so the floors creak, old windows can slam shut without warning, and shared bathrooms with other guests can be a bit complicated....but we enjoyed the rustic homey charm. Breakfast wasn't so great, but pleasant communal table. Needs some freshening up, but a very cute place for a good price. Walking distance to everything, including the beach. We had a wonderful stay. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: For a couple, go for a room with private bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genieb071065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2016

Pros: Convenient location, excellent breakfast, clean rooms, an excellent breeze with the windows open on the third floor.
Cons: There is no peek of the lake from the third floor room and should not, in my opinion, be advertised as such. Table is completely unusable in the room, it is wobbly and it dumped my laptop onto the floor. Needs work, knobs missing, wallpaper peeling. No where to sit in room except hard, wooden kitchen type chairs. Needs some work or price per night lowered.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 1993VolvoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

During a weekend visit, we spent a night at the Sylvan Inn. This lovely old house is conveniently located in downtown Glen Arbor in the heart of Sleeping Bear Dunes. There are a total of 14 comfy guest rooms. Some rooms have private baths and some have shared bathrooms. The guest room we stayed in had a queen size bed, a loveseat, round table with two chairs, a mini fridge, small TV, and private bathroom. Complimentary Wi-Fi is also available. The spa room on the back side of the inn with a hot tub and dry sauna is a nice amenity. Another nice feature is the wrap-around porch. A self-serve breakfast (we had eggs, bacon and fruit) was offered between 8:30 – 9:30 am. This is a pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This was our first visit at the Sylvan Inn, though we had stayed in Glen Arbor before.
The Inn and the Lakeshore Motel were bought by new owners in 2014. Gradually, the two properties are getting needed and tasteful renovations. The owners, a young couple with children who live nearby are committed to bringing this property back to a spiffy standard and we very much enjoyed talking to them. We watched as new bathrooms were installed on the ground floor of the Inn, not a disruptive process for us. Our upstairs room (3) was very large, clean and quiet, though the decor was a bit dated (it is next on the list for renovations). We enjoyed the tasty breakfast by Matt, the innkeeper. Dinnertime was mostly spent on the spacious covered porch with food from the nearby market. The days went by quickly during the week before Memorial Day! We hope to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Beautiful old 1880 Inn. Matt the owner was extremely helpful with my booking for Mothers Day weekend. We had an awesome time in Glen Arbor. The room was very nice and clean. We had an issue with some noisy neighbors and Matt was on top of the issue, the breakfast was very good, they had tea sitting out all the time so you could help yourself anytime. There was an area with an ice machine to have for your room. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make reservations. Cause if you book online you can't tell if it comes with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We visited Glen Arbor early in the season. Normally we stay at another B&B but this time of year they are still closed.

Positives: very close to main part of town and lake.

Has the potential to be a very nice place one day. Has 14 rooms. It appears to be mostly suited to couples vs families.

Has sauna/hot tub if you like that kind of thing

The staff we met were nice

Breakfast was very good

Negatives:

The staff had no knowledge of the history of the house or much about the area in general.

The character i have found in other B&Bs seemed lacking in this place.

There was no common room/reception area available besides the dining table which seats 12. Not sure how it will accommodate full house during high season

There is construction going on so the breakfast area was a toasty 50 degrees. The breakfast was very good.

We were upgraded to the treetop suite for free. Good thing because i personally would be upset if I paid full price. I found the furnishings to be less than luxury which would be what i would expect at $250 per night.

Safety issue. The suction cup safety bar did not hold under use and almost sent me head first into the tub. Do yourself a favor and install proper safety bars and avoid a lawsuit

I give it a good because i see the potential if someone spends the money and does it up right.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of September. We stayed in room 5, which we liked very much. The Inn Keeper and I were in touch before we arrived because we were arriving late, after 8:00 PM. So when we were delayed at the airport, I called him and he told me exactly how to find our room and where the key would be. The breakfasts were really good. We enjoyed them a lot. The room was very pretty and comfortable with a nice ceiling fan which was a help because it was quite warm the weekend we were in Glen Arbor. This was a very nice place to stay, I would stay there again. If you have issues with climbing stairs though, then this probably isn't the place for you, unless you are sure you can get a ground floor room.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which is up 2 flights of stairs in the back of the main building. We liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
35.5 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
172 reviews
23.4 km away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
33.7 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
32.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
231 reviews
0.3 km away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6680 Western Ave, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636-5103
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Arbor
Price Range: $135 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic 14 room Inn in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park. Walk to charming downtown Glen Arbor for boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants and more. 2 Blocks to beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Sylvan Hotel Glen Arbor
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast Glen Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing