We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Location is great and the room is cute. Breakfast wasn't that great. But our bathroom was disgusting with black mold on the shower curtain and vents with dust caked on them. Obviously things that were not taken care of for a while. Made us question the cleanliness of the rest of the room. When we showed the innkeeper, there was no apology, no sense of concern and no surprise on his part, like he's seen this before. Completely unacceptable for $200 a night. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2016

Quaint bed and breakfast in Glen Arbor. Close enough to walk into town. We had a room separate from the main house. It was very nice and clean. Plenty of space with a couch and table with chairs. The breakfast in the morning looked good, I only had a yogurt smoothie, which was great. It was a short stay but we were pleased with the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The Sylvan Inn is a popular inn near the center of all the sights in lovely Glen Arbor. We had the "penthouse" room (room 6, I think) which required climbing three fairly steep flights of stairs. Not a problem, but might be for some. The room was ample, nice bed and a little outside deck. Breakfast is included; nothing especially fancy but certainly sufficient. We had very little interaction with the staff, but they seemed hard-working. Also, there's a nice big porch with several tables and some other seating...great place to meet other guests or just relax. Walking distance to everything!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

First time staying at the Sylvan Inn, Glen Arbor, Mich. Clean & comfy. Fantastic breakfast every morning to send us on our way. Excellent location ....convenient walk to shops & restaurants in town. The porch of the Inn in front & around the side of the Sylvan Inn is spacious & furnished with comfy seating & tables for breakfast in the morning, relaxing, planning your day, etc. The awesome staff was wonderfully attentive & accommodating....***I would most definitely book lodging here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at Sylvan Inn. The bed and breakfast has a friendly staff, GORGEOUS inn, comfortable and clean rooms, and conveniently located. I would recommend this in to anyone staying at Glenn Arbor. Some amenities and extra comforts included hot tub, sauna, beach towels if needed, coffee, DELICIOUS hot tea selection, and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This is my first ever online review. I travel a lot for work and pleasure and am pretty picky when in comes to places i stay. If you are looking for somewhere that is clean, comfortable, has helpful staff with a relaxing vibe in this area I would highly recommend the Inn. I wanted to stay in a place that had that criteria but was not a motel or a chain hotel...I certainly was glad i decided to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkbUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The preferred and usual feeling at a B&B is one of friendly welcome from start to finish. Not so here. No friendly greeting, smile, welcome at all. Arrival in the dining room for breakfast met with silence...nada.
Small Room off parking ;lot was clean enough but hardly cozy and warm. Dreary furnishings...really need redecorated, especially considering the price charged. It was, at least, quiet. Breakfast was so so..

Stayed: July 2016
Thank GINEEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
23.4 km away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
35.5 km away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
171 reviews
28.1 km away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
35.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
0.3 km away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6680 Western Ave, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636-5103
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Arbor
Price Range: $107 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic 14 room Inn in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park. Walk to charming downtown Glen Arbor for boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants and more. 2 Blocks to beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Hotel Glen Arbor
The Sylvan Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast Glen Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing