We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityFlatsHotel(Grand Rapids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
13
16
23
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
16
23
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlegrand riverchess gamecomplimentary coffee in the lobbystaff was friendly and accommodatinggreat hotel for the priceshuttle driverstayed one nightgreat view of the riverhotel restaurantclose to downtownlate checkbed was very comfortablefront desk staffwould stay againhot tubjenna
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 77 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We LOVED our stay. After an exceptionally hot drive to Grand Rapids we walked in to a beautifully renovated hotel with ice water at the coffee bar on the way to the elevator, super cushy carpeting to our room and the air was set to 70 degrees - great first impression! Ahhhhhhhhhh.
We went into town for a little bit, came back and enjoyed the hot tub and the swimming pool and were able to hear the band playing on the patio, it was wonderful!
The patio area is right on the Grand River and it's beautiful ; they have all kinds of little playful games such as Jenga and an oversized chess game.
The band that played on Friday night was so much fun and overall it was one of the best times we've had in a long time; we will absolutely be back and would recommend to anyone.
Also you can't beat the price, if you look at the room rates for a place in downtown Grand Rapids versus the Grand River hotel which is a little bit off the beaten track, across the river you will be pleasantly surprised.
Our lunch today, before we headed out, was in the hotel restaurant and it was superb, beautiful setting . Kathleen our waitress was phenomenal and very helpful (she gave us some insider tips on how to navigate Art Prize).
We have loved our visit to Grand Rapids and to this hotel.
Well done!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Laura W,

Thank you so much for your very kind review!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The biggest downside of this hotel is the check in time. You can only check in at 4:00 pm. This is very very late, especially if you are arriving after a long drive. Normally all hotels check in by noon. I sincerely wish the hotel change their check in timing. The staff was helpful and the hotel is generally clean. There is restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: Check the check-in times for the hotels you book.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nairmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here during a good show. The windows had plastic over them due to it being painted so we had no river view as told we would. We went to the bat and waited to be waited on for 50 minutes and it never happened so we walked out. We ended up eating Out of a nearby gas station. The bar area was musty and old and dirty. Will not be back there again. Service was bad and very disorganised. Do not recommend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank nikkisuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The hotel was great, loved the decor of the hotel and the rooms. Room was nice, comfy bed, nice pillows, roomy enough for the two of us, it had a nice TV, charging stations and assorted cords for electronics , Staff was helpful and friendly. Thankful for the shuttle. We ate at the restaurant/lounge and had great service and awesome food.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

I arrived at 11:30pm for a one night stay ($130) and the room was a decent size but as soon as I stepped in the bathroom, I noticed hair in the sink (more than one strand). The next morning, I saw a toe nail clippings on the carpet. Had the $8 breakfast which was fine, although I originally thought it was included. Best thing about this hotel is the waterview from the dining room and the waitress was friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank deflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddej0ng, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for giving us your guest feedback. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests and certainly appreciate your patience as we transition with our new Housekeeping Team we are training anew for our property. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews