We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
15
23
27
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
23
27
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle grand river chess game staff was friendly and accommodating great hotel for the price shuttle driver an older hotel stayed one night great view of the river hotel restaurant close to downtown king bed front desk staff holiday inn concert lounge brewery
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 93 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017

We chose The Grand River Hotel as I wanted to be close to downtown GR, but did not want to pay the very expensive [over $250] rates for the downtown hotels! We were in town one night for a concert and were happy with the free shuttle provided by the hotel. The hotel itself is an older property which has been [mostly] renovated. I can cut the hotel some slack for things like lower ceilings, smaller bathrooms, etc. The main bummer was the plastic mattress enclosure which was very noisy. I had read about this in other reviews and figured it would not be too bad, but it wasn't pleasant to sleep on. We ate in the restaurant and it was fine. Had chicken quesadillas and a burger. Last note about room- no full length mirror.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Management Company at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you Kath C for your review of our newly renovated hotel. We are located just a couple miles from downtown and we offer a free shuttle to our guests going downtown.

The property has just been recently renovated with brand new everything! We are excited to welcome you back soon.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is on the grand river yes, the view is very industrial so don't think romance unless old factory is your thing. The finish of the remodel is attractive in a modern yet slightly tacky way (Purple accents). The contractor needs to be made to finish as almost everything is 90 percent finished. Beds are very firm and plastic bed bug guards are installed over them just like in all the finest hotels* (*see sarcasm) . The managers are friendly. Formica on the table in the room was coming unglued, light switch was very visibly crooked (maybe 12°off and polyurethaned in place), the bathroom door opens against the curved shower curtain pushing the door back against the person on the toilet leaving little room for sitting. The shower head is maybe 5ft8 off the tub floor. The room was clean and modern but stay in a cheaper place with good reviews by the airport as that area is better for food, shopping etc. Downtown is easy to get to either way. Skip the river rock except for maybe soup. Don't pay over $100 for this hotel any time of year any reason.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Management Company at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your response Greg D! We are only one of two hotels in the Grand Rapids market that is located directly on the Grand River! The sunrises are amazing!

The hotel is 100% renovated and the protective covers on the beds have been replaced with a more user friendly wrap. The linen and terry as well as pillows are all brand new, top of the line!

Shower heads have been replaced at this time and the restaurant was recently opened with a new chef and F&B team.

Lots of great things happening at our hotel!

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Checked into our room and were put next to a young family that not only did not attempt to keep their young children quiet but actually riled them up to make noise. I asked to be switched to another room and was accommodated. The room was a bit dated but was nice and the area around the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Five_Aces_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Management Company at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry that you were placed in a room where there was a noisy child next door. I am also happy to hear that the guest services department accommodated your request and moved you to a quieter room.

The hotel building will turn 50 years old next year however, it has been full renovated on the inside and we are happy to present the finished product to you!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

First time at this hotel-plenty of free parking, check in was fast and easy- Haley checked us in, she was so nice to us and very helpful. Our room was clean and nice decor. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. We stayed on the 3rd floor-very quite. The free shuttle is a great service-our shuttle driver took us to the Van Andel Arena for a concert and when it was over we called him to pick us up. I regret not getting his name, October 28th in the evening-very nice man. We had breakfast in the hotels restaurant-$9.99 a person for a buffet. Pleanty of food-hot and cold, taste great and great service. My husband and I will return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is very important to us and it is greatly appreciated! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to The Grand River Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

It hadn't been my first or even second choice and wasn't expecting much when we pulled up to the hotel. The neighborhood is rather industrial but very close to freeways, major roads and shopping. What e n we got inside the hotel lobby, we could see it had been updated and I was happy to see how m know deen, bright and fresh everything looked. The girl at the front desk (Denise) was nice and helpful a nd let us check in even though we were a bit early. The room was clean and bright and looked newly renovated. The only things I didn't like we're pretty minor...they need hooks or towel bars in the bathroom and the sink drains super slow. Other than that...the room was fine. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We had the hot buffet a nd it was hot and fresh and had both healthy and not healthy eating options. We didn't use the indoor pool or hot tub but we were happy they were options. There is also a lovely outdoor courtyard...perfect for reading or relaxing. Parking was free and there were plenty of spaces available as well as a free shuttle. Bottom line...this is not a luxury hotel but we would stay there again and bet there will be even more updates and pleasant surprises.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and were pleased. Ask for a room with a view of the river!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kathya399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Kathya399,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is very important to us and it is greatly appreciated! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to The Grand River Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews