We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if you can find it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you can find it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a wonderful hotel near the airport but off the beaten track. In fact, it is SO off the beaten track that it is nearly impossible to find. Guys, listen carefully to the instructions...it is worth it.

Quiet, well maintained, near plenty of good places to eat (even a Costco nearby if you need one). If I am back in the area, I will be definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lover_of_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbsama, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and other fellow travelers. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    129
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
157
85
31
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Check in for a two night stay and as stayed in other reviews, it is hard to find the first time. The location is very quiet and the staff that greeted us was very friendly. We had a room on the 3rd floor and we faced a beautiful water area right next to the hotel. That was a wonderful way to wake up in to morning to and also watch during the day.

The main down fall to the hotel was is was not as clean as it should be. Dust could be seen in the rooms on desk, table and fixtures. On the up side the breakfast staff was friendly and would help you with any of your needs.

I would go back again and this time I would like to spend a little time outside and enjoy the nature right outside your door.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The staff at the Hampton Inn & Suites wants to make sure every guest stay is as enjoyable as possible and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the service provided. Your feedback allows us to constantly improve on our levels of service and accommodations. I have reviewed your comments with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This Hampton was very clean and nice. The location is a little hard to find but once you found it, it was easy. It is close to everything you need. The front desk staff was great and we chatted each morning. They even have provide access to a 24/7 full service gym down the street!!! Thank you so much for that!! In this area we have stayed at many hotels and we find this one to be the best!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbsama, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

My stay was pleasant. Rooms were nice and clean. Bed, sheets and pillows all very comfortable. The fitness center was a little weak if you like getting in a workout. Don't let the location deter you. It's not that hard to find. My iPhone maps app got me there without a problem.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Monster_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbsama, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We would like to let you know that we will be updating our fitness center within the next year. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel was as expected from a facilities perspective - rooms were clean and relatively spacious. Pool was a decent size, but the "fitness center" was essentially non-existent.

My issue is with the service (or lack thereof) initially provided at the front desk. We were in town for a volleyball tournament and we arrived at the hotel at close to 1:00 pm. I wanted to check in and then head to the tournament so that I would not be checking in that evening with what was sure to be a large number of guests (there was also a cheerleading team staying at the hotel). The representative at the desk not only would not accomodate our request to check in, she refused to even look to see if a room was available and was not friendly at all. Certainly some of the rooms must have been cleaned by then and even if they weren't, all we really wanted was to be assigned one so that we'd be all set when we returned. As such, I had to leave the tournament in the middle to check-in and then drove back to the Volleyball facility, which was quite inconvenient (it was 30 minutes away at Grand Valley State University). I will say that the person at the desk at this time, roughly 7:00 pm (Kelly) was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbsama, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I am so sorry about the initial lack of courtesy and service you received when you tried to check in with us. Because you have made us aware of the situation, we will be able to address it with the staff member who was working that afternoon. We always strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guests and I'm sorry this was not the case for you. If you would like to discuss it further or provide us with any other feedback, please give us a call at 616-575-9144.

Thank you again for your comments,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

After reading what I thought were some glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, I write to say that I was disappointed with this stay of three nights on a business trip to G.R. I am a Hilton gold member and did not find the outstanding service and rooms of many other Hampton Inns. The service was less than inviting. The room and bath were average at best, no more. I found one night table when I would have expected two. The location is a challenge to find, but it is close to the airport and countless chain food restaurants close at hand. Not bad, but I have found better in G.R. My last two stays in G.R. were eight and ten years ago when I stayed at the Crown Plaza Airport and had very positive experinces.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironduke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had during your stay. My staff and I want to ensure every guest stay is as enjoyable as possible and I am sorry this was not your experience. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to constantly improve on our levels of service and accommodations. If we can be of further assistance to you please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel at 616.575.9144. We would be happy to talk further with you about the experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Unlike most airport hotels, this Hampton is quiet and in a great location. Less than 5 minutes from the airport, with shopping, convenience stores and restaurants even closer. The grounds are wooded and well kept - perfect for letting the kids run and explore before a long day on a plane. The interior was in great condition, and the beds are the best we've experienced at any hotel. Hhonors check in is extremely quick (in and out in less than 5 minutes), and check out is not necessary (great for waking up late for your flight!). I would recommend this, as well as most other Hampton Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: First floor, East end has it's own entrance and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semi775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
8.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
2.2 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Address: 5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-7704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take the stress out of flying here at the Hampton Inn & Suites?? hotel in Grand Rapids-Airport/28th Street, MI. Just one-half mile from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport, it takes a mere five minutes to get to the terminal from our hotel. Grand Rapids itself lies just minutes away and offers a huge array of amenities and activities to please any business traveler or family on vacation. Within just a few miles of our hotel in Grand Rapids you'll find golf, bowling, shopping, an ice arena, horseback riding and many of the city's best-known businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St Hotel Grand Rapids
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing